We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet & near to the harbour”
Review of Hotel Le Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Nautilus
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“quiet & near to the harbour”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

ideal location within the historic walls, next to harbour and beach but without any view/clean bed&bath&room/breakfast recommended/rooms tiny but for short overnights ok (but thanks that we were given a room with a separate bedroom for our daughter)/friendly sensitive owners put a notice for us at the building's door as we arrived late at midnight/special parking card to be asked for stay for more than 24 hours/wifi was ok

Room Tip: our quiet and friendly yellow room with no. 9 with windows but without view was on the 3rd floor/qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El58Atakoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    146
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
112
399
50
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a super hotel.
The owners were always friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel were exceptionally clean. The breakfast was great value for money and the home made bread delicious. It is in a great location, and although parking is outside the city walls, it is not too far away and security is not a problem. The hotel also has a small, private bar which serves tea coffee etc at prices less than surrounding cafes. All in all, a little gem!
We would definitely recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be as good as each other. Rooms on upper Flores are accessed by a lift which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DewsWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Wonderfully friendly welcome. Clean and comfortable. Great location. Exceptional value. Take the breakfast option - you will not do better outside.

Lower floors facing the street pick up some street noise but anywhere in close packed St Malo will have the same issue. Bathrooms are small but serviceable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jakartaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on the 21st March.
Location is perfect for explouring the walls. Really easy to find and in a quiet location.
The owners were great and exetremely welcoming. Room was super clean and had everything we needed. You could pay double this amount and still not get a place as clean and well located as this.
Breakfeast was also very good value for money - Nice home made bread too :)
I can see why this hotel has the highest rating of al St Malo hotels and will be booking this one again in the future

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We loved staying in this little hotel in the heart of the walled town. The rooms were bright and clean and the beds very comfortable. My only issue was the very small shower room which my husband struggled to fit into, but as we were there only two nights it wasnt really a problem. The Hotel owners were very helpful, both before we arrived (a delayed ferry left us arriving after reception had shut) and whilst we were there. the breakfast was basic but adequate, and the homemade bread was a nice touch. Around the corner from the hotel is the Saint Malo brew pub where they brew the beer in the bar area! Great atmosphere, food and drink!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SianElt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife and I were wandering through Normandy and Brittany last April. We made no reservations ahead of time. We decided to just explore, and stay wherever we felt like on the spur of the moment. After spending a day and night at Mont St. Michel, we decided to work our way west along the coast. We knew we wanted to visit Cancale, to sample the oysters. Cancale was beautiful, but it was too early in the day to settle in so we kept going. We arrived in St. Malo, which seemed to be a much larger town than Cancale. As we drove down a long boulevard we passed a few nice looking hotels, and we began to have a sense that this might be something of a resort town. At the end of the boulevard we came upon a walled medieval city. This stopped us in our tracks! We had to explore! There is plenty of municipal parking outside of the walled city, as there is also a marina. I believe you can hop a ferry to the UK from here. We walked through the gates into the medieval town, which was gorgeous. There are many lovely shops, and restaurants. After exploring for a while, we decided that we'd like to stay the night. We came upon the Nautilus Hotel on a quiet little side street. It looked quite charming. We walked in and spoke with the manager/owner, who was very warm and welcoming. The hotel is small. It has a small footprint, so there are just a handful of rooms on each of the 5 or 6 floors. We were given the key to our room and then directed to a small elevator. After a couple of minutes in the room we heard a baby crying in a nearby room. We love babies, but we didn't want to have to listen to a baby crying in the middle of the night, so we went back down to speak with the owner. He had no problem whatsoever accommodating our request to change rooms. In fact, he handed us several keys, and told us to choose whichever room we wanted. So we were able to check out several different rooms in the hotel. They were all very clean, and comfortable. As others have mentioned, this is not a super fancy, luxury hotel, but it is very nice, and reasonably priced. Staying at the Nautilus was a serendipitous, and completely satisfying!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Starchfromithaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

A lot of attention to detail in this little 2 star hotel in the heart of the walled medieval part of St Malo. It is impeccably clean, excellent free internet service with a typical French continental breakfast for a small amount extra. The rooms were quite small but well laid out and clean and bright and our room had double bunks as well as a double bed. I think probably this hotel is perfect for families with its quirky Jules Verne them and bright colours, or budget conscious couples looking for a handy base for exploring this interesting area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emeritus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.3 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#7 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
719 reviews
0.9 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#12 of 81 in Saint-Malo
860 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Nautilus

Property: Hotel Le Nautilus
Address: 9 rue de la Corne de Cerf, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Nautilus 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inside the old town close to the sprawling beaches, you will find the Nautilus cherished haven of the buccaneers of St Malo, a resting place before returning to sea. Open all the year, the Nautilus, 2 stars hotel, offers 15 welldecorated non smoking rooms with ensuite facilities and a private bar. In this classified historical building, you will appreciate the warm welcome of the Nautilus crew, every passenger can expect a faultless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Nautilus Hotel
Le Nautilus Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing