We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cartier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cartier
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Top Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

During our trip to France in May/June 2011 we stayed at the Hotel Cartier in Saint-Malo. For those of you who have never been to this charming town, please put it on your next itinerary as it is just delightful.

The location of the Cartier could not be better - smack bang on a corner overlooking the (mainly) pedestrianised, cobbled streets in the centre of town. From your window you can watch the passing parade, decide which direction to head off into to get something to eat - and you really are spoilt for choice here - or take in the smells and sounds of the myriad tourists and street entertainers.

The hotel room was clean and very comfortable, although the workings of the television set were mostly beyong us, and the programme guide bore no resemblance to the channels the set was tuned to. That is totally inconsequential, though, so we don't see that as a negative.

The staff were excellent, and our room was ready and waiting for us when we arrived before noon. Breakfast was great, and so n o complaints there.

We would definitely stay at the Cartier again, and have no hesitation recommending it.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - windows all round so that you get the feel and the vibe of the place before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geebee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    177
    44
    7
    3
See reviews for
63
229
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

When we arrived at the Hotel Cartier we received the usual friendly welcome from the gentleman on reception. He offered us breakfast but we had already eaten on the boat. Our room wasn't ready so we left our luggage and went out for a walk. When we arrived back at the hotel our room was ready and our luggage had been put in. We stayed the hotel on a Bed and Breakfast basis. The breakfast consists of: cereal, fruit juice, fresh fruit, french fread (just baked), pastries, cold meats, cheese, eggs, tea, coffee, water. Plenty for everyone and the stock is replenished frequently. The breakfast room is located in the basement of the hotel and while there is not a lot of tables, breakfast runs from 6.30am to 10.30am and there is plenty for everyone. The bedrooms are spacious and so are the bathrooms. Soap, shampoo, fresh towels, tea and coffee are replaced daily. The TV does have some British Channels - BBC1, 2, BBC News 24 and C-Beebies. The staff in the hotel are friendly, welcoming and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.

The hotel is excellent value for money. We travelled on a deal with Brittany Ferries from Portsmouth. The ferry leaves Portsmouth at 8.15pm and you arrive in St Malo at 8.15am the following morning. The hotel is located right in the centre of the town on the cobbles. You will find many restaurants, shops, bakers, bars and specialist shops right next to the hotel. While the streets are busy, you still have many places to walk without bumping into others. There is often entertainers or streets artists around the cobbled streets. Despite being in the centre of the town there is no noise outside. We have stayed there on 3 previous occasions and each time it has been during the summer months, we've left the window open but we have not heard any noise outside even at weekends.

The Hotel Cartier is around 15 minutes walk from the Ferry Terminal. There is no need to hire a car as there is a good bus service. We visited the Carrefour Supermarket frequently (C1 or C2 from from opposite Tourist Information). The supermarket is large and is located at the La Madeleine Centre which also has several specialist shops and a couple of restaurants. You can buy a book of 10 tickets for 9 euros 30. A single ticket is 1 euro 10 (you can use this ticket as a return if you are travelling back within 1 hour 30 minutes).

We got the train to Rennes one day. It takes around one hour. The fare is 25 euros return. You can also take the bus but it takes much longer and tbe times didn't suit us.

I cannot recommend the Hotel Cartier, St Malo and Brittany Ferries highly enough and I am already looking forward to my trip later this year. You should visit.....you'll love it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirleyk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

My wife and I booked this hotel at the last minute through Priceline during our honeymoon. I was a bit nervous when I saw "3 star", but my fears disappeared as soon as we arrived. We were very pleasantly surprised at the size and cleanliness of the room, as well as the location of the hotel. Furniture and bathroom were very modern and clean (great walk-in shower). You couldn't be any closer to the action! Right in the middle of the old town, surrounded by restaurants and shops, a 5 minute walk from the beach. Our room had a huge window that opened onto the winding streets, exactly what you would picture in an old French walled village. The staff was friendly and helpful. We loved St. Malo and hope to return someday, and we would definitely recommend Hotel Cartier.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malex2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

A sunny November mini break at a hotel we have so often just walked past. It is a gem of a hotel - perfectly located and beautifully presented.

The room was immaculate - a little smaller than we had anticipated but still a good size.
Comfy bed, TV, Sizeable wardrobe and fresh clean decoration.
Bathroom had pocket doors (a great space saver) and was cleverly laid out with a great walk in shower - Clean and fresh

Lifts were clean and never needed to wait for long for one - we were on the forth floor.

Breakfast was in the underground room - small but clever use of mirrors gave an increased perception of size and light.

Staff were most polite - excellent english and only to happy to assist with any requests, from irons to blankets and recommendations.

Well recommend to anyone staying in the area,

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AngiWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
2,404 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6,501 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Came on a three day two night November deal with Brittany ferries. No complaints. Good little French three star hotel on a central site on a fork near most points of interest. Polite efficient staff, smallish first floor room with comfy bed biggish bathroom with welcome wet room style two person shower and adequate flat screen tv with ample French and British satellite channels. Well kept. Good spread breakfast in ok but windowless basement room which gets eerie in the low season if other couples stay silent for fear of being overheard. Minor gripe bathroom lights not bright enough for a wet shave. WiFi a bit hit and miss. Petty. So generally very pleased with price deal and accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jannerbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed for a standard 2 night weekend break, Fri & Sat night in November 2010.

A budget flight to Dinard from East Midlands & then a taxi to the door, which of course cost more than the flight!

Hotel Cartier is bright, modern & really well located.

We had a lovely well decorated corner room with a seating area & a good sized bathroom, the dual action window & balcony door kept me amused for some time!

Breakfast in the basement was great & the hotel served as a really good base to explore this amazing City.

It rained all weekend although difficult for me to blame this on the hotel!

We enjoyed our stay here & would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa_n_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Perfectly placed just inside Port St Vincent, Hotel Cartier is a lovely hotel that has an intimate feel to it, with just a few guests rooms on each floor. The basement offered a decent breakfast each day, which was handy as there are only a handful of bakeries & creperies that seem to be open at that time of the day. Service was very hospitable, The receptionist greeted us warmly and gave us each a key & a map of the old town. After we freshened up in our room, he was also able to direct us to a few sights & in the evening made a few recommendations for dinner. Whilst small (like most European hotel rooms), the room was nicely furnished, had the amenities we expected and soundproof windows. The hotel looks out onto a lovely little square, which even when the window was open wasn't very noisy (St Malo old town is a lot quieter at night anyhow when the day-trip tourists all depart). There are several nearby good choices for meals, and most St Malo sights are within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel, so for us the location is excellent; Common to other old town hotels, the cruise/ferry terminal is an easy walk from Hotel Cartier if you're fit but probably takes about 20 minutes (if you arrive by boat, you may find it difficult to hail a cab, so if you require one I suggest you phone the hotel or look up the taxi companies numbers beforehand). The train station is a considerable distance however, being located in the newer part of town and like the supermarket & gym you'd require a taxi to get there. A great stay. We look forward to going back again next summer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
#31 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Des Abers
Hotel Des Abers
#14 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Croiseur
Hotel le Croiseur
#26 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol Union
Hotel Bristol Union
#34 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
#22 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cartier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartier

Property: Hotel Cartier
Address: 13 Rue Saint Vincent Du Cerf, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartier 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cartier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartier Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing