We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

very nice, elegant decoration and confort. The staff is very professional, ready to help and has given us very appropriate advices and suggestions for restaurants and tours. Don't hesitate to reserve a room with an ocean view. Breakfast in front of the ocean is just relaxing and perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEbastien b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 1,946 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for one night before catching the ferry the following morning. The hotel was built on a sea front site acquired from EDF a few years ago by a local owner and everything is to a high standard. We had a sea view room on the fourth floor with a balcony and great views of the sea front. The room had everything we could have wished for, except a bath, a common situation in France!
The spa on the top floor was first class and provided a relaxing environment before we went out for the evening. The city within the ramparts is only a few minutes walk away. We avoided breakfast in the hotel which at 19 euros seemed expensive for what we wanted. A small cafe two minutes away provided a satisfactory solution!
Secure car parking in the basement car park (14 euros for the night) is a big plus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was a great stay in lovely St. Malo. Hotel is facing the beach about 10-15 min walk to walled town. We got a room on the second floor with a partial side view of the sea from the balkony. The view was just amazing, next time I will definitely try to book a room with a full sea view. The room was one of the biggest hotel rooms I have stayed in and was perfectly clean with a great shower and a huge double bed that was extremely comfortable. No noise with balcony door closed even though there was quite a bit of traffic on the street.

The staff at the hotel was great and very helpful with directions of buses, city maps etc.

Indoor pool area was also great and very clean, and was great to have a swim in the morning if one gets tired of the beach.

Breakfast was 19 euros and not included in rate. Good variety and stunning views of the beach.

Didnt try restaurant at dinner as the restaurants in St Malo were great.

I cant recommend this hotel enough. We had a perfect stay and really loved St. Malo. We will not stay anywhere else next time we return to St. Malo.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Raz868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A very nice hotel focusing on spa and personal treatments. Just in front of the sea and close to old town St. Malo. Breakfast okay, but not worth EUR 19 per person. When you sit in the restaurant you feel like being aboard a cruise liner as all you can see is water - top class. Nice area with pool and Hamman.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ThFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Friendly and polite staff (something of a rarity in St. Malo).

The spa pool with its hydro-massage was very welcome after a long drive. Not a pool for kids to play in; a facility for adults to unwind. After trying out the various jets and bubbles in the pool and a session in the steam room, all of the tension from a 10 hour drive completely disappeared.

The room was large & very comfortable with a large balcony with sea views (most of the other rooms appeared to have much smaller balconies). Not quite sure what type of room it was, possibly "superior".

A relaxing and comfortable stay.

Avoid the pizza "restaurant" on the sea front next to the hotel - terrible service (even for St. Malo).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

After a long drive from Calais we were hoping the hotel would be as relaxing and luxurious as advertised. It didn't disappoint. We had a top floor room with a sea view and balcony which was well worth the extra money. Our room was the furthest from the sea but still had stunning views. The spa and swimming pool was easy to access and blissfully quiet when we used it. The staff were friendly and attentive, allowing us free parking (right outside the hotel) and giving some great recommendations for places to eat etc.

If I am ever in Saint Malo again, this will be where I stay! Perfect!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank CultureVandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I read somewhere that it was recently refurbished, and it's fair to say this is true and it was refurbished to a very high standard and merits its 4* (or higher) rating. All the staff were very friendly although with a mixed level of English. If you know a bit of French, you'll get by. It's what you'd expect from a luxury hotel. Room was average size but comfortable, although very small balcony - could only fit 1 person on at a time, which was a shame as the partial sea view would have been great for sitting out and enjoying. We were travelling with a young baby and was pleased to see they'd put in not only a crib, but also a changing mat and a bottle warmer, which was a nice touch.

However, was very disappointed to find (on check out) that breakfast was not included. It was a fairly basic French continental style breakfast, but very limited in choice and on some occasions there wasn't enough. If you got there too late then they were already clearing away. It would have been fine if it was included, and I had assumed it was, when you're paying these sorts of rates for a luxury hotel. There was nothing in my reservation to indicate it wasn't included - but equally nothing to indicate it was not included, so obviously my mistake for making the assumption. The receptionist merely said "breakfast is served until 10am" - but not that it was extra. It's incredibly expensive for what it is and on check out to be presented with a huge bill equivalent to about a night's stay was not welcoming and they had no interest in doing anything about it. Could easily have had a better breakfast from the local boulangerie for a fraction of the price.

Also, the wifi is poor. It's advertised as free throughout the hotel, but despite there being a wifi transmitter outside our room, you could only actually pick it up if you sat by the door to the room.

Hotel location is questionable - it's kind of in the middle of the long road between Saint Malo proper and the built up area towards Cancale and there's not much going on, so you need to walk to find things. It's on an intersection of a busy street. Noise was not a problem.. except for the fact it's clearly near a fire station as fire engines were going past sirens blazing at all hours.

The spa is OK but small. Not a real swimming pool.

Overall, disappointed as poor value for money and would not stay again.

Room Tip: Town facing view is poor. Get side facing or front-facing. Balcony may only fit 1 person if on 3rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weirdbeardmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,862 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
0.3 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel de Courtoisville
Grand Hotel de Courtoisville
#15 of 82 in Saint-Malo
777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#28 of 82 in Saint-Malo
118 reviews
0.5 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#10 of 82 in Saint-Malo
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Nouveau Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Nouveau Monde

Address: 64, Chaussee du Sillon, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range: £119 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Nouveau Monde 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located nearby the "Old town" of Saint-Malo and on the seafront of the Sillon Beach, the 4* Hotel Le Nouveau Monde offers 83 rooms from the Standard room to the Luxury Suite, sea view or south side. The rooms are decorated with trendy and nobles materials, a contemporary design and a warm and sweet atmosphere. Le Nouveau Monde also offers a restaurant with an exceptional view over the bay and a spa with a range of well-being cares. The pool has underwater jets and a swimming lane. In addition, the hotel offers meeting rooms to organize seminares, conferences.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Nouveau Monde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing