We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb fresh fish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Ancrage

L'Ancrage
Ranked #23 of 373 Restaurants in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$43
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
winchester
Level Contributor
222 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Superb fresh fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We enjoyed an excellent fruits de mer and fresh lobster with some excellent wine. We were looking for a top notch fish restaurant to enjoy a long lunch after a dismal trip to Mont St Michel - and this was just the place. We felt very welcome by the lady owner and by the lovely waiter who spoke perfect English. I have not stopped talking about our meal since we left and am scheming to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank accipitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    307
    74
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly Fabulous Fish restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We went to L'Ancrage on Thursday night with our dog. We hadn't booked and the fantastic host (a very friendly French lady) found us two tables to choose from. One inside and one outside. We sat in the heated terrace as our dog can be a bit mental at times. we had a fantastic meal of a selection of perfectly cooked seafood and fish and a great piece of duck cooked pink to perfection. Our little pup got a bit restless so we couldn't try the desserts but will go back next time. Merci!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dinitheblini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Look no further in St Malo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We visited this restaurant on 2/3/14. After being warmly welcomed and seated we were presented with the menus. I was particularly interested in the seafood so ordered as assiette de fruits de mer and the sea bass from the a la carte menu. I could have equally found something to suit my taste on one of the excellent set menus and my wife opted to go that route. The food was well prepared and a real treat. We have eaten in a number of restaurants in St Malo over the years and this was one of the very best meals we have had to date. It is sometimes a bit hit and miss if you do not do your homework but we took a chance on this place and are very pleased we did. We shall certainly return again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A real pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We always enjoy the warm welcome we receive from the Louvel family and their staff. The food, atmosphere and service are all first class. We have been visiting regularly for more than 20 years and it is now an integral part of a holiday for all our young grandchildren when we take them on their St Malo holidays!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good friendly restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We wanted some sea food, not crepes or galettes or pizzas; some seafood restaurants seemed a bit pricey, but L'Ancrage had some good set options to suit all tastes and budgets. We opted for the 40 Euro set menu and were not disappointed; the food was very good and well presented; the restaurant, and food, had an air of practised efficiency but also friendly service. It is not a large restaurant and has a nautical theme (lots of wood) but was, nevertheless, charming.
A good safe choice when there are a plethora of restaurants to choose from in St Malo.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LC617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Ancrage also viewed

Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to L'Ancrage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing