We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

for what we wanted.
We booked here on a whim but were really pleased that we did. After spending 3 weeks travelling in France we decided to have an overnight stay in St Malo before the 10.30 am ferry back to Portsmouth. We requested parking as we had heard some stories about UK vehicles being a soft target at ferry terminals particularly when you have done your "shopping". OK it was 10E but it was in a secure underground carpark...bargain for peace of mind!!
We found the hotel easily enough and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Yes they do speak English but they were prepared for me to have a go in French!! We had a couple of bikes that had to come off the car. I was happy with them in the garage but Sylvie opened up a storage spot for us.
The hotel is new and as a result benefits from a fresh appearance. The place was spotless, the room was excellent and whilst at the front it was quiet. (there are building works going on but nothing was happening while we were there.
It was a 10-15 minue walk into historic St Malo. It is an easy walk, we did it twice in the same day, and it gives you great access to the shops, bars and restaurants and culture of the city.
Sadly we did have one downside which took the gloss of our stay. The hotel were short staffed in the morning and along with a ravenous coach party the breakfast area looked like it had experienced a swarm of locusts!! There was very little of anything left at 8am and the staff struggled to get the room back into fashion for guests coming down afterwards. Shame really as it would have been straight 5s on my ratings.
We will come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LickeyEndBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    406
    57
    12
    3
See reviews for
128
520
46
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of July 2012, as a base before catching the Portsmouth ferry the next morning. The area is being redeveloped, so my 3-year old satnav disk failed to find the street it's on, but we got there after a five minute drive around. Because of the redevelopment, the road outside the hotel has no pavement one side and there is a large undeveloped area opposite, so the surroundings are not particularly attractive, But the hotel building is very new and smart enough in itself. There is a reasonable amount of parking in the new road outside the front entrance of the hotel. You have to pay until 7.00pm, but it is only €1 for the maximum time (a rather strange 2 hours 20 mins). Parking is free in the evenings and Sundays. As we were there Saturday/Sunday, there were probably more spaces available than during the week. As others have said, it is a 20 minute walk to the Old Town along a very straight road with a pleasant tree-lined footpath on one side. Our bedroom on the fifth floor was spotless, well-furnished and pleasantly large. The bed was large and very comfortable. If you want tea/coffee faciities, you can get a tray with kettle from reception. Staff speak good English, but of course always appreciate visitors trying out their French. Can't comment on the food as we didn't book breakfast. The price for the room was quite high, but we had a "free night" with the company we book with, so only had to pay the tax! To find the ferry from the hotel look for the (rather small) signs with a visual of a car ferry. Don't expect the large signs you might see in Portsmouth or Dover. It's about 5 minutes to the ferry terminal by car.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbalmoral, Directeur général at MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Customer,
Thank you for hour comment
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Sincerely
Nicolas Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Nice to end our last night in France in an American style (read: spacious and with free water and tissue) suite. The room is large, the view is great, the towels are in abundance, ..., and most importantly, both the bed and the sofa-bed are firm. Only downside is that it is a 20 minute walk to the old town but right across from the train station.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gl0baltr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbalmoral, Directeur général at MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Customer,
Thank you for hour comment
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Sincerely
Nicolas Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We spent the last two nights of our Brittany holiday here, it being very convenient for the ferry terminal and our return to Portsmouth, The hotel is relatively new and very clean especially the bedroom and bathroom which were spotless. Breakfast included in the room rate was of a good quality and an added bonus during our stay was the underground garage for our car. Desk staff were very pleasant and professional which does credit for Best Western. Location of the hotel is OK with the SNCF/TGV station almost on the doorstep and it is only a 15 minute walk into the old town of St Malo. There are various restaurants and eateries near the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fife2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed here for one night to get some rest before we drove to madrid. Nice hotel. A bit of a walk from the center of st malo but not to bad. Rooms were very comfortable and modern just what you would expect from best western. Would probably stay again. And you would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markymillions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Our room was large and fresh with sleek/minimalist furniture. The bathroom was bright and clean. Being a 3-star hotel toiletries and robes were not automatically provided, but apparently any request made at reception for such things were answered promptly. Although air-conditioned our room had a large door leading onto a narrow balcony for fresh air, and the double glazing meant it was quiet at night.

Breakfast was busy due to the number of tour groups all competing in the morning rush hour, and the range of food was limited but fresh and refilled when asked. The lounge area was small so filled up fast. Reception staff were all very pleasant and helpful during our visit.

This hotel may not be in the old walled townsite, but it is only an easy 20 minute walk (down two main streets) away. Being summer and still light at 9.00pm during our stay, we felt comfortable walking back from dining in the old town on our second night in St Malo – the first night we dined at a restaurant only a block away where there was also a good selection of eateries to choose from. The advantage of this hotel is its proximity to the train station and underground carparking, plus there is a vacant site currently used as a car park across the road (there is planned development in the near future for this site so ask about possible building interruptions before making your booking).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We booked this hotel primarily as it offered safe secure underground parking which we wanted as we were travelling on motorbikes.

Our room was on the third floor and was large and airy with a really nice bathroom and all the usual amenities.

We found the reception staff to be brilliant and very helpful and they really created a fantastic first impression.

The only negative was that breakfast is a self-service buffet which in itself is fine but on the day we were staying the breakfast room as jam-packed with coach passengers and it was difficult to get breakfast and a seat in the croweded room - with hindsight we would've paid extra to have had the breakfast delivered to our room to avoid the crush.

Although the hotel isn't in the old part of town, it's an easy walk to all that the old town has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsthomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,590 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#7 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,698 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
719 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
1.0 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral

Property: MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
Address: 24 rue Theodore Monod, 35400, Saint-Malo, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Balmoral)
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hearty Welcome Whether you are organising a professional event or you simply want to enjoy a family holiday in Brittany, the team at Mercure Hôtel Balmoral St Malo is at your service.Built in 2010, Best Western Balmoral offers you the comfort of a three star hotel (air conditioned rooms, private parking etc.) and all the modern amenities you require (free Wi-Fi, free national telephone, television with pay per view facility etc.). Along with its ideal location, our hotel is the perfect landing point for a new way of discovering Brittany! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western FR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing