We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
75
99
57
34
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
99
57
34
18
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed overnight before taking morning ferry back to uk. Room was spacious and well appointed with jacuzzi bath, large tv and large comfortable bed.
It's only a 10 minute drive to the town centre and ferry terminal so ideally situated.
Plenty of choice for breakfast and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful
Evening meals are available although we ate while in town.
Ample free parking at the hotel, all in all we were very satisfied.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

A couple of days before we arrived at the hotel we received a lovely email from them saying ‘whole team at Belem Hotel are delighted to be welcoming’ and we were looking forward to our stay after a long days drive and I joked on the way that I expected the entire staff to be outside awaiting our arrival ‘a la Downton Abbey’. We finally arrived at the hotel after an 8 hour drive from the Dordogne and Chris remarked that it didn’t look like the hotel but it had a sign saying it was.

It seemed very deserted and empty when we arrived but we went to the reception to find that closed but an envelope stuck to the outside of the door addressed to us. It contained the code for the building and our room key and ‘have a nice stay’. There was mention that if we arrived after 6pm we should contact them in advance, this we tried but we had no mobile reception even after stopping off at a service station. We knew we would not make the 6pm deadline but as we arrived approximately at 6:30pm we did not expect the place to be completely empty and unmanned. It was a first for both of us and we travel extensively.

When we finally got into our room (the key did not open the room easily) we were greeted by a rather stark room which was quite large and it had 2 small twin beds (a bit of a disappointment). Luckily the sun was shining and we were able to sit out on the wooden patio for a drink but the wood was rotting and the grass hadn’t been cut in a while. The overall impression was that the hotel was unkempt and empty and felt most unwelcoming. Also we had booked the hotel because it had a restaurant but of course that too was closed.

It might have been low season (mid September), but we didn’t expect to be the only ones to be there. There was nothing wrong with the hotel, but also there was nothing right with it. We joked that the only reception at the hotel was on our mobile phones.

Two days later we had another email from the Hotel Belem saying they were ‘extremely pleased to welcome you’ and would we write some comments!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank KT3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The hotel is very good. The staff are very helpful. Our room was large and furnished well. I'd stay here again. We stayed here as it was close to the ferry port, but we lucked out as this was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Inter-Hotel
Thank Welshwonder08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

used this hotel for one night before catching the St Malo ferry. It's a tranquil spot in a business park and is modern and clean. Rooms are spacious and have very good facilities. Breakfast is continental with fresh croissant, pain au chocolate, cereals, bread etc. all you would expect. Staff are friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend as an overnight stop and would use again.
only downside was the restaurant was closed when we stayed, had to drive for restaurants and shops as nothing is within walking distance, not a huge issue though.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Inter-Hotel
Thank J6664IJrichardl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

A small modern built timber framed hotel, no noise insulation, balcony was weak and seemed like the wood was bending. Main door was left ajar at all times with people smoking there and on the balconies, our room door was fitted so the lock handle touched the door frame and when first used did not see this and it took the skin off my knuckles , i had stitches in finger when returned next day. The room was clean but bathroom was in bad condition with china chipped . slept well apart from noise from other rooms and smell of smoke.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Inter-Hotel
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews