We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location..........”
Review of Hotel l'Univers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel l'Univers
Ranked #46 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on the 3rd&4th of May. The hotel is in a perfect location right near all the restaurants and shops inside the old town of Saint Malo. It is also about a 2 minute walk to the beach and about a 10 minute walk from the ferry terminal.We stayed here quite a few years ago and from what we can remember the rooms seem to be a lot more modern now,nice carpets and a more modern feel decor wise all round, lots of english tv channels if you want them!.just one downfall is NO Kettle in the room which would have been really nice as the breakfast was 10 Euro's per person and we felt was over the top for what you get. Don't be afraid of the lift it is tiny but works well you just have to go up 2 at a time!They do have free wifi ask for the code from reception (the code only lasts for a day and then you have to get a new one) but it is hit and miss signal comes and goes and each time we left the hotel we had to put the code back in each time we returned.They also have a luggage room for you to leave all your bags on your last day after check out so you can enjoy your last day wandering around.There is a carrefour supermarket around the corner for a bottle of wine etc for the room to keep your costs down, the shop is below street level but you should see the sign for it at street level.

Room Tip: We had room 422, top floor and only 1 room next to us, the higher you are away from the street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guernseyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here over the weekend of 20th April, having booked the hotel via friends as part of a Brittany Ferries package. The welcome was warm and accommodating - we were able to leave bags while we explored the town. The location is good and the room was perfectly adequate. We used the bar and the staff were friendly and the atmosphere pleasant. Breakfast was perfectly adequate and included in the deal. Happy to recommend and happy to return again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel as a complete ferry and hotel package with Brittany Ferries and we were really impressed- in fact I don't recognise the place from some of the more negative reviews posted on here. I assume it has improved of late as we really couldn't fault it for the price we paid. Despite arriving before 9am, our room was ready and we were made very welcome by the receptionist. The room was decorated in a plain, simple way but was spotlessly clean and a good size. The bathroom was huge, as was the shower which was a real bonus. Our room was at the side and we were concerned it may be noisy as we were so close to a main square full of bars but we didn't hear a thing during the night. There were several channels on the TV including about 7 British ones. The only small gripe I would have with the room is they could do with changing the lighting, it was a horrible stark white light which was quite unpleasant so we usually avoided switching it on and just used the bedside lights! If we had had to pay 10 euros a day for breakfast, we probably wouldn't have bothered but it was included in the excellent price and so was more than adequate, although the selection did vary from day to day, the first morning there was a large array of items, but other mornings, there was no fresh fruit or pains au chocolat. Annoying if you had paid, but as it was all inclusive in our deal, we were more than satisfied with what was on offer. Wifi worked very efficiently and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would go back there with no hesitation at all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teabag80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel is fairly cheap and the location is perfect. That said the rooms are old and cramped and the elevator (lift) is so small that I had to struggle to fit my small suitcase and backpack. The breakfast is not worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesP_Lexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Hotel is in a great location - an 15 minute walk from the Ferry for foot passengers or close to good parking if visiting by car. There are many local restaurants and bars within easy walking. The Hotel has been updated since we first stayed here and the rooms are adequately furnished and clean and the beds are comfortable. The recent refurbishment has certainly improved the decor and the facilities in the rooms.

The breakfast is buffet style and normally has a very good selection - this can be variable if the Hotel is full. Last time we stayed here, there was a coach load of students who had visited the buffet on their way out to the Ferry and it was like a horde of locusts had visited (not the fault of the Hotel and always something that can happen at a Hotel near a busy Port). The bar in the Hotel is very friendly and is a regular meeting place for us for pre-dinner drinks.

The ladies on reception are always efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: A small lift is available when moving your luggage, but you may find a number of steps before or aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin and Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a mature established hotel. Situated at the main gate to the Intramuros and near to shops, restaurants and the wall. It could not be more convenient. There is parking meter parking nearby, but you are better parking outside the city walls on the harbour side (3 min. walk to hotel). The hotel is under going refubishment to the rooms. Nothing fancy, but a lot more comfortable and better on the eye than it was. Th erooms are spread over three floors. There is one small lift (& I mean small!). Public areas are dominated by the bar to the front of the hotel which remains the meeting place for everyone (great atmosphere). There is no restaurant for lunch or dinner. Just breakfast which is more than adequate. Staff are really friendly. There is Wi-Fi. Don't go with any great expectations of grandeur and you will be pleasantly surprised. Probably the best location within St Malo and a great ambiance.

Room Tip: Request a room to the rear of the hotel if you want quiet (bar/restaurants/parking at front) althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisM1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Having stayed in many hotels priced more or less the same as Hotel l'Univers, I must say that I did not find this was value for money. The room was small and basic. Situation is very good but I'd look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
#30 of 82 in Saint-Malo
993 reviews
0.7 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#28 of 82 in Saint-Malo
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cartier
Hotel Cartier
#39 of 82 in Saint-Malo
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Saint Malo Plage
Ibis Saint Malo Plage
#23 of 82 in Saint-Malo
867 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
0.3 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 82 in Saint-Malo
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Univers

Address: 12 Place Chateaubriand, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range: £44 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Univers 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel l'Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Univers
l Univers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing