We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jules Verne would be proud to stay there”
Review of Hotel Le Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Nautilus
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Very welcoming, colourfully decorated with great style.
Very central and good value for money.
Will certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldandnackered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

The location of the hotel inside the walls was perfect to walk any where in the city and surprisingly easy to find with the map on their website and parking was not a problem. As for the rooms, they were average for a two-star hotel. The experience was not any more or less than I would expect. The decor was o.k., some spaces were a bit tight, but nothing too cramped. Nothing to rave about, but perfectly serviceable. We spent most of our time out in the city and not in the room, so as a place to sleep it was good. For the price great, if I had a bigger budget, I might upgrade as there were many hotels within the city to choose from. I was not as impressed as the reviews and the recommendation from TripAdvisor's best places to stay in France would lead me to believe.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eurotraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Me, my husband and my 5 year old daughter stayed here for 3 nights - 23rd-25th Aug inc.
It is a great little find and worth more than the two star rating. It is the cleanest hotel
I have ever stayed in and with a wonderful warm welcome what more can you ask for!
We were made to feel very welcome. Although it took us a while to find (you drive into
the walled town of St Malo) we found it in the end and were greeted with a lovely smile and he even knew who we were before we said!! It is in the perfect location as it literally is close to all the shops and bars/restaurants but is up a quite street. The owner was extremely helpful and even helped us book our next hotel/destination.
The rooms are brightly coloured and are of a good size for a short stay. As there were 3 of us we had a room with a double bed and a bunk bed so the room would be ok for
2 children not just the one. If you are going to St Malo then stay at Le Nautilus you won't regret it. Would be a good idea to get map of walled city first as it is like a driveable medina!!!!! Also go to hotel first as you will get cheaper car-parking which is located outside the walled town. Our car was absolutely fine for the 3 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayneAug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

This hotel is in a perfect position for a break in the town of Saint-Malo. It is situated in the walled part of the town and provides a great base for exploring the sounds, tastes and atmosphere of this lovely town. From the moment we arrived the service was brilliant with our questions about parking and amenities answered with a smile! All of the staff were very helpful. Our room was comfortable, had everything we needed and provided the added bonus of free wifi. Breakfast was fabulous value for money with the home-made bread (fruit bread on one day and brioche the next) being a particular highlight. If you're looking for somewhere that is good value for money, has excellent service and that is in a great position then this hotel has it all! We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

This hotel is located "intra muros" but in a very quiet street. Also at 5 minutes walking from the beach and the car Park.
The staff is really nice and is here to answer to almost all your questions/requests.
Rooms are quite small but comfortable.
The only negative point is that if you have a room with a building roofs view there is a non stop noise like an air conditioning.
Breackfast is excellent.
To conclude I recommand this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schuminou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Excellently sited just inside the walls of the old city, this hotel surprises and delights with its fresh, colourful décor based on the “Nautilus” theme.

Although not large, the room was well laid-out and we didn’t feel cramped; a nice bonus is the option of a king-sized bed. Everything was very clean and well maintained.

The Nautilus team (“l’équipe du Nautilus”) is exceptionally friendly and helpful and speaks good English. Breakfast is generous and includes homemade bread.

There is a lift but, as with other buildings “intra-muros”, it is somewhat “bijou” so don’t expect to fit into it with spouse, baggage et al!

Choice of hotel can make or break a holiday – L’hotel Le Nautilus definitely made ours.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hey_hoStMalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

YOU CAN VISIT ALL ATTRACTIONS NEAR .
Don't miss "Dinam and Mount S. Michel"
The staff is very friendly, the room is clean,good breakfast. Not too expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy2011br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.3 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#2 of 82 in Saint-Malo
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,856 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Des Abers
Hotel Des Abers
#1 of 82 in Saint-Malo
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,938 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Villefromoy
Hotel La Villefromoy
#5 of 82 in Saint-Malo
746 reviews
0.8 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#29 of 82 in Saint-Malo
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Nautilus

Address: 9 rue de la Corne de Cerf, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range: £51 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Nautilus 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inside the old town close to the sprawling beaches, you will find the Nautilus cherished haven of the buccaneers of St Malo, a resting place before returning to sea. Open all the year, the Nautilus, 2 stars hotel, offers 15 welldecorated non smoking rooms with ensuite facilities and a private bar. In this classified historical building, you will appreciate the warm welcome of the Nautilus crew, every passenger can expect a faultless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Nautilus Hotel
Le Nautilus Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing