We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Beaufort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Beaufort
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely views Good hotel”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed here 2 nights in September 2011. We felt that the location of the hotel was excellent with two very good restaurants near by and lots of others. The back of the hotel is on the Sillon Promenade so excellent walking close by and only 20 minutes stroll to "intra muros" the old town. The room was a tad small but very comfortable and the staff very friendly. excellent breakfast. Not cheap but nowhere in St Malo is.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of waves choose sea facing; otherwise we did not find the street noisy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrylandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    238
    47
    14
    11
See reviews for
124
402
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We liked the Beaufort from the moment we arrived. The character of the place was perfect for a beach hotel - just modern enough without being obtrusive, very clean, and completely calm and relaxing. Breakfast was expensive, but no more than usual, and served in a very nice dining room overlooking the beach. Our room was the small one with the beach patio, and we spent several hours people- and surf-watching and then several more reading on the patio.

The staff was great, too - they helped us make reservations at La Chalut (which is NOT recommended, by the way), and were generally nice and helpful.

The only minor difficulty is parking, but I think you'd have that with almost any boutique hotel in St Malo. It did not detract, as we were able to find parking close by each time we returned. Definitely a worthwhile visit, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icenined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Although it backs onto a fairly busy road with limited parking, loaded with bicycles and holiday kit after cycling in the Loire Valley we were filled with dread of how we might lodge the car. No problem. Mark the owner and staff were brilliant and sorted it immediately; locked our bikes/carrier away and found space for the car, even moving their own cars. The rest just fell into place. Wonderful view across the beach, lovely room beautifully decorated and spotless, great service. Three of us into the room with no problem. Not certain what else anyone might need for a three night stay in this excellent hotel so perfectly located. An absolute gem.

Room Tip: Only take a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We went to Saint Malo and asked at the reception if there was still a room available. The receptionist was very friendly and showed us the two available rooms and explained everything. We stayed in a street side room which was rather small but beautiful. Unfortunately the street side is rather noisy except from about 11 pm to 7 am.
Breakfast was amazing! When entering the breakfast room you see the sea and can sit right at the window and enjoy a good continental breakfast with the sound of the waves.
If you're looking for a romantic little hotel in Saint Malo (a few minutes from the old town) then try to get a seaside room.

Room Tip: Ask for seaside room if you really want to enjoy the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philo_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We arrived off of the overnight ferry and as we felt like a walk we strolled for about 30mins to this beautiful hotel. The location is perfect as it's close enough to the wall old town to be visited easily but far enough away to not be disrupted by it at night. The local restaurants are great too but be warned they are a little pricey.

The hotel staff speak English better than my French however they can only really deal with the basics of conversation. Having said this they were very friendly and helpful and this was never a problem. The hotel is beautifully decorated inside and out and we had a fabulous view of the sea. The room was small but had all the facilities we needed and one of the best showers I have had in any hotel. The bed was so comfy that I slept better than at home and the sound of the waves at night was the perfect tonic. The shutter on our window broke whilst we were there however the hotel had it fixed by the time we got back from our sight seeing that day. Everything was clean and the breakfast very yummy and plentifull.

I loved staying in this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: You must have a sea view and try and get the larger balconies for making the most of the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Great location right on the beach. Parking was easy and the hotel is charming. Room was smallish but sea access on balcony made up for that. Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenglar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We were delighted with our recent stay at the Hotel Beaufort. It is ideally located on the boardwalk with an easy stroll to the old walled city.

Our room had a private terrace on the ground floor with a wonderful view overlooking the sea. The hotel was very clean and has been recently renovated. It is located in a quiet section of the city with free parking available on the road outside the hotel. The hotel dining room and bar has nice view of the waterfront and serves a continental breakfast option and drinks during the day. All the staff and management at the hotel were friendly and helpful.

We were extremely pleased with their restaurant recommendation for dinner just a few minutes away on the boardwalk – le Sillon Brasserie...reservations are required. This restaurant has a number of enticing gourmet fixed menu options as well as daily specials.

Mont St Michel is a must see a short drive away.
If we are ever again in Saint-Malo we would definitely stay at the Hotel Beaufort.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrails2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.0 mi away
Ambassadeurs Hotel
Ambassadeurs Hotel
#16 of 81 in Saint-Malo
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#38 of 81 in Saint-Malo
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#7 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antinea
Hotel Antinea
#14 of 81 in Saint-Malo
251 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beaufort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beaufort

Property: Hotel Beaufort
Address: 25 chaussee du Sillon, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beaufort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Beaufort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing