We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, charming hosts”
Review of Hotel Le Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Nautilus
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, charming hosts”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed for the second time at the beginning of August. We love St Malo and had a really enjoyable weekend. The hotel was clean and the owners were really helpful and breakfast (and particularly the homemade brioche) worth the visit.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had an ordinary standard room - very basic - but the matresses are really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duncan329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    147
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
113
400
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N.Yorkshire England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at the end of July - had a little problem finding the hotel(we arrived mid afternoon and didn`t have the full map) but eventually our hosts talked us through the maze of streets via the telephone so we could drop off our bags.We were then given instructions about parking and a reduced price car parking pass.The car park was just outside the city walls but very handy.The room was charming and spotless, the shower was a little tight but managable.The beds were comfortable and the English TV channels were a bonus.We had the in house breakfast which was typically continental but very good including excellent home made bread.Our hosts were wonderful supplying us with some excellent tips for restaurants,days out and all manner of advice.We would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone - tip - switch off the sat nav and get proper instructions/detailed map for the location.If the car parks look full use the ticket to get in and then wait for a spot to appear

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gordon1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at Le Nautilus mid July. It's in the centre of Saint-Malo, so you need to park your car in the public car park (about 5 minutes walk from the hotel) and then the hosts kindly sort out free car parking for you for the remainder of your stay. Le Nautilus is refreshingly upbeat in it's decor, spotlessly clean and the hosts just can't do enough for you, particularly in giving advice on where to visit, Loeck (I hope I've spelt it right Loeck) even gave us really good advice on where to visit on the next leg of our journey in Brittany. Bedroom was spotless as well. St Malo was a lovely place to stay and when we visit again we will definitely be going back to Le Nautilus. Le Nautilus is how a small hotel should be run.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chester12354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We've now been to St Malo a total of 7 times, and this was our second stay at Le Nautilus. We liked it so much the first time that we decided to return and we weren't disappointed. We received the same warm welcome. Again the hotel was spotlessly clean throughout and has bright cheerful decor. A nice touch was a note in our room welcoming us back. Our room at the back of the hotel was very quiet and the bed extremely comfortable. As we said in our first review, Le Nautilus doesn't have the range of facilities you would expect in a large hotel but it has warm, friendly staff who are more than happy to advise on places to eat and provide any other tourist information you need. It also has delicious home-made bread at breakfast and really good coffee! The hotel was full throughout our time there so if you want to sample the delights of Le Nautilus we would recommend that you book early.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simmo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Row, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful week staying at the Hotel le Nautilus in St. Malo. I had read some very positive reviews of this hotel but as all four of our party were so delighted with our experience of staying at the Hotel Le Nautilus we felt that we wanted to share our comments and our praise with others. On our arrival we received a very warm and friendly welcome from the proprietors and this warm concern and interest in our welfare continued throughout our stay. The bedrooms were great - though some reviewers have written that they are on the small size. However, we were very happy with our rooms and found them immaculately clean with very comfy beds. I particularly loved my attic room and really did not want to leave at the end of the week! With the hotel situated inside the walled city we had a great choice of restaurants and bars to visit and loved being able to wander through the cobbled streets listening to the street musicians and taking in the warm ambiance of the old city. The car park was a short walk away but we were not bothered by this and enjoyed going on several trips to explore parts of the Brittany coast as well as also taking the ferry across the bay to Dinard. Finally we have no hesitiation is thoroughly recommending this delightful small hotel and will certainly plan to return there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dede B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henley-on-thames, uk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Delightful hotel. Friendly and efficient service. Excellent location, nice deco, rooms on the smallish side but really well shaped & designed. No car parking in direct vicinity of the hotel but it is walled old city so you need to be prepared for parking challenge. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingChefTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Super location inside the walls of Saint Malo. Very close to shopping, restaurants, beaches and ferries. Highlights: walk the fortress walls, try traditional crepe restaurants, don't forget the seafood, get a ferry ride across the bay to Dinard. The proprietors were very helpful in answering questions about the surroundings, transportation, booking, etc. Breakfast in the hotel was very nice and convenient. Rooms and bathrooms may be a little small for some Americans not used to smaller rooms, but it worked out very well for us. We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Book early. Le Nautilus was full in July, and we were lucky to get a room booking even a month in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BretonMaitre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,729 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#12 of 81 in Saint-Malo
869 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Des Abers
Hotel Des Abers
#2 of 81 in Saint-Malo
154 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Nautilus

Property: Hotel Le Nautilus
Address: 9 Rue de la Corne de Cerf, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Nautilus 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inside the old town close to the sprawling beaches, you will find the Nautilus cherished haven of the buccaneers of St Malo, a resting place before returning to sea. Open all the year, the Nautilus, 2 stars hotel, offers 15 welldecorated non smoking rooms with ensuite facilities and a private bar. In this classified historical building, you will appreciate the warm welcome of the Nautilus crew, every passenger can expect a faultless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Nautilus Hotel
Le Nautilus Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing