We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Hotel Beaufort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Beaufort
Ranked #33 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This hotel has such atmosphere. It was clean, warm and really lovely decor that wasn't too cliched seaside. The staff were lovely and helpful. The breakfast was good. The room we had was quite small but had a good size bathroom and sea views. Watching the tide come and go, and waves crashing on the sea wall were part of the experience. Would highly recommend to anyone.

There were some great restaurants across the road (we ate twice at the Commercial across the road and loved it) and the best crepes ever within the walled town (we ate at La Licorne creperie everyday it was so good).

Room Tip: Definately get a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

Very nice small hotel with French charm. Take one of the ocean side rooms on the 1st floor. There are four of them: 12, 14, 16 and 18. Number 14 and 16 have bigger terrace then two others. The breakfast is excellent, the breakfast room has great view. The only problem is the lack of parking, but you can easily find the place in the street. And remember – do not go to the restaurant recommended by the hotel – “La Brasserie du Sillon”.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KWEST13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

What a wonderful place to spend a few days recharging batteries and catching up with family. The location is wonderful and you are directly faced with either the sea lapping up over the wall next to the hotel or a wide expanse of beach depending on the tide. The welcome was very friendly, rooms were of good quality, breakfast - simple but good. You are in walking distance of the old town and many restaurants (20 mins).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

A cold welcome, not even a bonjour or a smile, local shops closed till 7pm and nowhere to eat or snack till then. When the pizza place across the road did open its doors we were told to come back when they (the owners) had finnished their dinner...so why have your doors open and neon sign on? Hmmm. The room was very tidy and quiet. Maybe it was just not our day?

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1958075, Gérant at Hotel Beaufort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

As a small intimate hotel we do our best to make our guests feel comfortable and welcomed.

Saint-Malo is a town frequented by many tourists of all nationalities and habits. However, meals are organized around the French eating habits. As French people sit down for full meals, they do not often snack between meals. However, food is available in the Old City at most hours of the day, but neighborhood restaurants are only open at meal time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We spent four glorious nights in mid September, 2011 at this seaside "home away fro home". Mark and Sylvie Peterson, owners, made us feel like family. They were gracious hosts, helping us plan our daily excursions in the area. This beautiful hotel on the beach overlooks the English Channel. Our room was immaculate with a comfortable bed, private modern bath, flat screen TV, and a delightful terrace overlooking the water. There was direct access to the beach, although we did not swim because it was too cool for us. Only a short walk along the Digue to the Old City. A sumptious breakfast was served in a cheery room overlooking the water.We have never experienced such hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonandbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed for two nights in October. Although the hotel is on the beach, that was not a factor for us at this time of the year. Our rooms were not large, but adequate and overlooked the street. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Old City. Staff was very helpful about directions and needs.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed for 2 nights, parking is on street, but cars do seem to come and go regularly, both days we were lucky enough to get a space within 100 metres of the hotel within 10 minutes of loitering in the area.
The hotel itself could be described as compact (some might say cramped) but everything is bright and cheerful and in an excellent state of repair. All the room furnishings are to a very high standard.
Breakfast is a little meagre for the money, but everything on offer is perfectly ok.
The staff speak better English than my French, but thats not saying much !!
Ideal location for St Malo, just a 15 minute walk along the promenade to the walled town.

Room Tip: Wonderful sunsets from the beach side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bongodog1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.0 mi away
Ambassadeurs Hotel
Ambassadeurs Hotel
#16 of 81 in Saint-Malo
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#28 of 81 in Saint-Malo
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Saint Malo Plage
Ibis Saint Malo Plage
#26 of 81 in Saint-Malo
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beaufort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beaufort

Address: 25 chaussee du Sillon, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range: £78 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beaufort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Beaufort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing