We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurant De La Porte Saint-Pierre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant De La Porte Saint-Pierre
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We chose to stay at this hotel, for the night before our ferry back to the UK, because it was in the quieter side of Saint-Malo. When we arrived, we where greeted by a very friendly receptionist who informed us of the breakfast times and other important information about the area, although we have been to Saint-Malo at least once every year for the last 19 years. We were given our key and told it was on the top floor. The stairs are quite narrow so taking bags up was a little tricky but nothing we couldn't handle. When we got to our room, we found it was the largest, stretching the entire width of the building. It had two bedrooms, each with a double bed (although I do believe they can be separated into singles), a main room with a desk and a sofa and a bathroom which, although small, was done very beautifully. There where three TV's, one in each main room which could pick up the 5 major British channels (BBC1, BBC2, ITV, C4 & 5). The rooms themselves overlooked a beautiful part of the wall and the sea beyond. The View was truly wonderful. The beds themselves where very comfortable and I slept very well. The next morning, we had breakfast which was in the room you enter when booking in. We where presented with a lovely continental breakfast with all you could want from a typically, wonderfully French Petit-Dej! Overall, the stay was lovely and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We would recommend the Family Suite on the top floor if available, although the other rooms are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    112
    30
    5
    6
See reviews for
61
155
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

When I booked on the internetI asked for a room with a sea view. When we arrived we were given a small, dark room at the back with a toilet and shower in a cupboard. My husband asked if there were any other rooms free and the receptionist said no. I then reminded her that I had specifically requested a room with a sea view and asked whether there was a larger room available. She advised me that I had only requested a room with a sea view not booked it and then without any apology declared that in fact there was a larger room available with a sea view but that it was more expensive. I asked to see it and she rather grudgingly let me have the keys. The room was still very basic but at least it had a reasonably sized shower room and we agreed to take it. The hotel was far from full and this lazy arrogance is hardly acceptable in today's market except perhaps in St Malo. We were also disappointed by our experience in the restaurant where the food ranged from mediocre to inedible at inflated prices. We left after two courses and walked into the town to take dessert and coffee at one of the cafes on the main square which was much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: The "double" rooms are far too small and the walls are paper thin but if you want and can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed by the main gate. Exploring the opposite corner of St Malo, we found this charming, well run restaurant, next to their hotel. The decor and attention to detail throughout is most pleasing. The patron placed a menu for me showing the terrace in 1936, I joked, are you there?. He indicated the grandmother of his wife. It has that sort of French provincial confidence which promotes an enjoyable evening. The chef puts many clever details into traditional dishes and the patron is keen for you to identify them. You might say, for the provincial gourmet, at a fair price and away from the tourist brasseries at the other corner of St Malo. Four of us enjoyed this expereience and will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank embleton07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed one night on our way back to the U.K. after a motorcycle tour of Spain and France.The hotel is situated within the walls of the old town close to all the attractions. On our arrival we were greeted the owner of the hotel who spoke excellent English. The motorcycle was parked in a secure garage nearby and we were given a room on the second floor overlooking the walls and the sea. We dined in the restaurant that evening, which was excellent.
The room was adequate and clean but the bathroom was small with a shower cubicle that was so small it was impossible to move without adjusting the temperature of the water, and I'm not of a large build.
The breakfast was basic, but adequate continental.
Overall a good value hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panman_1764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

booked a twin room for my daughter and i.had 3 nights. 2 nights on 1st floor no view, last night 2nd floor with sea view. great value for money, very clean and comfortable.
shower rooms very modern. flat screen tv english channels. staff speak english.
overall fantastic value for money and location.

Room Tip: higher up the building the better to get a view. thin steep staircase to most rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbren55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathalbyn, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Having arrived from Portsmouth on the overnight ferry and collected our hire car, we negotiated our way to the hotel. Charming little room with a wonderful view of the harbour with all that was going on , on a summers day. Boats, swimmers and promenaders. Just a lovely sight to behold.
The room was a little small., but it didn't matter. It was nicely appointed and bathroom was fresh and recently renovated. Very comfortable stay in a charming old walled city. Would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the harbour. A moving picture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel is good, clean and the staff helpful. Beautifully situated in the old town. The twin room we had was a little on the small side and I wouldn't have wanted to spend more than a few night there - lack of clothes hanging/storage space - but this was a minor problem. Unlike many of the reviewers we didn't have a room with a view - just a painted wall a few yards outside the window. Perhaps a room on an upper floor would have been better for this. Breakfast a fairly standard French hotel breakfast - but all the components nice and fresh.

They do advertise themselves as having a private garage (at an extra 11 euros a night). We managed to get a space by pre-booking, but be warned it is a very tight fit for a maximum of four cars and not easy to back in to. At the same time parking within the old walls of St Malo is very expensive and parking outside would mean quite a walk to the hotel. Lesson - don't come to St Malo in a car if you can avoid it.

The highlight of the hotel is its restaurant which really is excellent if expensive (a treat for one night rather than somewhere for every night of a longer stay). Superb fish and my fruits de mer starter bigger than the main course. As a bonus, if you can get a table in just the right spot and its a clear night you get a great view of the sunset over the sea through an archway.

Room Tip: Possibly on a higher floor for the view (we were on the first floor and didn't have one)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_garley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Pedro
Hotel San Pedro
#22 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
#21 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#59 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Univers
Hotel l'Univers
#45 of 81 in Saint-Malo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol Union
Hotel Bristol Union
#33 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant De La Porte Saint-Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant De La Porte Saint-Pierre

Property: Hotel Restaurant De La Porte Saint-Pierre
Address: 2 Place du Guet, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant De La Porte Saint-Pierre 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant De La Porte Saint-Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing