We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I feel a bit mean giving 3 stars but a few tweaks would improve it. As previous reviewers have said location is a bit of an issue with 15-20 mins walking time into town along a not particularly attractive road.
The staff are very friendly and the hotel is clean and modern. The rooms are simple and of good size but could do with a room safe as there are no drawers or cupboards to hide things from view. I think they should consider free or reduced charge parking as although on street is viable I prefer a safer environment with a car laden for a trip to the UK.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank forgerons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
There are newer reviews for MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had a very clean and modern room but a tad small. Bathroom was great and even had a towel warmer. Linens were high quality. Good TV channel choices. Free WIFI was a huge plus.
Can pay extra for a breakfast buffet.
Extremely professional staff was very helpful with local information. Did not use their pay parking but parked free in empty lot nearby(could see car from our room).
Location is across from train station. A manageable walk into town-about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phyllis667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Chose it for the location (across the street from the Gare St-Malo) and price. The staff were very friendly and professional from check-in to check out.Took time to recommend different places and restaurants to try. Bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and bright. Had some issues with the wireless access to the internet. Ended up leaving an item in the room (after triple checking), and the staff were pro-active in emailing us to let us know that we left the item even before we realized we had! Very rare indeed! A great experience and a great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wokerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour. Nice hotel clean rooms. The breakfast buffet was very nice, good selection of breads and cheeses. They had an expresso machine at breakfast which was great as most of the coffee on our tour was very weak.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

It was the day they forecast much trouble crossing the Channel and we were booked in so we would have an early start back to Portsmouth. Check in was very efficient with a nice welcome from the receptionist. We were given very clear directions for the room and clearly told about breakfast should we want to take it. Our room was very good, clean and very comfortable. All services were available. The bathroom/shower was lovely and very well kept. Small down side were the bed lights which did not do justice to the room We moved a light to beside the bed in order that we could see. We were proper people we put it back in the morning! All in all a good stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flint77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My family was forced to find a hotel quickly when our Saturday ferry from Jersey was cancelled and we had to leave on Friday instead.

A quick search online showed us that not much was available in town, and particularly not for a family of five. The ladies working the Front Desk at the Best Western told me what was possible, and didn't promise that we would be able to have two rooms together. However, when we arrived, they had indeed worked that out so that we could have two rooms next door to each other.

The hotel was very basic by international standards, but clean and with the amenities I've come to expect, like a kettle and a hair dryer. The modern furnishings were new, though everything seemed pretty pre-fab.

Not much character, but a very respectable and comfortable place.

Plus, you get a discount if you call and book with your credit card.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were in in July and the hotel is very nice. The comfort level is very good. the staff is helpful and advise on the best restaurants and even make the reservations. Perfect 3 star hotel. The only potential downside being the location. It is a good 15 minutes walk along the docks to the historic centre. Unfortunately, price wise one can find something similar within the walls of the historic centre. This was our only lament

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,721 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine
Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine
#17 of 81 in Saint-Malo
723 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
0.6 mi away
Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral

Address: 24 rue Theodore Monod, 35400, Saint-Malo, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Balmoral)
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range: £58 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hearty Welcome Whether you are organising a professional event or you simply want to enjoy a family holiday in Brittany, the team at Mercure Hôtel Balmoral St Malo is at your service.Built in 2010, Best Western Balmoral offers you the comfort of a three star hotel (air conditioned rooms, private parking etc.) and all the modern amenities you require (free Wi-Fi, free national telephone, television with pay per view facility etc.). Along with its ideal location, our hotel is the perfect landing point for a new way of discovering Brittany! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing