We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Food, Top Service”

Le bouche a oreille
Ranked #45 of 380 Restaurants in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top Food, Top Service”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

First visit to this restaurant, it won't be our last. Very good service and hospitality, top quality food at a very pleasing price - thoroughly recommend to others.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STUART G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    130
    24
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maffra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Saint Malo!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband's family is from Saint Malo and we come here regularly (from Melbourne). This has been our favourite restaurant for the past five years. Food is consistently very good, always something to please everyone (French husband, myself and four children now ages 9 to 19, but even when my youngest was 4, he loved it). Always friendly and relaxed. Prices pretty good - we usually get the 20 euro menu which gives you an entree, main and dessert and everyone comes home feeling happy and relaxed. I like the goat cheese salad entree, oysters also nice and smoked salmon is good too. They have beef for a more picky eater, also duck is nice and I like the sea food dish, can't remember exactly what it is called, but it is a mix of fish, mussels and other sea food in a creamy sauce. For dessert, I like the creme brulee, my children like the crepes and they have other choices as well. I had to write a review, because it so nice!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sixkangaroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Food at realistic prices”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

During a recent visit to St. Malo this restaurant was recommended to us.
Ultimately my wife and I dined here 4 nights, it was that good we just kept coming back.
The Chef and his wife own the restaurant and offer the most friendly personal service, in fact we witnessed the chef personally alter his menu to suit a fussy patron.
The food is delicious, uncomplicated and the prices are certainly realistic.
This place could well bring us back to St.Malo.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not touristy”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Set apart from the tourist area on the way to the station - unpretentious, welcoming, good value, the decent food was fresh in taste and appearance (my simple salad was lovely, with some apple and was not drowned in dressing) and the wine was also above average for the price. Le patron was visible and jolly. Service good. Lighting was on the bright side.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“By Word of Mouth; You will not be disappointed!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Staying at a nearby hotel we were recommended a restaurant. When we arrived it was closed but just across the road we found 'Le Bouche a Oreille'. The food was very good and reasonably priced. We were so pleased with the restaurant that we ate there every night. Each night it was full and customers were having to be turned away. Some nights we were the only tourists, so if the locals like the restaurant it must be praise indeed. The chef owner was friendly and would come to the table to make sure we were happy. The service was efficient and friendly which meant the meal was served at a pace so the food could be enjoyed; there was no sense of being rushed. There were well behaved families causing no problems and welcomed. Badly behaved children is not the fault of the children but the parents.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank normalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le bouche a oreille also viewed

Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to Le bouche a oreille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing