We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Malo Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as the last day of our holiday in France and we were pleasantly surprised. Thierry was most helpful in sorting our parking problem and recommending local restaurants. The hotel was lovely, clean and had a modern yet traditional feel...

Fantastic location for the centre of St Malo and ideally located for the ferries.

Try it out you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LampoonsVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Perfectly clean,quiet but central location,super friendly management..and one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in !!!!! We have stayed in many hotels in Intra Muros and will definitely be returning to this again,absolutely perfect for the beaches,shops ,bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raphanoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at the Ajoncs d'Or for two nights, one at the start of our Brittany holiday and one at the end. As other reviewers have said, whilst centrally located inside the walls, it is in a quiet back street. The first time we had a tea making facilities in the room but the second time we did not for some reason. The first room had dark furniture and as there is no aircon it was rather hot at night but we didn't find it noisy from having the window open. The duvet was on the warm side for the summer; a lighter one would have been preferable and possibly a top sheet. Otherwise the rooms were clean and comfortable and although small were perfectly adequate for a short stay.

Reception were very helpful and friendly and as others have said, were happy to recommend restaurants away from the more touristy areas.

We decided not to opt for the hotel breakfast buffet at 11 euros but ate out at one of the numerous cafes.

Wifi was available in our room but we had to keep logging in with the password for every session through an advertising portal (this is quite common in a number of hotels, but rather annoying).

I would recommend this hotel for travellers on a short stay who want a comfortable and friendly hotel at a reasonable price within the walls.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This small hotel is located just a few meters away from the noisy streets, so it is quite calm. Rooms are interesting, not two are the same.

There is no parking facilities, but we arrived on a motorcycle, and were able to park outside amongst the staff's scooters.

The staff are most friendly and very helpful. They pointed us to some excellent restaurants that were not tourist traps.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dutch-Mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and generally had an excellent time -- the room was a tasteful combination of modern and traditional, the beds were lovely and firm, and the service on the front-desk was outstanding. Most pleasing was the fact that we got *great* recommendations for dinners and lunches, and the staff not only made bookings for us (which we hadn't expected since two of us are native/near-native speakers) but also rang me on a UK mobile to confirm that the booking had been made since the restaurant had been closed in the morning. Put this together with the location at the heart of old St-Malo and you have a winner.

As far as we were concerned the only downside was that we happened to be staying there at one of the few times of the year when the weather was so warm that we needed to sleep with the windows open: on night #1 a flock of seagulls seemed to be having a raucous, vigorous discussion on our windowsill, and on night #2 we had some late-night street cleaning. If it hadn't been too hot to close the windows we'd have been completely fine but, frankly, neither of these is the fault of the hotel (stay near the sea and get the seagulls, stay in the tourist area and when else are they going to clean). I also can't expect them to retrofit expensive A/C units that would only be useful about 1 or 2 weeks of the entire year (and probably not since 2006).

By the end of our visit, between the friendliness of the people and the fun that we had eating and drinking in town, my friends were checking the going rates for 'Intra Muros' property, and we were thinking of an out-of-season visit when rates would be even lower.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up would probably be quieter since the street sound will disperse more; however, unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Our room had the shower at one side and the toilet at another, so in order to wash one's hands one has to leave the toilet and cross the room. I don't know how many room are like this. It is quite impossible to find parking (payment) near the hotel, it is not even easy to stop there to get the luggage out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dindan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and the location is good if you want to stay in the old town. There's a sweet square just around the corner from the hotel with a few places to eat and is pleasant to hang out in.

I had high expectations because of the great reviews here on TA, which weren't quite met. Firstly I think we had one of the older, unrenovated rooms although the bathroom was new and well equipped. Our room faced the street and was very small (not at all unusual for France), a little dark, but no doubt from reviews here there are better rooms. The linen was rather old and worn.

You can have breakfast for an extra 12 euros, it was fresh and plentiful, the usual continental array with eggs as well.

We were given some good advice about nearby places.

Parking can be a bit of an issue in the old town if you drive in. You can park outside the hotel and unload, and then find a spot nearby. Fortunately we didn't have too much trouble and after the weekend we were able to park outside the hotel.

One more niggle - the wifi in our room was very patchy and had a complex log on system requiring multiple passwords for each device.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a modernised room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emstar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#2 of 82 in Saint-Malo
560 reviews
0.9 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#29 of 82 in Saint-Malo
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,938 reviews
1 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Abers
Hotel Des Abers
#1 of 82 in Saint-Malo
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or

Address: 10 rue des Forgeurs, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range: £53 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajoncs d'Or is in a calm location in the heart of the historic fortified city walls of Saint Malo. It offers guests comfortable rooms and free unlimited Wi-Fi.Guest rooms at the Ajoncs d'Or are individually decorated and feature original artwork and include modern en suite facilities and satellite TV. The hotel offers family rooms and private garages (upon reservation).A tasty continental breakfast buffet is served each morning. The Ajoncs d'Or is also conveniently placed to make the most of St Malo's many famous restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajoncs d Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing