We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel just in a 5 minutes from the old sity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Saint Malo Plage
Ranked #24 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Israel
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel just in a 5 minutes from the old sity”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Ibis Saint Malo Plage is a very nice hotel just in a few minutes from the Saint Vincent gate. As all of Ibis hotels I stayed in, the Saint Malo Ibis is very comfortable for very resonable price. The breakfast is good assorted and very tasty. There is no parking at the hotel, but all the area around is free of charge, so we parked at the rear street.
Hope to visit Saint Malo again and I'll definitely stay in Ibis!

Room Tip: Try to ask for the sea-sided rooms. We got the rear one but still - it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelK_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    400
    145
    29
    6
See reviews for
108
476
43
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This hotel is right on the beach (as the name suggests).
Right from the moment you walk through the door it is a pleasant experience, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English.
The decor is very typical of Ibis Hotels everywhere and is quite minimalist but the place is very clean and tidy and a large selection of local information is available in reception.
We were allocated a twin room (which was great as that is what we wanted) without having to ask for it, the room itself was basic but comfortable with a TV with international channels and en-suite shower room, WIFI is provided free at the hotel which is a nice bonus.
Breakfast is typical of Ibis hotels in France and a continental all-you-can-eat is available. The foods were fresh and plentiful and the dining room was bright and cheerful with plenty of seating, the waiting staff kept the room clean and tables cleared.
One unexpected bonus was that the hotel allowed us to leave our backpacks there after we had checked out as we were not catching the train out of St Malo until the afternoon, this was a godsend as one of us doesn't travel light!!!!

Room Tip: We didn't but might be worth asking at check-in for a sea view room, the beach is very nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_bug2017_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midalnds uk
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights before getting the ferry back to the UK.

Got 20% for two nights so it was only 76euro p/night. We didn't bother with breakfast as you can get it in the old town for less and in a nice location. Parking was useful but they have very few spaces - we didn't book it, but I would recommend doing so.

Rooms are basic, but large enough, comfy beds and bath and shower available. Free wifi was a bonus and was pretty quick, so didn't need to pay to upgrade to their faster offering.

Noise travelled a bit down the corridors - particularly the lift doors, and the room doors seemed to have been set to close very loudly! But that was fine after midnight and was only the Friday night - Saturday was quieter.

Good location - about 10mins stroll into the old town. Sea view was pleasant.

But otherwise, it was comfy, convenient and cheap so I think 4 stars is about right.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyBillyClint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The hotel is ideally situated opposite the beach, which is great, and about 5 minutes walk to the old town. The room was clean, smelling fresh, the staff was lovely and helpful. I will certainly come back! Saint Malo itself is gorgeous and I highly recommend to visit La Coquille d'Oeuf restaurant, which is amazing!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank car0le_jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abertillery
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I have visited this hotel many times over the years and have always had a great time, whether staying for business or leisure. The location is perfect for local sight-seeing and also very convenient as a base for touring the region independently, with ferries, railways, and buses close to hand. The view of the beach out front is stunning, though personally I prefer the lovely little garden at the rear with its birds and wild flowers. The staff are very helpful and accommodating and, on my latest visit, sorted out a minor problem with the television very quickly and efficiently. All in all, a great place to stay and one to which I will doubtless return time and again as I have done in the past.

Room Tip: The seaview out front is great but costs extra. The garden side is quieter and, I think, prettier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

picked this ibis, looking for an Accor hotel in the Brittany/lower normandy area for a long weekend and this hotel met all my expectations (my expectations being close to the center, sea view, ibis standards, small but clean rooms), so there was no bad surprise, it was all the above.
Very clean room and very comfortable bed. bathroom also good size even with a tub.
Loved the seaview room - the view is worth every penny.
Staff member are also very kind.

However, was expecting to use the hotel parking but it was full... I have the impression that it is easily full so I would advice not to count on it. Nevertheless, we had no problem finding on-street parking, especially during late afternoon the people started to quit St Malo so thats is a good time to park (if you have used the car during the day to go somewhere else).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freakytsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Functional but clean and good location. Great location 20 mins from ferry and 10mins from old town and 15 mins from station. Would recommend though IBIS is fairly basic inside but if you are happy with that then it is fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1QualityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
0.2 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#22 of 81 in Saint-Malo
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#7 of 81 in Saint-Malo
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,589 reviews
0.5 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#10 of 81 in Saint-Malo
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Saint Malo Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Saint Malo Plage

Property: Ibis Saint Malo Plage
Address: 58 chaussee du Sillon, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Saint-Malo
#8 Business Hotel in Saint-Malo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
#28 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Saint Malo Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Saint Malo is in the heart of Saint Malo, overlooking the beach, 10 min walk from the Corsair City and the ferry terminal, and 20 min walk from the train station TGV. Between the convention centre and the thalassotherapy centre, the hotel offers 60rooms, including two for guests with limited mobility, TV with TNT and WiFi free. Bar, snack service and pay parking for 10 vehicles (subject to availability). Front of the beach. 10 Km from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Saint Malo Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Saint Malo
Ibis Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing