We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (959)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveller rating
424
450
66
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
450
66
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station modern hotel minute walk old town reasonable selection privilege room superior room reception staff tea coffee facilities comfortable bed rental car secure parking intra muros walk in shower following morning crepes good size
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 959 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2016

After choosing on line what I thought was a hotel near the seafront in St. Malo, we discovered we could not have been further from the sea, by the railway station. Despite our disappointment about location, we were happy with the hotel. The staff were welcoming, the room was a good size with a bathroom and separate loo. We didn't have breakfast as we wanted to have time in the old town. When we left we left articles in the room. We called back on our return home and the items were awaiting collection. There is private parking (chargeable) at the hotel, but overnight till 09.00 on the street is free.

Room Tip: The hotel is a quiet street and has double glazing. Our room overlooked the street and there was no problem with noise.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas R, Directeur général at MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Dear Customer,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Saint Malo Balmoral.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
N.Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Nice hotel a short distance from the ferry port but we decided to have a couple of days and have a look at St Malo instead of rushing through. We made the mistake of heading for the underground parking (paying) to be told we had to book in first before entering the garage but they opened the doors and we assumed we should drive in. Unfortunately once in we were basically trapped as we needed key card to exit to reception. Luckily another resident let us through. Booking in process was quick and smooth. Room was very nice looking out over the street. Not keen on the plastic cups on courtesy tray but a minor point. Breakfast which was included on our tariff was excellent with a good buffet selection. All in all a nice hotel but lacking a restaurant which isn't really a problem in a place like St Malo. My wife is disabled though and it was a bit of a struggle to reach the nearest restaurant. Staying there again in October so it must be ok though!

Room Tip: We had superior room which was a good size.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LincolnHappytourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Balmoral on our way to the ferry. I would describe the hotel as corporate. It was comfortable but bland. Very brown & white. The bed was comfortable & the bathroom was all we needed. Nice towels & bed linen but one of the cups was dirty & coffee & tea supplies were very limited. All in all not what I was expecting for 4 star & €145
Parking is extra too

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank caroldeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Three minutes walk from the railway station. Very modern facilities. Nice and clean. Nice breakfast. Ten minutes walk to the old town. Friendly people in the reception. An in-hotel bar in the reception area.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AnneBFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

A great location across the road from the train station and a short distance from the ferry port. A modern hotel and very comfortable rooms with WI-FI. We had an excellent breakfast with plenty of choice in the morning but sadly there is no restaurant for an evening meal. However, the receptionist did recommend restaurants very close by. We will be happy to stay again!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maggos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews