We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Perfect location”
4.5 of 5 bubbles

Review of The Little Balcony

27 reviews | other travellers have booked this property
Condo/Apartment 2 Bedrooms 1 Bathroom Sleeps 4 Ask about pets Save
The little balcony
The little balcony
14th century building opposite
Sitting room / salon
Double bed bedroom / chamber
Main bedroom /chambre
Second bedroom / deuxième chambre
kitchen table
Kitchen / cuisine
The fort
Kitchen /cuisine
Kitchen / cuisine
Bathroom / salle de bain
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
thehowty
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
Perfect location

A perfectly situated apartment for a break in St Malo. As we stayed in winter we were glad to find that central heating and hot water were faultless. Right in the middle of the old city walls you couldn't get a better place to stay in St Malo.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2015
Thanks for your review and I'm so pleased you enjoyed St Malo. Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
A little gem in the heart of historic St Malo.
1
person found this review helpful

My second stay in this wonderful town but my first in the Little Balcony. It was wonderful! The apartment is simple and clean but also warm and welcoming. Excellent hot shower, a kitchen will all that you need and two comfortable bedrooms. Step out for a bracing (this is November) walk around the ramparts, visit the cathedral just around the corner with its mesmerizing modern stained glass windows or relax in the numerous cafes. An array of shops (what a great cheese shop), fresh market and a mini supermarket close by. The "locals" were great fun..a memorable evening spent with some in the Cathedral Bar!
Will definitely return to The Little Balcony.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2015
Hopefully you will come and stay again. Thanks for your review. Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red189
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013
Excellent location, wonderful stay

Little Balcony is situated in an ideal location within the walls of St Malo, a short stroll from the main high street. The apartment is well presented and has everything you need. The balcony became our favourite place to drink coffee and people watch! Excellent holiday :)

Wifi/ kitchen fully equipped/ iPod docking station/ separate bathroom and toilet

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
St Malo is just the perfect place for a holiday and we're pleased you stayed in The Little Balcony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013
Superb location and comfort
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment suited my needs perfectly. Cosy and comfortable with everything you require for a successful and very enjoyable holiday. The position is great, surrounded by great restaurants and bars. It was a delight to come "home"to this abode.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Comfort and convenience
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
Brilliant, and you're most welcome anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacky I
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
perfect location, wonderful town.

The apartment was very clean and tastefully decorated and we found it very comfortable. It was brilliant for walking to the markets, exploring the islands and endless choice of coffee and restaurants. Did not stay long enough, we will be staying here again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write and thanks for staying in The Little Balcony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 2 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
2 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 2 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
I am truly very sorry that Petra feels this way about the apt.
When she told me it was cold I went as soon as the shops were open to buy another heater. I also offered to come back a second day with a technician to sort the problem out but she asked me not to!
The information is in the apt about the sheets and towels being laundered but ... I think it is so rare to have a miserable guest that I have just learnt from this experience. The doors and windows do open and shut so I'm a little confused by the reviewers comments here.
St Malo does have an active night life, it is one of the reasons people like it so much. If someone wants double glazing and silence I think a hotel might be a good idea and it is quite obvious from the photos on site that this is a very well positioned adorable old building in a wonderful city. Annie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkrapp
Altendorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Your review is very much appreciated. Glad you had a good time. Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$102
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.