We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite...!”
Review of La Villefromoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Villefromoy
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I shall probably read this review and think I was being a bit picky. The thing is...it mattered at the time! The hotel is overall a nice place to stay but I felt a bit deceived by the description on the website. That may be partly my fault as reading more reviews now I realise I could have picked up more relevant info.

Anyroadup...gripe 1. Looking at the map it appears the hotel is halfway down the road between St Malo and Parame but in reality it isn't! The hotel is 5 mins walk to the cafes, restaurants and lovely deli (where we had our breakfasts for 7euros-18 at the hotel) in what appears to be Parame on Google map and 30mins to St Malo fort. We are good walkers so a walk along a beautiful beach/promenade for 2miles/3.2km is ok. In less good weather it will mean a taxi or bus ride. Can't tell you how much that would be as we kept walking!
Gripe 2. We booked a room described as luxury with sea view for 157euros as a treat but don't feel we had a good deal. The sea view is there alright...between two beachside houses at the end of the road opposite and through a web of power cables (why can't the French bury the damn things?). In a luxury room I would have expected a/c but no, we had to have the window wide open as it was 30degrees (fortunately road outside is quiet!) and 20 at night. Might have helped if room cleaner didn't insist on shutting windows in daytime! Finally the shower over the bath was very poor with very little power behind it...luxury? I don't think so. Bed was comfy though and room very clean.

As other reviews have said lounge and bar is best part and the stairs are nice and a bit wonky! Garden is relaxing to sit in as well. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful.

The location is good especially for beach lovers as it's one of the best we have seen and we've seen a few! The tide cleans almost the whole sand area twice a day so it's beautifully clean. Lots of activities too with sailing schools and kite boarding and in St Malo a clean sea water pool with diving boards. Families with children will find it just about perfect. Try a ferry ride over to Dinard for lunch...very swish!

To sum up I wouldn't say I won't go back to the hotel but not at the price we paid. Also don't bother paying 15euros to park in hotel carpark,the roads are fine.The restaurants nearby seem ok so St Malo isn't necessary for eating although you have a choice from hundreds all over the fort.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chasaroodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed for 3 nights while following Le Tour de France. Wonderful hotel and such friendly staff. Car park not large but lots of road parking nearby. If you reserve a space, at an additional cost, you have your own parking cone with your name on. I thought this was brilliant. Saves all the stress of finding parking spaces. Would love to go back in the near future. Lots of restaurants nearby if you do not want to eat in the old town. Most restaurants have fixed price menus if you are on a budget. Choices are very good.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MargMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Beautiful, very nice room and very nice people. Breakfast up to standard. Recommendable. St-Malo is a very nice destination, the centre is 30 minutes walking by the seaside. The casino of St-Malo however only seems fully operational in weekends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Very well situated with extremly nice staff.
Rooms a large and clean, but not as much as you can expect from a 4*.
Doors are noisy!! every time some one close a door you have loud "Bang". Just irrecevable for such an hotel.
Breakfeast is a little poor

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stopped here on the way to Jersey. We found a parking space straight in front of the hotel so it is absolutely not necessary to book ( and pay ) for private parking. We were given a very friendly reception in spite of the late hour we arrived and taken immediately to our room. This was large and the bathroom was brilliant, especially the lighting which was better than the lighting in the room itself. All in all a very satisfactory albeit short stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hitchcock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Very attentive service at this hotel one block from the water in St. Malo. Rooms were fairly sized. Skipped breakfast as there were good pastry shops just a little west of the hotel. Location is decent, about a 30 min walk along the promenade to the walled city. Walked somewhere for dinner most nights which was fine. Likely need a taxi to/from the train station (20 min walk or could take a bus) or €20 to the Dinard airport. The #10 bus to Cancale is only a 3 min walk away which was also helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zzyzxRoadExit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel to anyone. The staff were very friendly, relaxed and professional and the service received was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble. The standard of our room was first class. The optional breakfast was very good though a little expensive.The Hotel is situated very close to the sea from where we could walk along the promenade along the seafront into the main town (30 mins), explore the Old City and walk all around the City ramparts.

We look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MICHAEL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#5 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,775 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#12 of 82 in Saint-Malo
887 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 82 in Saint-Malo
548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villefromoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villefromoy

Address: 7 boulevard Hebert | Plage de Rochebonne, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Malo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
#4 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#6 Business Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range: £61 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Villefromoy 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2016 : Refurbishment of the Garden View Rooms, Sea View Rooms and Suites Sea View! (New beds, new pillows, new decoration, new carpets, new furnitures !) A stay at the 4 * Hotel La Villefromoy, it is the time for a break in a typical Villa of Saint-Malo, completely renovated by its owners. Everything is done for you to feel the soul of this charming boutique hotel by the sea. Get ready to relax and allow yourself a unique, personalized and unforgettable stay ! Couples, families or business travelers, the 4 * Hotel La Villefromoy is designed to break away from the daily stress . Once your suitcases in your room, make yourself comfortable in the cosy lounges overlooking the sea, reading a book on St. Malo and Brittany or enjoy a drink at the hotel lounge-bar listening jazzy music. Leaving the hotel, turn left, the beach is at 40 meters only ! You can reach the old city in a few minutes walk from the waterfront and enjoy a breathtaking view on the sea and on the monuments of Saint-Malo. A walk next to the waves or on the sand at low tide. Some rooms have a sea view. The decoration is neat and warm, mahogany flirts with warm colors, and elegance flirts with simplicity. Everything invites you to enjoy the serenity of the place. Discover the incredible breakfast brunch made with local produces from Saint Malo and the region Brittany and start traveling as soon as you wake up! Enjoy without moderation! Ideally located to discover St Malo, Dinan, Dinard and the beautiful Mont Saint-Michel, the owners of this house will recommend you the best restaurants and advise you on tours and incredible places unknown to the public! The staff, passionated about the history of the area will reveal you all the secrets of Saint-Malo ! Get ready to relax and allow yourself a unique, personalized and unforgettable stay ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Villefromoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villefromoy Saint Malo
La Villefromoy Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing