We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel next door to the train station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My family was forced to find a hotel quickly when our Saturday ferry from Jersey was cancelled and we had to leave on Friday instead.

A quick search online showed us that not much was available in town, and particularly not for a family of five. The ladies working the Front Desk at the Best Western told me what was possible, and didn't promise that we would be able to have two rooms together. However, when we arrived, they had indeed worked that out so that we could have two rooms next door to each other.

The hotel was very basic by international standards, but clean and with the amenities I've come to expect, like a kettle and a hair dryer. The modern furnishings were new, though everything seemed pretty pre-fab.

Not much character, but a very respectable and comfortable place.

Plus, you get a discount if you call and book with your credit card.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
There are newer reviews for MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were in in July and the hotel is very nice. The comfort level is very good. the staff is helpful and advise on the best restaurants and even make the reservations. Perfect 3 star hotel. The only potential downside being the location. It is a good 15 minutes walk along the docks to the historic centre. Unfortunately, price wise one can find something similar within the walls of the historic centre. This was our only lament

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Good accessibility to the train station, very important if that is your mode of transport. The breakfast was particularly good value, sets you up for the day!! The drawback with the location is that it is a good 20 minute walk to the old town (the most desired touristic part of St Malo) and there are lots of other hotels there, likely much more expensive. However, I felt quite safe walking along the boulevard along th docks, even after dinner. Complementary water in the room was appreciated, however, bathroom amenities are on demand from the front desk, as they are trying to control wastage. So be advised if you expect all the goodies in your bathroom-not there. My TV remote was not working and I had to make 2 trips to the front desk (coat over night apparel). Eventually a new one was provided. I am not sure how often they check these things or if other guests fail to report them, but this was annoying. I will say this was a very quiet location where I felt I could safely leave the windows open for fresh air. A hotel computer is available in the lobby for guests, free of charge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeveuxbienmanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Initially we were concerned given some negative reviews but let me assure this is a GOOD hotel.
Excellent staff,great position and a 20 minute casual walk /5.5 E cab ride to inside the walls of this magnificent city
Prices inside the walls are double what this hotel charges- what you spend on cabs makes up for it then as we did catch an 7.50 am train left the hotel at 10minutes before

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ozgrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Helpful reception staff, good breakfast(extra cost), clean modern room. We were able to walk to the Old Town, about a 20 minute walk. We found parking on the street for free and used that for the two days we were there. A good restaurant nearby was recommended to us the first night when we arrived about 8:30. the place was hopping. We used the computer each day since we hadn't brought a lap top. A good experience all the way around.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel was modern and nice but in my opinion it was not an easy or short walk to get to the Old Town. We took a cab from/to Old Town which was about 8Euro. The breakfast was very nice and included a nice selection of pastries/breads. The hotel had a parking garage under the hotel which was convenient. The room was a nice size and it was quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night before catching ferry back to UK. Couldn't fault anything about the stay. Reception staff friendly and helpful, hotel smart and clean. It's a shame not all Best Western hotels are up to this standard!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1484kathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,759 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine
Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine
#19 of 81 in Saint-Malo
723 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
0.6 mi away
Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral

Address: 24 rue Theodore Monod, 35400, Saint-Malo, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Balmoral)
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range: £58 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hearty Welcome Whether you are organising a professional event or you simply want to enjoy a family holiday in Brittany, the team at Mercure Hôtel Balmoral St Malo is at your service.Built in 2010, Best Western Balmoral offers you the comfort of a three star hotel (air conditioned rooms, private parking etc.) and all the modern amenities you require (free Wi-Fi, free national telephone, television with pay per view facility etc.). Along with its ideal location, our hotel is the perfect landing point for a new way of discovering Brittany! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing