We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, quiet and non pretentious hotel”
Review of Hotel Le Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Nautilus
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good, quiet and non pretentious hotel”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The hotel and the people were very good. The hotel is located in the heart of the historical city of St. Malo, very clean and efficient and helpful staff. My husband and I enjoyed our stay, we wanted to go to visit the Mont St. Michel, but we started a bit late. The staff suggested we visit Cancale, and travel along the coast. We were able to see the country home of Jacques Cartier, the discoverer of Canada, then slowly make our way to Mont St. Michel. We arrived around 4:00 PM just as the throng of tourist were leaving. We were able to visit the Mt St Michel and the Abbey and enjoy it without having hundreds of people around

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasha166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    144
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
109
393
50
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed here on the 1st night of our holiday, before travelling on, also on our way back for our last night. The hotel is really lovely. It is very cosy, very clean, loved the decor. The homemade bread at breakfast was wonderful. The owners were very friendly, spoke excellent english, and they could,nt have been more helpful, organising taxis for us and letting us leave our luggage until we were ready to leave. I will definately recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Versy centrally located, free wi-fi, cheap rooms, great continental breakfast (not included in room price), nice bar area downstairs, left luggage facility (if you have to check out and you train/ flight/ boat is only a few hours later) decent beds, very friendly and helpful service, good English spoken. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SA-Girl-Gsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We felt really welcomed on arrival and the Nautilus is such a lovely, cosy hotel. My room was clean and I had a pretty view over the rooftops of St Malo. Breakfast was delicious and the decor downstairs (and throughout) is atmospheric and just so relaxing. Loved this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roost68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This was a lucky find and I'd definitely come back. We had room six which is two separate rooms with a shared bathroom. It was very quiet, spotlessly clean, the bed was comfy and there was adequate space to put everything. The curtains worked well as light-blockers, in fact we overslept but the kind owners weren't fussed - "you're on holiday" they said. I loved the breakfast, croissants,bread, real orange juice, and home made extras like brioche. Everyone is friendly and relaxed, they passed my personal tests of noticing I'd accidentally dropped the spare loo roll in the loo and replacing it!! and being ready and willing to notice an empty coffee cup at breakfast. Several times.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourviolets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Immaculately clean, well-maintained and perfectly located within the walled city. Public transportation (bus station) for trips to surrounding villages and tourist harbour for boat excursions within walking distance. Bear in mind that the narrow historic houses do generally not dispose of ocean view, however this is more than compensated for by the particular charm of residing in the medieval style surroundings. My room was on the 5th floor with pitched roof and garret window, therefore not recommended for tall persons - I found it very cosy. 5 min taxi drive from railway station at < EUR 10. Charming and competent owners who go out of their way to give you advice on restaurants, excursions etc. The #1 rating in tripadvisor.com is well deserved. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sauserle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We arrived in St Malo without having planned where we would stay and we just stumbled across this hotel in the walled city. And I'm very glad we did. It was perfect for us! Inexpensive, clean, central, very very good service (it is run by the owners, unlike lots of places), terrific breakfast, and the owner gave us a great recommendation for a great local seafood restaurant, and even where to go next. I would more happily stay here than at a 5 star hotel, where you often don't get anything more than you do at Le Nautilus, especially when it comes to down to earth hospitality. We loved St Malo, also. It's a lovely place to stop for a day or two. We spent a week in a cabin near Cancale afterwards and loved that, too. Great beaches. You won't regret going to Brittany, it is a magic part of the world!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.3 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#3 of 81 in Saint-Malo
709 reviews
0.9 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#11 of 81 in Saint-Malo
848 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Nautilus

Property: Hotel Le Nautilus
Address: 9 rue de la Corne de Cerf, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Nautilus 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inside the old town close to the sprawling beaches, you will find the Nautilus cherished haven of the buccaneers of St Malo, a resting place before returning to sea. Open all the year, the Nautilus, 2 stars hotel, offers 15 welldecorated non smoking rooms with ensuite facilities and a private bar. In this classified historical building, you will appreciate the warm welcome of the Nautilus crew, every passenger can expect a faultless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Nautilus Hotel
Le Nautilus Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing