We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel first beach line”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The hotel is still very nice, has its best times probably before. The staff at reception could be nicer, they never smile. The restnof the personal is very friendly, at the breakfast we received excellent service. At the restaurant the service varied very much depending on the service personal and was usually at lunch time better than at dinner. The bread is out ofmthismworld and you have to taste the bread served with the cheese. It is so good, the food in general is good. The lamb is incredible tender, it is a must to try it. The fishes were good as well and the beef is not recommended. The desserts are fine, the cheese choice good and if you want to have just fruist you can choose from a big tray as well. The personal is flexible with your choices. The rooms in the old part are exactly what you can read also in other reviews they are old. The spa is very professional and being in the same hotel for stayi g and spa makes a lot of sense.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and choose the new part
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaby123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 1,947 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel is situated overlooking a beautiful stretch of beach just outside the Walled City. Rooms are well appointed with a nice feature of an outside shutter which allows for a darkened room to aid in sleeping. The spa itself is spread over a huge area, plenty to choose from but a little difficult to find your way around. Very few staff around. The massage was very good with lovely heated towels. The water jet area is really extensive with lots of correctly placed jets for back and neck massages. The down side is that it closes in the middle of the day. Ate dinner entre muros but the restaurant at the hotel looks lovely with fabulous views of the sea.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank keenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed just the one night before early morning ferry at a discounted rate of 90 euro. Was surprised by how modern the bathroom was (looked new) and had a great outlook over the square. Great location but bit of a trial getting somewhere close to park via the one way system; the closest gate was closed due to street market. Left before breakfast but bill had breakfast added automatically so you need to double check before paying.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were there with our 1 and 2 year olds. Plenty of space in the rooms and the kids loved the super-size spa baths. The swimming pools were perfect for them as was the outdoor garden where they ran around with other children there. More broadly, Ile de Re is a super place with its villages, beaches, wonderful cyclepaths and generally tranquil atmosphere

We must recommend that everyone take the dinner package - their food was absolutely amazing. Breakfast was a bit dull but the nightly 4 course meals were superb as was the local wines. We would definitely go again

Room Tip: Rooms were big with fantastic spa baths and showers. Choose the suites if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inkeyinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The location of this hotel cannot be faulted. We stayed in a suite in the newer wing which has rooms that feature contemporary furnishings and decor. Because we booked very last minute our corner suite had no balcony which is disappointing. I also would like to see an iPod dock for listening to music. We were fortunate to have two bathrooms and a separate toilet room which for three meant our daughter could have her own bath which for a teenager is important. The bathroom has a few problems, no conditioner among the toiletries and a wall mounted hair dryer which is difficult with long hair.

The staff in this hotel are either good or bad, no in between! The porter is amazing! Helpful, experienced and friendly! The staff at reception border on rude or just extremely unmotivated. When I went to check in, a younger French girl was extremely put out to have to speak English with me. Then my husband came and spoke to her in French which thawed her somewhat but not much.

We asked if they could make a dinner reservation for us at a place in St. Malo, popular where in Tripadvisor, told a time of 9:15, then called 30 minutes before to be told that the restaurant was not available. Hmmm, why say a time at all then? We ended up at the hotels restaurant, (another story).

On check out, we had an extremely nice young man to help us. Friendly, professional, motivated and happy to switch back and forth from French with my husband to English to me with no problem. While my husband sorted the bill, I noticed that they had a service for posting letters or cards. Our daughter had two postcards to send to friends in the US. I asked the other reception person (same unfriendly young woman as on check in). If I could purchase stamps for two postcards to US. Oh no we don't have stamps for the US, she said and started to walk away.....
What?? So just tell me how much it is for France and let us do a little simple math and add it up for international post! Not rocket science! I was just explaining this concept to her when the helpful young man working with my husband saw the issue and suggested the very same thing to her. Basically, she had NO interested in helping me or solving the very minor problem. There was much Gallic rolling of eyes and shrugging amusing if it wasn't so ridiculous. The stay was once again salvaged by the two male employees at the front,as we had a fantastic farewell and instructions from the porter for our next destination. Maybe they should sack the female employees.......which as a woman myself takes quite a lot to say......

Room Tip: I would not stay here without a sea view, which in my opinion is why you go here! Also would ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marlena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This beautiful hotel is right on the English Channel with beaches and the ocean walk just in front. The room was a bit small but comfortable. The restaurant was good but on the pricey side. We did not use the spa facilities but noted that the fees were on the high side. This hotel definitely caters to the well healed. The breakfast was excellent. It's about a 1.3 mile walk along the ocean to the old town of St. Malo where there are many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I stayed at Les Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo this last November, all I can say is that it was lovely! amazing property, very good staff and the best location in town just in front of the beach with amazing views from the Bar, Restaurant and rooms and very elegant. If anyone wants to spend a couple of days in St-Malo this is the perfect place to be.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,842 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#12 of 82 in Saint-Malo
889 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#5 of 82 in Saint-Malo
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel de Courtoisville
Grand Hotel de Courtoisville
#13 of 82 in Saint-Malo
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo

Address: 100 boulevard Hebert | Grande Plage du Sillon, 35417, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Malo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
#12 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#13 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
#13 Business Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range: £146 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located front of the Saint-Malo's Bay, The Grand Hôtel des Thermes is a 5 star hotel with 174 bedrooms, from the standard to the Luxury Suite. It also has 2 restaurants (dietetic and gastronomic) and thalassotherapy & spa services. As guest, you have free access to the indoor swimming pool, as well as sauna, hammam and cardio training area. The hotel's majestic architecture overlooks the sea and the fine sandy beach of Saint-Malo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotels Saint Malo
Warwick Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing