We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Union
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great weekend”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

in May 2013 we decided to stop off in St Malo on our way backed to the Uk from Greece .so we rang ahead from our train and managed to get last room . we wasn't disappointed we were greeted by the ever friendly owners. who let go straight to our rooms and sort out details later as we were tired . the hotel is situated within the walls ,and a 2minute walk to .shops bars and bistros , The rooms are very comfortable and over look the square but never noisy and we always sleep well (might have something to do with the local cider and wine ) The are always very helpful and speak very good English we spent the next day at the Dinard market s sorted by the hotel owners . well woth a visit .they also have underground parking across the square which very helpful for those travelling by car .

Room Tip: always book in advance if disabled ask for lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    144
    30
    4
    5
See reviews for
59
161
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
600 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately we were forced to leave beautiful Jersey a day early due to the onset of " the storm of the decade" - the hotel that held our reservation in St Malo was booked out - suggesting that St Malo was booked out and suggested we try the Bristol Union.

Very, very warm and helpful welcome - with suggestions for late night bite to eat.

Breakfast in the morning was adequate continental with more friendly and helpful staff .

Unfortunately (we suspect) that the room allocated to us may have been the last in the hotel if not the city.

Small room, very comfortable bed - bathroom separate to toilet - however the toilet was not big enough to enable the user to close the door when in use ? Even in a long marriage there should be afforded some degree of privacy?

Strong WiFi signal

Summary- certainly ok for one night stay - would suggest that before booking check on room.

We were grateful that the hotel was able to accommodate us and due to the friendliness and efficiency of management and staff this hotel should attract a higher rating - please don' t be put off by this review !






Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We chose this hotel because it was within the walls of Saint-Malo and appeared to be at the centre of things in the walled city. A really excellent choice in that we were within short walking distance of all the action! We arrived by car, the sat nav taking us through the narrow streets of Saint-Malo and delivering us exactly outside the hotel. The reception at the hotel was very friendly and we were asked if we wanted to use the garage for our two night stay. We opted for this as we then knew the car would be safe and secure in the underground car park. There are only two spaces available for guests so it is wise to book in advance, otherwise one has to use the public parking outside of the walls, as it appeared that most people had to because we could hear the trundling of suitcases over the cobbles well into the evening!
Our room was on the second floor and was reached by the compact lift which was not big enough for two people and a large suitcase. Our room was fairly dark in that the walls were decorated in purple and only a smallish window looking out onto the old fish market in the square below. The bed was large and with crisp white linen. With the curtains pulled and bedside lights on the room became very romantic!! The shower room was very small but adequate for our stay.
Breakfast was served in a small breakfast room and consisted of the usual continental display of fruits, bread and croissants, jams and honeys and breakfast cereals, and a constant supply of coffee and tea if required.
In summary then, an excellent two nights sleep right in the middle of the action. The hotel management were friendly and welcoming. Come again? Yes please!

Room Tip: We had room 202.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jet_Lagg_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
738 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Spent one night here in October. Room 203. The staff were very welcoming and spoke good English. The room was fine for a night. Separate shower with piping hot water. Separate wash basin and a separate toilet. It was clean, the bed was comfy and we were warm even with the window open. View of the square from the room was good. There was a little noise but it was a Saturday night. We will definately stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Bristol Union for one night prior to catching the ferry back to Jersey. We picked the hotel because we met at Bristol University and got married 39 years ago so Bristol Union seemed appropriate. Don't be fooled by the two stars. You may not get 24 hour room service but the hotel is spotlessly clean, the bed wonderfully comfortable and the welcome was one of the warmest we have had from any proprietor. Using the garage was well worth the charge and it made leaving for the early morning crossing so easy. Madame suggested an excellent creperie, L'Equipage, and both the moules frites and the galette were excellent.
Next time we are in St Malo it will be back to the Bristol Union

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

An absolutely brilliant hotel. Location within the walls is perfect as it's very central.

The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly with an excellent grasp of English (if you so need it).

Rooms are basic and a bit tired (skirting board coming away from walls) but very clean and beds are comfortable. This is the only reason that the hotel didn't get 5 stars.

I will definitely return and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for cheap, clean accommodation in the walls of Saint Malo.

Room Tip: Top floor was very quiet. The lift is very small for 2 plus luggage so bear this in mind if you fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guernsey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed only one night, in august and we felt lucky to get a room since it was the only vacancy for that week. The hotel is perfectly located in the center of Saint Malo without the noise of the crowded places. Close to the restaurants, the beach, the ramparts, etc. They have a private underground parking located in the same street as the hotel, which in Saint Malo is a luxury!

The service was great. The front desk agents were very friendly. They gave us a map and told us where the places to visit were (beachs, forts, the main streets, etc.).

The room was small but well decorated. The bed was fine. The TV was bigger than what we usually see in that kind of hotels and they had all the french digital channels and a lot of english channels too (all the bbc channels, the itv channels, channel4, channel4+1, etc.). The bathroom was spacious and well equiped. A power outlet by the bed and 2 bedside tables would have been usefull (the was only one). The hotel would definitely deserve a 5 stars if the toilets of our room had not so small that it was hard to close the door while sitting!

Room Tip: You might want a street side room rather than courtyard side which is pretty boring. No worry, the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnYJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Croiseur
Hotel le Croiseur
#29 of 81 in Saint-Malo
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or
Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or
#10 of 81 in Saint-Malo
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
#31 of 81 in Saint-Malo
892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Des Abers
Hotel Des Abers
#2 of 81 in Saint-Malo
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cartier
Hotel Cartier
#34 of 81 in Saint-Malo
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Union

Property: Hotel Bristol Union
Address: 4 Place de la Poissonnerie, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#25 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol Union 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the very heart of the historic center of Saint Malo. 27 Rooms with two different ambiances Marine and Contemporaine style. 4 Family Suites for 4 to 5 persons. Renovated in 2014. Close to the Mont Saint Michel, Dinard, Dinan, Cancale and the ferry terminal for Jersey and Guernesey. 3 Minutes to the Congress Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Union Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing