We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel of 'charme'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
North East england
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A hotel of 'charme'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this small hotel which is centrally located near the Marche des Legumes, St Malo. Recently refurbished to a high standard by the current owners and maintained in the same way.

Our room on the third floor with views over the front of the property and since there was a lift the elevation was not an issue. The bathroom was modern and roomy with shower cubicle - no tub. Fixtures and fittings were a good quality as was the bed and bedding. TV with French channels available but unlike most French hotels, tea and coffee facilities were provided - a real bonus. Other reviews accurately reflect my views of the fabric of the building.

We dined out on both evenings and can highly recommend La Brasserie Armoricaine nearby, which was another of Thierry’s excellent dining suggestions. Given the location of the hotel, we decided to take breakfast at one of the numerous cafes nearby at 6-7 euros. Thierry on reception was invaluable source of local information.

We paid 90 euros per night and in my view this reflects the standard of the room and the location of the hotel. We did have to park outside the walls of the town and at this time of year we paid 12 Euros per day which is an additional cost and somewhat inconvenient. Some parking is available on site, so book it before arrival.

We felt that this hotel was good value for the price paid and the setting was exceptionally good with lots to see, eat and do at your doorstep.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as other guests can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    98
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
47
170
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as the last day of our holiday in France and we were pleasantly surprised. Thierry was most helpful in sorting our parking problem and recommending local restaurants. The hotel was lovely, clean and had a modern yet traditional feel...

Fantastic location for the centre of St Malo and ideally located for the ferries.

Try it out you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LampoonsVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Perfectly clean,quiet but central location,super friendly management..and one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in !!!!! We have stayed in many hotels in Intra Muros and will definitely be returning to this again,absolutely perfect for the beaches,shops ,bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raphanoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at the Ajoncs d'Or for two nights, one at the start of our Brittany holiday and one at the end. As other reviewers have said, whilst centrally located inside the walls, it is in a quiet back street. The first time we had a tea making facilities in the room but the second time we did not for some reason. The first room had dark furniture and as there is no aircon it was rather hot at night but we didn't find it noisy from having the window open. The duvet was on the warm side for the summer; a lighter one would have been preferable and possibly a top sheet. Otherwise the rooms were clean and comfortable and although small were perfectly adequate for a short stay.

Reception were very helpful and friendly and as others have said, were happy to recommend restaurants away from the more touristy areas.

We decided not to opt for the hotel breakfast buffet at 11 euros but ate out at one of the numerous cafes.

Wifi was available in our room but we had to keep logging in with the password for every session through an advertising portal (this is quite common in a number of hotels, but rather annoying).

I would recommend this hotel for travellers on a short stay who want a comfortable and friendly hotel at a reasonable price within the walls.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normandy, France
Level Contributor
344 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

This small hotel is located just a few meters away from the noisy streets, so it is quite calm. Rooms are interesting, not two are the same.

There is no parking facilities, but we arrived on a motorcycle, and were able to park outside amongst the staff's scooters.

The staff are most friendly and very helpful. They pointed us to some excellent restaurants that were not tourist traps.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dutch-Mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and generally had an excellent time -- the room was a tasteful combination of modern and traditional, the beds were lovely and firm, and the service on the front-desk was outstanding. Most pleasing was the fact that we got *great* recommendations for dinners and lunches, and the staff not only made bookings for us (which we hadn't expected since two of us are native/near-native speakers) but also rang me on a UK mobile to confirm that the booking had been made since the restaurant had been closed in the morning. Put this together with the location at the heart of old St-Malo and you have a winner.

As far as we were concerned the only downside was that we happened to be staying there at one of the few times of the year when the weather was so warm that we needed to sleep with the windows open: on night #1 a flock of seagulls seemed to be having a raucous, vigorous discussion on our windowsill, and on night #2 we had some late-night street cleaning. If it hadn't been too hot to close the windows we'd have been completely fine but, frankly, neither of these is the fault of the hotel (stay near the sea and get the seagulls, stay in the tourist area and when else are they going to clean). I also can't expect them to retrofit expensive A/C units that would only be useful about 1 or 2 weeks of the entire year (and probably not since 2006).

By the end of our visit, between the friendliness of the people and the fun that we had eating and drinking in town, my friends were checking the going rates for 'Intra Muros' property, and we were thinking of an out-of-season visit when rates would be even lower.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up would probably be quieter since the street sound will disperse more; however, unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Our room had the shower at one side and the toilet at another, so in order to wash one's hands one has to leave the toilet and cross the room. I don't know how many room are like this. It is quite impossible to find parking (payment) near the hotel, it is not even easy to stop there to get the luggage out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dindan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Nautilus
Hotel Le Nautilus
#2 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.9 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#11 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or

Property: Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or
Address: 10 rue des Forgeurs, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
#19 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajoncs d'Or is in a calm location in the heart of the historic fortified city walls of Saint Malo. It offers guests comfortable rooms and free unlimited Wi-Fi.Guest rooms at the Ajoncs d'Or are individually decorated and feature original artwork and include modern en suite facilities and satellite TV. The hotel offers family rooms and private garages (upon reservation).A tasty continental breakfast buffet is served each morning. The Ajoncs d'Or is also conveniently placed to make the most of St Malo's many famous restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajoncs d Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing