We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manoir du Cunningham Hotel
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We've just returned from a motorbike holiday and found the Manoir by accident. Its not in St Malo but across the sea lock at St Servan. which is a nice little place with good bars and restaurants with better views than St Malo old town, which is also great. The staff were very helpful, the room was excellent and large and the price was low. look St Servan out and I would recommend the Manoir. Its a short walk along the seafront to St Malo (truelly 5 mins) and even closer to the ferry terminal

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Biker88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

A great location within 10 minute walk along the "board walk" into the walled city center and 5 minutes walk from the Ferry Port. Plenty of free public parking right out front from the Hotel and 4-5 spaces for a small car in their court yard. You are right on the water and my room with a porch looked out on to the Harbor. Comfortable rooms with good WIFI and flat screen TVs with several English speaking TV channels to watch. Very helpful and friendly (English speaking) staff/owners.
If you are touring by car highly recommend as driving, and finding a parking spot in the walled city can be an adventure.
They serve a simple but good breakfast
I thought it was a good value and well worth the money

Room Tip: Room #1, ground floor room with a porch to watch the sun set into the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were welcomed by a very helpful and friendly staff, and later on another friendly staff recommended us very good restaurants around the town.
We stayed in a very sweet and romantically decorated spacious family room and it was an absolute delight staying at the hotel.
Very close to the beach, and the parking is either within the hotel ground or just outside (no problem finding a space there).
Would like to come back if we visit St Malo again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chickpea105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

It's been a while I wrote a review for tripadvisor, but noticing there are no recent reviews and the most recent reviews paint a rather poor and in my experience totally wrong picture of this hotel, it feels like a new review is long over due.

This small family owned hotel is located in a villa which from the outside could benefit from some paint, but from the inside was perfectly maintained. We're a family of four and we had booked a family room for two nights at late notice (with hardly any rooms left in Saint-Malo).

The room was on the attic, a very long but relatively narrow room. It offered ample space (80m2 ?), and had the advantage that there was a door between our room and that for the children. The bed was comfortable and there was free good quality wifi. Really a very good room with a nice atmosphere. The rather small shower was perhaps the only problem. The Furnace in the small kitchen could for safety reasons not be used.

The hotel is at a premium spot in the city, perhaps not intra-mura, which a lot of people here on tripadvisor appear to be so fond of, but at just 15 minutes walk from the old town, with a beach in front and lots of restaurants and pubs around.. and it offers free parking!

I am not the person to really connect to hotel staff. However the owners seemed genuinely interested in offering us good service and a friendly atmosphere. The breakfast was very good for a hotel this size, with fresh bread and quality products, but I regretted a lot that the old Italian Espresso machine in the breakfast room was just ornamental as the coffee could use some improvement.

In summary, although we paid 230 Euro a night excluding breakfast, I consider that reasonable price for this rather pleasant place at this location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank derob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This is a hotel that we have visited for many years at least three or four times a year. Recently it changed hands. The wonderful little breakfast room turned into a rather up market self service place, with no ambience at all. Pats of butter, packets of cereals etc. Previously it was lovely French bread and croissants (gently warmed), delicious coffee freshly brewed and served in cafetieres.

We almost always stayed in the same room No. 3 which was on the front of the hotel, ground floor and overlooking the sea. It is a large room, and had a wonderful large bed, rather old fashioned but comfortable. Now, there are twin beds - not very comfortable.

Mostly however, we had always taken our beloved dog Caius with us. Many French hotels permit dogs in the rooms, and this one did. He is wonderfully quiet and well behaved. But now, new owner - no dogs, so now we don't visit the hotel. What a shame. It is within easy walking distance of some good restaurants, but does not have its own restaurant (another pity). We are sad to have to change hotels, and disappointed that policy has changed. We wonder how many other customers have deserted this hotel also.

Room Tip: Try rooms 3 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lebarail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManoirMalo, Propriétaire at Manoir du Cunningham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Madam,

Thank you for your comments which bring a reliable response from us:
1. The breakfast provided is much before you had croissant, bread, soft butter (in packet), and low-end coffee. We know this because the previous owner is a friend. Today the products are presented in buffet because of the choice, you have Kellogg's cereal (6 choices in single-dose packet for hygiene), 3 choices of yogurt, cheese, croissants, chocolate croissants, fresh bread fresh ham, coppa, two kinds of French cheeses, etc ... if your croissants were warm it is only they were heated in the microwave: it is a shame to soften a fresh product. The coffee is roasted coffee COIC Britain and exceptional coffee to sweet taste suitable for breakfast. Cafetieres are new and high quality Guy Degrenne, even tea pot is at the Museum of Art in New York, it's just a matter of taste!
2. The beds were not changed, we just set up the quilts, so if you sleep well before today, you have not slept for other reasons.
3. For animals that we don't accept them since 2012, the question is to ask other customers: Wish they sleep in a room with carpet knowing that dogs sit, rub it? Don't forget that people goes to the beach with pets and after when they come back, they take a shower ?? Be serious... I myself have dogs and when I go, I make sure that hotels accept pets and I am not a polemic. We chose hygiene for our customers and we do not believe that shocks all customers, even the 2 clients that we have lost.
We wish you a pleasant stay in the town of Saint-Malo, with a nice sea view and breakfast tailored to your way of life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Lovely to be back in this friendly hotel. I had room 3 in the little garden, on the ground floor. Comfortable and friendly and easy for my friends who were on their boat in the St Sevan harbour.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank RosieannieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The hotel itself is good. It's location is ideal for visiting St Malo and we enjoyed our stay for 2 nights before taking a ferry home from a camping trip.
The problem I had (and have been trying to resolve since August 2011 - it is now December) is that during our stay our trailer tent was moved to another area of the car park by the hotel staff. After the getting over the shock of spotting that it was not where we left it, we were ok with the idea. However, on the morning of departure we noticed that during the move, the trailer lights had been smashed by a probable collision with the hotel wall.
Having just paid the accommodation bill, we pointed this out to the owner who was very apologetic and offered to refund the cost of fixing it when we had it repaired back in England. We then had to leave for the ferry and drive 280 miles in England with the risk of driving with an illegal trailer.
The repair was not too expensive and I emailed over a copy of the bill within 2 weeks of returning home.
Now after numerous emails and lots of empty promises from the owners I have not been refunded the repair bill. The excuses were made that it was their night porter who did it and they has asked him to post me the money. At no time did they offer to pay me and take the money from the porter.
I have waited 4 months now and received nothing. I have held back from posting this review to give them time to refund me.
It is obvious that they will not pay me now so I have no option but to recommend that the users of this site to not use this hotel! The owners are dishonest and are unwilling to refund me a sum of cash that totalled less than one quarter of the money I paid them.
Any hotel with that sort of customer service does not deserve to be in business and I hope that they feel happy to saved themselves a few Euros. With a bit of luck, people will not use this hotel and cost them a lot more in the long term!
I am not normally the type of reviewer to moan unnecessarily about an establishment, or use the site as a vehicle to make someone's minor failures into a big issue (see my other reviews), but in this case I feel that I have no option left but to allow other potential customers of this hotel to know the type of hotelier they will be dealing with.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrC3PO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Mr. Mxxxxxy, it was expected since the day of your departure to arrange with the person concerned to recover the amount for damage to your vehicle, especially as our former employee Mr. De La Mxxxx had agreed to pay (as it is written in our establishment we are not liable for damages and it is valid whatever the circumstances, knowing that you had to make a finding with people). As I have said and written, staff should not drive if it is a personal responsibility (rules). However, two months later you send me an email informing me that nothing is done and you threaten me to write everything and anything on the internet if I did not pay! Two months later ... let's be serious the employee is gone, you have nothing settled between you and I find myself at risk for something that does not concern me! That being written, I am shocked by your behavior because you have the contact of the responsible person (email and personal phone) and the means necessary to recover the amount of your vehicle repairs. If you had not threatened me we would have made a commercial gesture or reimbursed the damage but your behavior is unhealthy in terms of efforts we have made ​​to bring you the solutions. We wish you happy holidays 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Valmarin
Le Valmarin
#48 of 82 in Saint-Malo
151 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Beaufort
Hotel Beaufort
#36 of 82 in Saint-Malo
661 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
L'Adresse
L'Adresse
#26 of 82 in Saint-Malo
244 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chateau Hotel du Colombier
Chateau Hotel du Colombier
#33 of 82 in Saint-Malo
170 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ambassadeurs Hotel
Ambassadeurs Hotel
#17 of 82 in Saint-Malo
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir du Cunningham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir du Cunningham Hotel

Address: 9 Place Monseigneur Duchesne, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range: £70 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manoir du Cunningham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Manoir du Cunningham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing