We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison des Armateurs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Maison des Armateurs
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Great location within walls of St Malo. Quiet. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast seems expensive but we also stayed at a hotel on the sea front and the breakfast there was more expensive but very basic and not as nice. There are so many creperies near by so not necessary to eat in. The rooms were nicely and thoughtfully furnished. Would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissTB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    259
    44
    5
    7
See reviews for
197
395
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Rooms were clean, well-maintained, high quality fixtures and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had no trouble finding free parking in the lot. We had a small problem with a shower drain and they immediately took care of it and then gave us free breakfast for our family of six. I think almost anybody would be very happy to stay in this very nice hotel and its outstanding location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel is extremely nice - spacious, modern, clean, comfy beds, very good service. We had a tea every night at the bar very late, but the lady who served us was always happy to do so. We didn't buy the breakfast because it was very expensive and there was an excellent Patissier by the Cathedral on Rue du Pourpris (highly recommend the Framboisine or the Kouign Amann - and a chilled Breizh Cola if your also getting your lunch there as we did!).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittniF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location in the old town, well decorated and clean, spacious and with good beds. There was not too much noise from the busy streets below. The staff is friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay there and will return again. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very well located, in the old town, which is very convenient to visit St Malo. The bedroom was lovely, the bed very comfy and the breakfast was very tasty (crepes!!). The staff was very polite, helpful and nice. Absolutely recommended!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aurelieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isigny-le-Buat, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great hotel in the middle of the old town which meant we could forget about the car. Modern decor, which I think is a bit of a shame given its location, but clean with helpful, English speaking staff and excellent service. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AubergeduLacVezins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We spent a long time choosing our St. Malo hotel, for a 4 night stay in early August 2014. It did not disappoint. An absolutely superb location, we had a very big, air-conditioned, silent room with a superb bed which was extremely restful but we could open the windows and listen to the St. Malo atmosphere, which was lovely.

The staff stand out as being super, with Alexandra on reception getting a particular mention for making us feel very welcome after a very long journey, and nothing was too much trouble for her, in her super friendly manner.

Breakfast was a tad expensive, so we only took it on our last day (but it was good).

We had a mix-up with our booking.com bill, but don't know who's fault it was - but possibly worth checking at check-in that they're in agreement with booking.com.

Would very definitely stay there again, and its very highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#10 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Nautilus
Hotel Le Nautilus
#2 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#7 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison des Armateurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison des Armateurs

Property: La Maison des Armateurs
Address: 6 Grand rue, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison des Armateurs 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your La Maison des Armateurs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing