We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a hotel in a gorgeous location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Nautilus
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Foster, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel in a gorgeous location”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

If you want a room in this little hotel then book early because it is so good the 15 rooms seem to be full all the time and when we were there many people were popping in hoping for a room. Location within the old walled area of St Malo is excellent - we are "seniors" but it an easy flat walk to train and bus station and to ferries. There is a lift which is a bonus in older French hotels but it is tiny. There is a little bar by reception which is good for a reviving beer after walking along the ramparts. Breakfast is served at the back on cheerful coloured Breton china and is excellent - juice, yoghurt, fresh fruit, rolls, croissants AND home made delicious brioche. Our room (number 10) was excellent - the bed was very comfortable and there is adequate storage - good cable TV. Windows which open to fresh air - Yeah !!! The bathroom is tiny BUT it is modern, well tiled and both bathroom and bedroom were spotlessly clean. The wonderful extra of this hotel is the two proprietors who were so welcoming and so good with suggestions for things to do and where to eat, Do try Le Bistrot de Jean (wonderful food, mains about 18 - 20 E) and the more casual La Brasserie Amoricaine with traditional french cooking and mains from 10 - 20 E. Both need booking at peak, weekends and holidays.

Room Tip: Room 10 was terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virginia3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    141
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
109
389
49
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed here 3 nights last week. The hotel is spotless. Everything is well cared for and seems brand new. Excellently located on a narrow cobblestone street within the historic walled city. Partners Jean-Michel and Loick are always present and eager to please. Prices are reasonable. Restaurants abound in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Inside the walls of St Malo, the Nautilis is an excellent choice for lodging. Jean-Michel welcomed us, gave immediate parking advice (the inexpensive lots outside the walls) and took our bags to our room. The room was light and brightly decorated with a nautical theme and modern bath with shower. He told us of several restaurants that were excellent and warned us about those not so good. He suggested what our best time to visit Mont St Michel would be after consulting the tide chart, gave a route (straight there fast) and a return route (along the coast), a town to eat in (Cancale) and other suggestions for sightseeing. Both restaurants he recommended in St Malo for dinner were wonderful, particularly the La Brasserie Armoricaine near the post office. Breakfast at the hotel was beautifully set in a warm and inviting area. Bread (croissants, baguettes and homemade fruit-laced bread), yogurt, fruit, hot and cold drinks of choice.

Room Tip: Our room on the 3rd floor had a shower placed very high on the wall (hard for a 5'1" woman...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabriclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Nautilus is a lovely little hotel within the walls of the old town of St Malo.

The whole hotel is immaculate, not a mark anywhere. The decoration is bright and cheery.

The room we stayed in was a decent size and front facing with a floor to ceiling window It was spotlessly clean, the decor was bright and beautifully co-orinated, The room was furnished simply, but was ample for a short stay. The only down side was that the en-suite was tiny, although this could be excused as it was so nicely done.

Everyone we encountered at the hotel was helpful and extremely polite and friendly....a lot of hotels could learn from these guys.

We would recommend that any staying here has the breakfast. At 8 euros it is competitively priced, but much better choice and value than any cafes we saw.

We would also suggest that you get a parking tocket from the hotel rather than pay to park in one of the car parks around the walls. You then pay about 5 euros for 24 hours instead of 1.10 euros per hour. On arrival, drive to the hotel, get a ticket from them then park outside the walls.

Overall we could not fault this hotel. It is towards the bottom price-wise and delinately near the top for cleanliness and service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at Le Nautilus and were completely charmed. It is in an ancient building in the old walled part of the city on a very narrow street with very limited vehicle access. The city does allow travelers access to drop off luggage. We were treated with great courtesy and generosity by our hosts. They provided us with a permit that allowed us reasonably priced parking nearby and gave us excellent suggestions for seeing Saint Malo and the surrounding region and sent us to good restaurants.

The hotel is well equipped with large nicely furnished rooms (perhaps a bit too orange for my taste) but immaculate. The bathrooms are modern and again immaculate. It has an elevator that makes getting luggage up to the fifth floor easy.

We especially enjoyed the homemade bread at breakfast.

A truly great budget hotel in a wonderful city. It fully deserves the accolades that TripAdvisor travelers have given it.

Room Tip: The street is very quiet so location is not critical but we asked for and were given one of their la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We just returned from a 10-day stay at Hotel Le Nautilus in St-Malo, France. What a terrific hotel! The space in our room accommodated all of our things, the bathroom had an excellent shower, the bed was very comfortable, and the room and hotel were immaculately clean. Breakfast, which was excellent, was served in a charming breakfast nook off the lobby. In addition, the hotel is so conveniently located, seconds from St Vincent gate. But above all, the attentiveness and graciousness of the two gentlemen who run the hotel were what made our stay at the Nautilus so special. Their advice to us as to what to see and where to go made our trip a truly memorable one. We would not stay anywhere else in St-Malo.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Hotel Le Nautilus is the most comfortable 'budget' hotel I have ever stayed in. It is clean, friendly and the bed we had was a joy to fall into. None of that either rock hard or squishy soft mattress scenario you so often find in affordable hotels.

Breakfast was good and our hosts were most accommodating being the guardians of our luggage upon our very early arrival and our late departure (Ferry timetables take no account of hotel check in times). Even welcoming us in the bar and allowing us to drink them out of their wonderful Calvados after we had exhausted ourselves walking to Dinard for lunch and couldn't face hanging out at the Ferry terminal for 2 hours, long after we had checked out.

I will most certainly be staying at Hotel Le Nautilus when I return to St. Malo providing I have not shot myself in the foot with this review.

Room Tip: We had 4 rooms for our party and everyone was happy with their room. There are different size beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klindars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.3 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#3 of 81 in Saint-Malo
688 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#7 of 81 in Saint-Malo
580 reviews
0.9 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#10 of 81 in Saint-Malo
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Nautilus

Property: Hotel Le Nautilus
Address: 9 rue de la Corne de Cerf, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Nautilus 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inside the old town close to the sprawling beaches, you will find the Nautilus cherished haven of the buccaneers of St Malo, a resting place before returning to sea. Open all the year, the Nautilus, 2 stars hotel, offers 15 welldecorated non smoking rooms with ensuite facilities and a private bar. In this classified historical building, you will appreciate the warm welcome of the Nautilus crew, every passenger can expect a faultless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Nautilus Hotel
Le Nautilus Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing