We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel l'Univers
Nearby Hotels
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine(Saint-Malo)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Saint Malo Plage(Saint-Malo)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Elizabeth(Saint-Malo)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Campanile Saint Malo - Saint Jouan Des Guerets(Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alpha Ocean(Saint-Malo)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
hotelF1 Saint Malo(Saint-Malo)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
hotelF1
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
87
246
114
40
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
246
114
40
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrittany ferriescroissantshotel barfor pre dinner drinkscobbled streetswithin the wallsinside the city wallsweekend breakjacques cartierearly hourscar parkbars and restaurantstourist officethree nightsideal locationintra muroscomfortable rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Having stayed in many hotels priced more or less the same as Hotel l'Univers, I must say that I did not find this was value for money. The room was small and basic. Situation is very good but I'd look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a double room. The location of this hotel was perfect. An extremely short walk to restaurants and sights. Breakfast left a little to be desired but the quality of the hotel made up for it. Very friendly staff who spoke perfect English.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building for a bit of a view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The breakfast buffet cost €10, but was good value. We stayed for a week and it was a memorable and enjoyable stay. The hotel must be in the classic French style - our room was certainly described as such - and is beautifully situated within the great walls around St Malo old town and with the Hotel de Ville just opposite and the tourist office just outside the walls. The hotel staff were extremely friendly.

There was no coffee-making facility and we felt we would take a small kettle next time. The bathroom was huge but its floor was two steps higher than the bedroom floor - and the plumbing could be improved to get hot water quicker. The restaurant, recommended in my guide book, no longer exists (though there are plenty of restaurants nearby). The only English-language TV channel was CNN.

Room Tip: (There is no swimming pool but the beach is close by. We did not use room service - it may exist.)
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Third time we have stayed here.
Arrived off the ferry booked in around 9.00am and room ready.
Found the room was on two levels as I tripped on my way to Bathroom! Shower has sliding doors and no handrail or shelves to put anything.
Staff always helpful and happy.
Breakfast not over the top but good enough.
Location by the city walls very good.
All in all a very good hotel and will be returning

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nivekronnoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Room 111
Staff most helpful - we arrived direct from the Brittany Ferries journey a little after 6.30am!!!
Luggage carefully stowed away so we could enjoy the day unloaded

The room was small but comfortable - unusually there was a large step into the ensuite which was problematic when we forgot it was there!

The shower too had a very high step in to t which again was difficult to negotiate.

Clean tidy and fresh.

Quite hotel but the bar downstairs was busy - nice and buzzing.

Breakfast was a standard buffet but beautifully presented

We will be back - but perhaps not in Room 111

Room Tip: Avoid 111 as the intern; steps are problemmatic
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews