We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel right on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Beaufort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Beaufort
Ranked #20 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
West Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel right on the beach”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here as a family in Sep 2013 at the end of a trip that included Normandy and Mt. St. Michel. Hotel is beautifully situated right on the beach. We had an Oceanside room and the sight of the waves crashing against the sea wall was amazing - beautiful and soothing. The room was very small, even by European standards, but bathroom was of decent size. We had a triple that had a large double bed and then a small twin right up against the window. Not really much space to stow luggage or clothes. The walled city or Intramuros is about a 15 minute walk and has numerous shops and places to eat. There are some restaurants near the hotel (Italian place, pizza place and bistrot), however, there were all packed the night we were there and probably all required reservations, so we ended up walking in the rain to Intramuros. Hotel is a quick taxi ride to the train station - so convenient for that. I enjoyed the hotel, but I think I would like to stay within the old walled city next time.

Room Tip: Absolutely choose a sea side room. The surf will gently lull you to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pathcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    233
    43
    14
    9
See reviews for
119
391
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Beaufort is a small hotel - about 20 or so rooms - situated right on the seafront in Sillon (effectively a suburb of St Malo) The hotel overlooks the beach - if you have a 'sea view' room then the view is wonderful. I think you would be disappointed with a street view room - it's a fairly busy road at the front - and, of course, no view. Many reviewers have mentioned the rooms are small-ish but they are perfectly fine for a short stay. We were there for five days and didn't feel too cramped. Our bathroom was actually quite spacious.
The staff couldn't be more helpful, but it's not obvious what the hotel offers. It was three days before we realised we could have a nightcap in the bar (in the morning it's the breakfast room) which is actually a really nice space to sit and look at the sea. The hotel brochure in the room is minimalist to say the least.
The rooms are a little dated and there are some signs of a refurbishment needed - a few paint chips here and there. Slightly old fashioned wallpaper etc Carpet a bit worn.
If you don't know St. Malo the 'happening' part is the old town 'Intra Muros' This is where most of the restaurants are and where the character is. Restaurants near the hotel are perfectly adequate but don't have the character of those in the old town. Some reviewers have commented that the old town is a 'rip off' My experience is that it is no more expensive than the area around the hotel - perhaps because of the intense competition. Try 'L'Ancrage' - excellent and great value and atmosphere.
The hotel is a 15 minute walk in to town. If you don't like walking too much try the Oceanic or similar.
All in all a very good value place to stay with a friendly and helpful vibe.

Room Tip: Sea view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glewpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

A quiet, pleasant place to stay in Saint-Malo right on the beach front, east of the old town. We walked here from the train station in about 10 minutes. The staff was very polite and helpful. We were given a room on the street side, which was just fine for our one-night stopover. We kept the window open throughout the night and were not bothered by street noise. The room had plenty of space and was very clean. Unique aesthetic touches made it feel much more cozy than a generic hotel room. It was about a 10-15 minute walk to the old city entrance, where we spent the majority of our time. The walled in city itself is incredibly beautiful and interesting. Really wish we had planned a longer stay to enjoy the city, explore the fortresses right outside the rampart walls, and soak in the beach, but will plan to be back someday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarve-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Spent one night in Saint Malo after being dropped off by the Brittany Ferry. Dropped our bags and took the bus to Mont Saint Michel. Returned around 400:PM. Luggage was in the room, we had booked three rooms with adjoining terrace overlooking the beach, and waht a view to come home to. Walking distance to the old town, open the french doors and wake up to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach.

Room Tip: get a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zo_in_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, UK.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Beautiful, small hotel right on the sea front, only a 15 minute walk from the old walled city. We booked it through Brittany Ferries and it was reasonably priced. There were no sea view rooms available and we ended up with a room looking down on a busy street (see my images.) There was no air conditioning and it was too warm to shut the windows. Fortunately, my wife had brought ear plugs (mainly for my snoring) which enabled us to shut off the traffic noise.
The room where you have breakfast is incredible. Wonderful interior design and a stunning view over the sea, which at high tide is only 15 metres from the door. The breakfast was good and the staff were mostly friendly.
We would certainly return but only to a sea front room. If you're facing the road ... bring ear plugs!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs unless you have a sea front room. The hotel needs to install air conditioning in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwich_UK_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We (myself, wife and 2 year old daughter) stayed at this hotel for four nights (108 EUR / night / without breakfast / only public parking lots).

Positive:
+++ nice seaview, hotel located close to the sea
+ style of the hotel

Average
~ breakfast average, but ok for France (13 EUR per person)
~ walking distance to St. Malo about 15min

Negative:
- some of the staff were friendly, others (owner?) behaved as you can expect in areas with a long tradition of mass tourism: during a short season (June-September) guests are treated as cash cows. This is the reason for my overall poor rating for that hotel.

Until now I don't understand, why especially one woman (the owner?) showed a really annoying behavior.

Possible answers:
- I travelled with a young child?
- I booked the hotel online (hotel-site) and received some discount?
- Austrian/Germans in France?
- I have asked if my 2 year old daughter has to pay for breakfast - I was told that she can join breakfast for free. (Nevertheless we received some angry faces when she has eaten some fruit salad and cornflakes, when I asked for another plate for her etc.)?
- We asked if there is a room for our buggy and have been told that we can leave it at the reception. Again annoyed faces when we did so.
- Another example for the mentality: I have paid my bill the night before check out. The woman (again: the owner?) at the day of checkout obviously did not know that and behaved like she was robbed when we left. This was funny to watch at least.
- St. Malo is an area with mass tourism and generally offers poor value for money (restaurants and hotels).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zuckerbussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1958075, Front Office Manager at Hotel Beaufort, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
We thank our guests to take the time to write comments about their stay at the Hotel Beaufort.
The Owners, who were not in town during this period, are very concerned when the hotel clients seem not to be completely satisfied with their experience with us despite the fact our team does the best to make each stay as confortable and pleasant as possible.
Therefore, the entire team is terribly sorry to read that our attitude was not reaching our guest expectations during his stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This small hotel is clean and well presented. It is directly adjacent to the prom. The rooms are on the small side but the views (sea side rooms) are excellent. The breakfast room looks out to sea.and the breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice. The staff were helpful and speak good English. It is a 15 minute walk to the old town of St Malo, which is a very nice old French town with lots of individual shops and bistros. There is no car park but free street parking is relatively easy nearby. It is worth staying two or three nights to see St.Malo - the ferry to Dinard is worth taking from next to the Chain Tower.

Room Tip: A sea view room is essential to appreciate this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamescunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ambassadeurs Hotel
Ambassadeurs Hotel
#14 of 81 in Saint-Malo
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#22 of 81 in Saint-Malo
706 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#3 of 81 in Saint-Malo
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beaufort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beaufort

Property: Hotel Beaufort
Address: 25 chaussee du Sillon, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beaufort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Beaufort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing