We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Union
Ranked #31 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Tilbury, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in the city centre”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Warm welcome and organized checkin upon arrival set the pace for our visit. Staff were very nice and provided good tips for the area. Having been to St Malo before, they provided some greater detail. As a group of seven, we stayed in two of their cabine family rooms which are two separate rooms behind a common door to the hallway. An elevator makes luggage easy and bathrooms were adequate if a bit dated in the one cabine. A slight hike on foot from the train station but you can cab it or take the bus to the fortified wall entrance to the old city. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay and would return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    142
    29
    4
    5
See reviews for
59
156
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
JERSEY CHANNEL ISLANDS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here this weekend for a short break. Very helpful and friendly staff.
Double room clean, bed comfortable, but very small for a double room.
Breakfast was very good, plenty choice, and fresh.

Room Tip: I would request a bigger double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNROCHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay here in saint malo. Excellent value for money with stylish clean rooms, a very warm welcome from owners Mark and Catherine and in a superb location. The bed was comfy with an ensuite shower room and views over the square. We were centrally placed to all amenities and attractions and close enough to walk to and from the port for our ferry. Thank you both! We shall return in the near future! Ceri and Richard

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank welshtink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed for one night before catching an early ferry. This hotel is in a good location and although the bedroom was basic, it was clean, warm and comfortable. There is a very nice bar and breakfast area too. We had a warm welcome from the host who parked our car in the secure garage and brought it back to the hotel door for check out the next morning. If you are just looking for a well priced stopover in the centre of St Malo, you can't go wrong with the Bristol Union.

Room Tip: We liked the view over the square and the old fish market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therobertsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

in May 2013 we decided to stop off in St Malo on our way backed to the Uk from Greece .so we rang ahead from our train and managed to get last room . we wasn't disappointed we were greeted by the ever friendly owners. who let go straight to our rooms and sort out details later as we were tired . the hotel is situated within the walls ,and a 2minute walk to .shops bars and bistros , The rooms are very comfortable and over look the square but never noisy and we always sleep well (might have something to do with the local cider and wine ) The are always very helpful and speak very good English we spent the next day at the Dinard market s sorted by the hotel owners . well woth a visit .they also have underground parking across the square which very helpful for those travelling by car .

Room Tip: always book in advance if disabled ask for lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
598 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately we were forced to leave beautiful Jersey a day early due to the onset of " the storm of the decade" - the hotel that held our reservation in St Malo was booked out - suggesting that St Malo was booked out and suggested we try the Bristol Union.

Very, very warm and helpful welcome - with suggestions for late night bite to eat.

Breakfast in the morning was adequate continental with more friendly and helpful staff .

Unfortunately (we suspect) that the room allocated to us may have been the last in the hotel if not the city.

Small room, very comfortable bed - bathroom separate to toilet - however the toilet was not big enough to enable the user to close the door when in use ? Even in a long marriage there should be afforded some degree of privacy?

Strong WiFi signal

Summary- certainly ok for one night stay - would suggest that before booking check on room.

We were grateful that the hotel was able to accommodate us and due to the friendliness and efficiency of management and staff this hotel should attract a higher rating - please don' t be put off by this review !






Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We chose this hotel because it was within the walls of Saint-Malo and appeared to be at the centre of things in the walled city. A really excellent choice in that we were within short walking distance of all the action! We arrived by car, the sat nav taking us through the narrow streets of Saint-Malo and delivering us exactly outside the hotel. The reception at the hotel was very friendly and we were asked if we wanted to use the garage for our two night stay. We opted for this as we then knew the car would be safe and secure in the underground car park. There are only two spaces available for guests so it is wise to book in advance, otherwise one has to use the public parking outside of the walls, as it appeared that most people had to because we could hear the trundling of suitcases over the cobbles well into the evening!
Our room was on the second floor and was reached by the compact lift which was not big enough for two people and a large suitcase. Our room was fairly dark in that the walls were decorated in purple and only a smallish window looking out onto the old fish market in the square below. The bed was large and with crisp white linen. With the curtains pulled and bedside lights on the room became very romantic!! The shower room was very small but adequate for our stay.
Breakfast was served in a small breakfast room and consisted of the usual continental display of fruits, bread and croissants, jams and honeys and breakfast cereals, and a constant supply of coffee and tea if required.
In summary then, an excellent two nights sleep right in the middle of the action. The hotel management were friendly and welcoming. Come again? Yes please!

Room Tip: We had room 202.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jet_Lagg_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Croiseur
Hotel le Croiseur
#30 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#57 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant De La Porte Saint-Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cartier
Hotel Cartier
#33 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite
Hotel de la Cite
#52 of 81 in Saint-Malo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Union

Property: Hotel Bristol Union
Address: 4 Place de la Poissonnerie, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#25 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bristol Union 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the very heart of the historic center of Saint Malo. 27 Rooms with two different ambiances Marine and Contemporaine style. 4 Family Suites for 4 to 5 persons. Renovated in 2014. Close to the Mont Saint Michel, Dinard, Dinan, Cancale and the ferry terminal for Jersey and Guernesey. 3 Minutes to the Congress Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bristol Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Union Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing