We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brit Hotel Le Surcouf
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Lonaconing, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful service”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

A clean, simple hotel with wonderful service. The owner/ manager couldn't have been nicer. Served cider each evening, on-the-house. And was helpful at every turn. Our room had obviously been recently upgraded. Bed was comfortable. Room wasn't large, but large enough. Shower was very modern and water was hot. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    157
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
77
225
20
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile


Up until this stay St Malo was a place I'd driven through on the way to somewhere more interesting! This was a bit of a mistake as it's a lovely little place and if you are going to stay here you could do far worse than stay here.

The proprietor is lovely, the hotel is clean and moments from the beach. We had a fantastic walk along the beach and a great meal in town.

It's a two star hotel so it's not uber chic but it's more than adequate in a quiet area. I've paid much more for far less in my life.

Breakfast is excellent.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le Midi Atlantique
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Not much should be expected from a 2-star hotel in France, but all the praise in the comments made me hope for something special. Disappointment! And given the relatively high price, it is necessary to mention some negative points. The room was rather small, just enough place to walk around the bed. Not much light, in particular in the entrance. The bed was too short for a person of normal height. Finally, at breakfast, apart from good quality bread, choice was poor...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Brit Hotel Le Surcouf in St. Malo 4 Feb, 2013. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel so much, that we re-booked the hotel again for our last night in France. The room we stayed in was very clean and quiet. We had a flat screen TV and was able to pick up both the BBC and USA-Today. The bathroom was wonderfully clean with plenty of fresh towels and heat.

What made our stay even more special was the staff. The husband and wife team who manage the hotel are friendly, helpful and gracious. They are both more than happy to assist with directions and recommendations, and they speak English pretty well. We found that the Brit Hotel Le Surcouf is near stores and restaurants, and the walled city is less than a half a mile away. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit St. Malo and look forward to staying there again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcross2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed recently as Sunday night walk in guests. Having had previous bad experiences of the walled city hotels, I was happy to stay out of town and stroll (30mins) or taxi back into town.

Having checked out other unimpressive hotels nearby, the Brit Hotel Le Surcouf was really modern, fresh and clean with a good location only two minutes walk from the seafront / promenade.

As I mentioned, the reception staff were really friendly with restaurant recommendations, driving route ideas and information on car-repairs locally.

Worth checking out.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Kirk_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the "Surcouf" and I must admit being very impressed. Our double room was a good size, comfortable and well equipped, the bed was incredibly comfortable ( which sadly is rarer than it should be, the pillows soft and beddings soft and cool. Our bathroom was a good size with a proper full size bath ( much appreciated )with plenty of space for toiletries and the towels of good quality too. The whole room was spotlessly clean and quite frankly for the price I feel we got a real bargain in the almost high season, in St Malo. Intra Muros is about five minutes drive, the beach is only five minutes away and Parame is a nice little suburb with all the shops you might need such as Boulangeries, Pharmacies and even a little Carrefour.

All in all I think any traveller looking for a comfy, convenient and very clean place to stay in this beautiful city could do a lot worse. Yes the street can be a little noisy ( it is a city for goodness sake, what do people expect ????) but from our personal experience only from about 6/7 am and nothing too bad at all, the occasional truck and a few cars. Hardly a big problem. Night time was extremely quiet. We found the after hours automatic access also very convenient.

Basically I would say the Hotel had thought about issues carefully and ensured as efficient and comfy a stay as possible.

We enjoyed our stay, the staff was friendly and helpful and we shall most definitely stay at this Brit Hotel again next time we visit St Malo.

Francais :

Un Sejour tres confortable, chambre and salle de bains super propre, spacieuse and un lit tres confortable ( ainsi que les oreillers). Pratique et tres proche de la plage and intro-muros ( 5 minutes en voiture maximum).


Le personel sympathique et acceuillant , un petit hotel qui nous a surpris par son rapport qualite prix. Nous le recommenderions a quiconque recherchant un hotel propre, bien equippe et fonctionel. Nous y reviendrons sans doute si nous revenons a St Malo.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mooseketeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We ended up staying here through limited choice available after leaving it too late to book for one of the busiest bank holiday weekends of the year! Saying that I wasn't disappointed. It does exactly what it says on the tin. The rooms are small but very clean and functional. It was a little out of town but the 20 min walk along the seafront was actually quite pleasant before and after dinner. It would have been helpful to have a map of the town but the receptionist was busy as we left and it wasn't hard to figure out where we were going (through using the maps on the bus stops!)

We parked in the street beside the hotel and found a space both nights with no problem. The breakfast was good value for money.

The bathroom was very clean, only real comment (not complaint) was that the shower was tiny. Oh and that the wifi was very tempremental (but free!).

Would recommend for a functional stay in the city.

Room Tip: Our overlooked the side street rather than the main street and I would think that it was much quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.5 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,517 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#3 of 81 in Saint-Malo
709 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,665 reviews
1.0 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#11 of 81 in Saint-Malo
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brit Hotel Le Surcouf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brit Hotel Le Surcouf

Property: Brit Hotel Le Surcouf
Address: 17 avenue du Reverend Pere Umbricht, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brit Hotel Le Surcouf 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Brit Hotel Le Surcouf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing