We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great”
Review of Hotel Le Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Nautilus
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed at Le Nautilus for seven nights in July, having chosen it on the basis of previous Tripadvisor reviews and so went with high expectations. The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was spotlessly clean and ideally located within the old city walls and very close to the bus station, ideal for day trips – Dinan is highly recommended.

Any drawbacks to the hotel?

The bedroom we stayed in was basic, the en-suite bathroom included a very small shower, so perhaps avoid if you are tall or generously built.
Being in old town there is nightly street entertainment quite close and this can be audible until quite late at night, not loud enough to disturb but it could be mildly irritating.
There is a bar, but this closed along with the reception desk at about 8.00pm every night, should you lose your key I have no idea how you would get in.
We were unable to use the advertised free Wi-Fi, with either phone or laptop; apparently this is not an uncommon occurrence for British guests.

Would I recommend this hotel? Yes, but with the caveat that any preconceptions garnered from Tripadvisor MUST be tempered with a splash of realism, no matter how good the reviews this is still a two star hotel and therefore its facilities are limited.

Travel tip:
If you're going to St Malo (or indeed anywhere else) from Dinard Airport by taxi try to get through arrivals quickly as taxis can be scarce.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Scun-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    141
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
109
390
50
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The Nautilus was exactly as described and a good experience. It is very convenient being in the old town and had a lovely ambience about it. The owners could not do enough to make your stay pleasant, their English was excellent and they were very welcoming and friendly. The room was simple but sufficient and very clean. Loved the feel of St Malo for a few days but very expensive. The best meal we had was at Diverscite, good value for money and the street life was very entertaining which was free. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
1,246 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,726 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

A small but cozy hotel very well situated between the historic, narrow streets of St Malo. Efficiency and friendliness of staff and even the hotel owner, who is in charge of taking care of guests' needs and give tips on where to eat in town (he also got an adapter to recharge our camera). Great breakfast. Small room but clean. Fair price.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GUSDALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
231 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed for two nights en route to the Loire Valley in May this year.

Finding the hotel was fairly simple but I wouldn't want to try it in a very big car, the roads are very tight nearby. We parked briefly outside to check in and drop off luggage before taking the car to the parking outside the Old Town walls. The hotel sells discounted tickets for the car park. There were a reasonable number of parking spaces (we arrived late afternoon on a Friday) and it seemed safe enough. It was a couple minutes walk back to the hotel. The check-in staff were very friendly and helpful, explaining the parking, providing maps etc.

The lift was tiny but functional. Our room was on the second floor, overlooking the street. We were a little concerned that it might be noisy so close to the town centre but we didn't have any problems during our stay (which was Friday and Saturday nights on warm summer evenings).

The room was fairly basic but perfectly functional. the bathroom was clean and tidy but the shower would be problematic if you were of a large build - it was a bit of a struggle as it was. The decor wasn't to my taste but the room was clean, which is far more important.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, right in the Old Town and with easy access to the town wall, nearby beaches etc. We loved the town and enjoyed walking the circuit of the walls each evening, watching the tide come in.

Breakfast was served in the bar and was good, with croissants, bread, homemade fruit bread, yoghurts, fruit, cereal etc. Coffeee and hot chocolate were plentiful.

All in all, brilliant location for exploring the Old Town and great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midlandsmoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We definitely recommend this cozy and charming hotel. We couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GianniT32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

An excellent small hotel within the town walls of the pretty port of St Malo. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The only reasons I can see for it not being four star are the lack of a mini bar and room service which are usually prohibitively overpriced anyway. Overall a good, clean and quiet hotel in the heart of St Malo.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Have recently returned from St Malo. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and the rooms spotlessly clean. We loved Brittany and the surrounding beaches were just stunning. Hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.3 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#3 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#7 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.9 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#12 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Nautilus

Property: Hotel Le Nautilus
Address: 9 rue de la Corne de Cerf, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Nautilus 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inside the old town close to the sprawling beaches, you will find the Nautilus cherished haven of the buccaneers of St Malo, a resting place before returning to sea. Open all the year, the Nautilus, 2 stars hotel, offers 15 welldecorated non smoking rooms with ensuite facilities and a private bar. In this classified historical building, you will appreciate the warm welcome of the Nautilus crew, every passenger can expect a faultless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Nautilus Hotel
Le Nautilus Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing