We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Union
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The hotel is located very close to the main entrance of the Old Town. It takes only 15 minutes walking from the train station; it costs around 10 Euros if you take a taxi.

We stayed in two connected room in a junior suite with 2 bathrooms. Hotel facilities are good and clean. However, the only lift in the hotel is too small where you basically can only fit 3 person without any luggage.

There are many nice cafes, restaurants and shops around the hotel. It takes you only 10 minutes walking to the front beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaOoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

A small hotel within the city walls. We had booked secure underground parking at a cost in advance but on arrival we were informed that no places were available. The guy in reception advised that he would take our car and park it elsewhere in secure parking some seven hundred meters or so from the hotel which we just had to accept. Unfortunately we were then unable to retrieve some items from the car which we thought about after we had checked our bags into the room. The hotel is generally quite dark and the lighting minimal as was the room. One night stay was enough to see St. Malo and I probably would not stay here again as there are plenty of other options.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manxscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Nice enough hotel in a great location in the old town. Seconds away from good restaurants. You are quite literally right in the heart of things

Slightly odd colour schemes and very dark and gloomy staircase to room. Rooms could do with some artwork or better bedspreads - they feel very functional.

Had a two bedroomed suite, which was perfect for two single friends like us. It will also be great for families - no sharing rooms with kids, which has to be a bonus.

Staff were very nice.

The author of this review is a professional journalist and a hotelier. He is a former Travel Editor of a UK national newspaper and also owns Le Castel, a chateau hotel in Normandy, France, which specialises in all-inclusive family holidays

Room Tip: Family suits work very well for parents or just two groups of friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lecastel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel Monday to Friday. It is in an excellent location for all the sightseeing and we had a view of the square. The hotel owners were friendly and the hotel room was very clean and comfortable. We decided to book the special deal of superior room with breakfast. Superior rooms were bigger with tv, hairdryer and room service daily.
There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room so take a travel kettle.
The one thing that let it down and was of great disappointment to us was the breakfast. We are aware that the french are not big on breakfast but the selection and quality was poor. The bread was dry and only just ok for toast. The usual choice of processed cheeses were on offer but they were dry around the edges as was the two choices of salami. Croissants, jams and preserves, yoghurts and fruit were available. I had cereal one morning and that even tasted musty. Milk was provided in a cup rather than a jug. My husband asked the first morning if there were any eggs available but got told no, so there was no hot food. Tea and coffee were from a machine and fruit juice was available. Id say it was one of the worst breakfasts we have had on our travels.
The most irritating thing was when we arrived back Thursday night after a trip to Jersey (we missed breakfast due to early start), the owners and some friends were sat in the dining room with a huge sea food platter. Its a shame that they could not put more effort into providing a decent breakfast considering we paid around 7 euro each with the deal. Id recommend you go out for breakfast as you can get a cooked one for about the same price as the hotel one.
Other than that, the hotel was very nice and within the old city walls.

Room Tip: Take a travel kettle and dont have breakfast there. Book a high room with a view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RETHORE M, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol Union, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013
Google Translation

Monsieur, nous avons bien recu votre commentaire sur trip advisor et nous vous remercions de vos remarques. En ce qui concerne le Buffet petit déjeuner, nous servons un petit déjeuner francais compose de Cereales varies 4 choix, laitages, de la baguette, du pain de campagne, du pain de mie, de la brioche cuit tout le matins fraichement, de fruits, une varieté de environ 7 parfums de confitures, du miel, du nutella, des compotes en barquettes (effectivement dans des petite portions individuelles telle que les norme d'hygiene le stipules. Deux variétes de jus de fruits orange et multivitamine pur jus et café sur lequelle nous avons j'amais eu de remarque défavorable. Une multitude de variétes de thes, de la charcuterie et du fromage, il est vraie que nous faisons pas les oeufs etc... et tout cela a volonté servie de 7h30 - 11 h30. Pour les clients partant sur les iles jersey et guernesey, nous demandons de nous prévenir la vieille, ce que vous n'avez pas préciser lors de votre séjour, sinon cela aurait été possible. Généralement nous avons toujour un bon avis sur nos petits déjeuner, malheureusement cela ne vous a pas plu nous en sommes désolées.

Par contre je me permets également de faire une remarque concernant l'état de votre chambre dans laquelle vous avez laisser du beurre, du fromage couler sur nos meubles de bureau et l'état générale de chambre a nécessité un grand nétoyage le jour de votre départ. Nous sommes pas habitué de retrouver nos chambre dans cet etat.

Cordialement
Marc RETHORE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Right intra muros for a total St-Malo experience !
Being close to everything is really a big plus.

Very nice hotel, clean and quite confortable.
I really liked my stay over there and would return any time

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plannerHaolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We had kind of a family flat with two rooms under one door. This was very handy and convenient.
Location is just perfect when you arrive by car, as it is just next to big parking outside the walls.
Staff is very helpful and friendly, breakfast is good. Great value for money option in St. Malo!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Lelya_RU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Hotel in a good, quiet location,nice clean room, good breakfast with large choice, the owners and staff were friendly and helpful. Very close to some good restaurants.
Only downside was the separate toilet which was really small.
Would stay again when visiting St.Malo.

Room Tip: Keep to rooms on the lower floors unless you dont mind using the stairs,as the lift is rather small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aries64St_helier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#54 of 82 in Saint-Malo
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Croiseur
Hotel le Croiseur
#30 of 82 in Saint-Malo
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
#31 of 82 in Saint-Malo
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
L'Adresse
L'Adresse
#23 of 82 in Saint-Malo
244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambassadeurs Hotel
Ambassadeurs Hotel
#16 of 82 in Saint-Malo
594 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aubade
Hotel Aubade
#21 of 82 in Saint-Malo
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Union

Address: 4 Place de la Poissonnerie, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#25 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range: £61 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol Union 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the very heart of the historic center of Saint Malo. 27 Rooms with two different ambiances Marine and Contemporaine style. 4 Family Suites for 4 to 5 persons. Renovated in 2014. Close to the Mont Saint Michel, Dinard, Dinan, Cancale and the ferry terminal for Jersey and Guernesey. 3 Minutes to the Congress Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Bristol Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Union Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing