We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful choice for your stay in a beautiful part of France”
Review of Maison Angelus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Angelus
Ranked #2 of 53 Saint-Malo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Any B & B is as good as the host/hostess. In the case of Maison Angelus, you have a great duo looking out for your comfort. Breakfast was more than adequate and a wonderful way to start the day. Christina and Giulio are perfect hosts. The room was comfortable.....not luxurious.....good value and very clean. Dinner was good and a very pleasant experience. Great location in a beautiful part of France. Don't miss the walk along the Ocean to the Old Town.

Room Tip: We like our lower floor accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love vacation time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

We have stayed at many B&B's during many travels, but Maison Angelus is the best ever. Giulio met us at the train station in St. Malo, and I was able to practice my Italian immediately. Christina is equally welcoming, and the house is just charming and so up to date with many amenities. Everything is first rate, and the rooms are lovely, quiet with magnificently equipped en-suites. Immediately they make you feel as though you are family, there are so many interesting and beautiful things to see in the house itself. The street is quiet, and the bed was firm, a rare find. We are anxiously awaiting our specally prepared Italian dinner this evening. Do not miss this lovely respite!!!!

Room Tip: This is a small B&B, and I would assume all rooms are as lovely as the one we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meatthebluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I absolutely adored my two-night stay at Maison Angelus! Cristina and Giulio are warm, welcoming, and generous. The décor is both luxurious and comfortable...rooms are filled with books, art, and tasteful personal touches. Saint Malo itself is worth a visit, but staying at Maison Angelus transformed my trip from exploring an interesting and beautiful site to that of a magnificent lifelong memory. I will certainly return.

Also, the food. Breakfast is a true treat. I enjoyed two dinners...ravioli (even the pasta was made in house), salmon, and a lovely dessert. The second night I dove into an enormous bowl of fruits de mer...complete with crab-cracking instructions from Giulio. As someone very interested in and appreciative of high-quality, fresh food, I promise that you will leave their table both content and satisfied.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyLayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My partner and I visited in June 2012 and stayed one night. The only regret is that I wish we stayed longer. It was beautiful, relaxing, beautifully decorated and the owners were so warm and welcoming we felt like family. The bathroom was so tasteful and the windows opened onto the garden and was peaceful. The breakfast was amazing with the homemade cake and fruit salad. I would definitely stay again and would probably try to take some cooking lessons the next time I go. My partner and I still talk about what a lovely experience we had.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Cristina and Giulio are welcoming people. Such an experience, we were speaking spanish, italian, english hahaha so funny!! Giulio is a great artist and a good talker. They suggested soo many things and routes that you will want to change a lit bit your plans. The location is great, the house just a perfect italian one!! Cozy and confortable. Do not think twice. Splendido!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beremb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We visited Maison Angelus on our way home after a break in Brittany. Christina and Giulio's home was a delightful find for our last night in France. We arrived tired after a busy day and long drive and were instantly relaxed after being welcomed warmly into this stylish and luxurious home.

Christina made us tea - accompanied with homemade biscuits after showing us to our room. We were located at the top of the house and our room was just divine. Beautiful bed linen, tasteful decor, a top-notch bathroom including fluffy towels and a fabulous shower. The room was spotlessly clean and there were considerate touches such as a good selection of books and literature about the area, a welcome note inviting you to inform of dietary requirements and water.

We opted to dine out so we could squeeze in a look around the old town before sun set. However after sampling the biscuits and seeing the impressive collection of cookery books and the impressive kitchen, we did wonder whether we'd make the right choice. We've vowed to dine in next time we visit!

Breakfast was delicious. A warm welcome in the morning, a breakfast room overlooking the walled garden and a table groaning under the weight of homemade specialities such as preserves, bread, fruit salads and Christina's special fig cake (Guilio kindly wrapped some up for our journey after seeing how much we enjoyed it). Wonderful coffee and fresh juice also set us up for the day.

Christina and Guilio were excellent, attentive hosts and were comfortable about sharing their wonderful home - they answered any questions we had and provided info about the area and then left you to relax and enjoy the surroundings.

This b&b is in a great spot - the 30 minute walk along the front to the old town is delightful. This artistic and stylish home provides a relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore the delights of St Malo.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachelSW1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just wonderful. Cristina and Giulio are such lovely people - so welcoming, helpful, accommodating and relaxed.....makes all the difference for a b&b. The room was spacious and immaculate. Amazing towels, pillows and mattress. Good location too - a few minutes walk to beach, restaurants and petit Carrefour.

In the spirit of 'developmental' feedback I'd just say they might consider eggs and bacon for breakfast and bathrobes in the room but I am being really, really picky.

Book this place and don't just stay a night like we did!

William

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravelCounsellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#5 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,775 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
1.5 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 82 in Saint-Malo
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Angelus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Angelus

Address: 82 avenue Pasteur, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Malo
Price Range: £103 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy stone villa of 1800 at the back of the Termes Marines, very near to the seaside. Our 3 wide and bright rooms furnished in italian style are very quite and offer you a warm and soothing atmosphere.Cristina will coddle you with savoury breakfast based on homemade cakes, biscuits, marmelades and she will be pleased to have you for dinner. You can taste the delicious products of the area revisited by italian creativity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maison Angelus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing