We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Middleton
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Exceptional value”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Modern hotel. Very stylish. Rooms very well laid out with an excellent bed and bath. Best Western did this right, and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. Half a block from the train station and the bus to Mount St. Michel. Very good breakfast, too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlsonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    405
    57
    12
    3
See reviews for
128
519
46
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Balmoral represents a new style of Best Western hotels with ultra modern architecture , minimalistic style of the japanese influence built with excelent materials near the new railway station . Plenty of space to park altghough not free on weekdays, Breakfast nothing special but sufficient.
Be sure the price you pay because their resrvation system you chose the BB rate but is not apearring in the confirmation.

Room Tip: Rooms looking towards the sqare are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIZAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Brelade, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I found this through Bookings.com. What a treat; 3 minute walk from the rail station, and just as close to 3 extra-muros restaurants (where locals eat). The front desk staff are exceptional, and my room was very quiet and comfortable. It is still a short walk to intra-muros, so you really do have the best of both worlds.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room when booking...they will do as asked
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMA25TheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbalmoral, Directeur général at MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Sincerely,
Nicolas Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathpeffer, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Very comfortable and relatively new hotel. Easily placed for the Old Town, Ferries , Railway station and sight seeing both near and far

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelfleming687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We chose this hotel on Trip Advisor without appreciating that it is about 20 minutes walk from the old Walled City. Our disappointment quickly faded on realisation that it is very smart, and that if you are happy with a longer walk, then you can get to the City via the beach promenade.
Anyone arriving by train might appreciate it's proximity. There is no noise.

Room Tip: This hotel has a range of "single" rooms with double beds which are more than adequate for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FliesM20P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

If you are staying overnight with an onward journey the next day then this place is new, clean and friendly. It is across the road from the train station. St Malo Town is about 10 to 15 minutes walk away, enjoyed an evening meal within the old town walls and had a pleasant walk back.
Staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willitsgoodtotalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbalmoral, Directeur général at MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Sincerely,
Nicolas Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I was here by 21 days and I had an excellent time, front desk were very friendly and very helpful, besides some speak spanish and the rest give it a try. The place is very quiet and a few steps by the train station wich is very convenient, the building is kind of new so there's no complaints about it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agmmty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbalmoral, Directeur général at MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Sincerely,
Nicolas Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#7 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,696 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
719 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
1.0 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral

Property: MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
Address: 24 rue Theodore Monod, 35400, Saint-Malo, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Balmoral)
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hearty Welcome Whether you are organising a professional event or you simply want to enjoy a family holiday in Brittany, the team at Mercure Hôtel Balmoral St Malo is at your service.Built in 2010, Best Western Balmoral offers you the comfort of a three star hotel (air conditioned rooms, private parking etc.) and all the modern amenities you require (free Wi-Fi, free national telephone, television with pay per view facility etc.). Along with its ideal location, our hotel is the perfect landing point for a new way of discovering Brittany! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western FR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing