We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disabled friendly hotel, St. Malo parking not at all Disabled friendly.”
Review of Hotel l'Univers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel l'Univers
Ranked #48 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Upton, Poole, Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disabled friendly hotel, St. Malo parking not at all Disabled friendly.”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was the second visit to this very nice hotel, the previous visit was Spring 2012. There are deals available with Brittany Ferries which mean if you use the L'Univers as a base or for a short break you can reap a substantial discount as opposed to booking the ferry and the hotel separately. The hotel has a lift and to describe it as being similar to a 3 person coffin is not an understatement but it would not take a wheelchair, I have mobility issues and I can get around without having to use a wheelchair, so I am able to use the lift. The hotel having been made aware of the fact that I am disabled gave me the option of a ground floor room, but having knowledge of the hotel requested a higher floor and again the hotel gave us a room near to the lift access.
The continental breakfast had a selection of cold cooked ham which was first rate together with hard boiled eggs, and uncooked eggs that could be boiled to individual requirements. There was the usual selection of rolls, croissants and pain o chocolat. Fresh fruit salad yoghurt etc. The selection for breakfast was very good.
The bar staff worked very hard and efficiently although sometimes a little haste might be beneficial but experience comes with age.
MY GRIPE WITH ST. MALO is appalling parking for disabled vehicle users particularly drivers. August is extremely busy and at the time of my visit there were stalls occupying what parking spaces there were opposite L'Universe (No DISABLED BAYS). The 1disabled space within the city walls which was 100 yards from the hotel for the 3 days of our visit was occupied by a French vehicle that albeit was displaying a Disabled badge was not moved throughout the 3 days.
The other space that was at the rear of a nearby hotel was for me a long walk and potluck as to whether or not it was free of vehicles.
There were other Disabled bays outside the city walls and again availability was an issue and queuing was at this busy period and the walk to the hotel was painful and impractical.
St. Malo needs to become more disabled vehicle user friendly particularly at busy times, able bodied vehicle users are able to park further away in favour of the physically less abled.

I would recommend the Hotel L'Univers as it is clean and well cared for and the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBagman137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    226
    101
    36
    19
See reviews for
76
236
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My friend and I stayed overnight in this aged but accommodating hotel. The receptionist was cheerful and helpful, and made our stay most enjoyable. Our room overlooked the wall and the bustle of the restaurants and market stalls below and added to the ambience of the stay in the centre of town. The room was clean and space was generous - the bathroom surprisingly large. The luggage was stored for the following day while we wandered through the streets before leaving. Wi-Fi free in common areas. Great choice. Fellow guests with small children a little too excited!

Room Tip: Ask for a front room to be involved in the bustle below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragonboater_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed here before but 1st review. Excellent value, rooms small but clean and tidy. bathrooms ok. Bar and breakfast area great for people watching and not too expensive.
If you want a quiet hotel with no buzz around it then go somewhere else but the buzz is why most visitors come here !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We left the hotel this morning after a weeks stay. The hotel is located in a great spot, a stones throw from the beach and on the edge of a really charming town. The hotel room was clean but basic. The hotel staff were friendly, the breakfast buffet was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be returning. Only downside is that there has been a lot of live, loud music during the past week which was fine for us but may not be appealing to all, it might be an idea to double check the hotel and/or city website before booking your stay?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMonkeyToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a tiring journey by train. The taxi couldn't drive into the walled town so we had to drag our suitcases over cobbles to the hotel.

The room we were given was small and it was after unpacking that we realised the square was very with the bars, restaurants and numerous stalls. If we hadn't unpacked we would have asked for another room. Also it had been hard work getting our cases up some stairs, two journeys in the tiny lift and then more stairs. So we had three nights trying to get to sleep and having to catch up the following by having a siesta.

The bathroom was fine and the breakfast at 10 euros seemed expensive but it was plentiful and the coffee and tea was very good as was the cheese and ham. When we could ignore the noise it was lovely being able to look out of the window at the square and the castle opposite.

If we came back would probably try to find somewhere quieter.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is an absolutely brilliant choice of hotel if you want to spend a lovely weekend in beautfiul Sant Malo. Right opposite the main city gates with a great seating area outside. The rooms were very nice as were the bathrooms. There is no evening meal offered at all at this hotel but this is not a problem with so many choices of wonderful restaurants nearby. Breakfast was absolutely adequate. Saint Malo really is a great little weekend break destination.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I think this is the best hotel to stay in when going to Saint-Malo. It is perfectly located inside the walls of the old city, in a charming sun lighted square. The price is decent and makes it very good value for money.

The room was clean and comfortable. It also has internet access.
The staff was friendly and helpful.

You can get a parking ticket at lower price from the reception.

Strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicoleta I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
#32 of 81 in Saint-Malo
915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite
Hotel de la Cite
#49 of 81 in Saint-Malo
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
#27 of 81 in Saint-Malo
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Des Abers
Hotel Des Abers
#2 of 81 in Saint-Malo
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#50 of 81 in Saint-Malo
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Univers

Property: Hotel l'Univers
Address: 12 Place Chateaubriand, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Univers 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel l'Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Univers
l Univers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing