We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, charming hotel”
Review of Hotel Cartier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cartier
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Cartier hotel this October. It was our anniversary so we emailed ahead to see if we could get a balcony room for our special day. The man on the desk was so helpful our French unfortunately is minimal fortunately his English is far better. Our room was STUNNING. Set in the central square of saint malo overlooking the cathedral it was perfect. Their breakfast is typically continental but lovely had filling. I cannot recommend this hotel enough to people. It is a perfect choice.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Mandtjt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great service, well located, good value for money, quiet comfortable room. We loved our stay at Hotel Cartier. We have minimal French, but this was not a problem. Breakfast included a large array of foods, and was good value for money.

Room Tip: (there is no fitness centre)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We've just returned from our 7th visit to this hotel since 2010 so I think that will tell you how we feel about the Cartier. The staff are friendly, welcoming and polite. The breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the bathroom has toiletries replenished daily. The rooms also have tea and coffee making facilities and they even provide a little galette biscuit. A nice little touch that is rarely offered in other French hotels. The hotel is centrally located with an abundance of restaurants and shops on its doorstep. Despite being in the centre of the town there is no problem with noise. The hotel is around 15 minutes walk from the Ferry Terminal so is ideal for foot passengers. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirleyk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were not planning on staying at the Hotel Cartier and would not have chosen it due to its location on the main street. We were redirected here from our chosen Hotel which was down a quiet side street. Arrived late at night from Jersey just as the rain came gushing down. When we walked into reception the tv had a porn film playing, but when the concierge arrived he quickly turned it off so that our 8 year old daughter would not see it. We were shown to our room which was large and very comfortable, but it was just off reception and unfortunately there was a door between reception and our room that was left to bang shut every time someone walked through it. Also being on the ground floor we were subjected to the noise from the bar across the street and also the street sweepers. I think this was a really nice Hotel we just didn't get a good room. The concierge the next morning was very friendly and even made a phone call to tourism to check the status of the boat to Dinan. Sadly it was cancelled. Breakfast was fantastic, with far too much to choose from, definitely something for everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue-ville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Just a few words to endorse what I wrote last year. This is really a good hotel for its star rating and I would thoroughly recommend it. It was our second visit and it will hopefully not be the last.
Particularly good is the breafast, served in the charming basement.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

From check in to check out this was a lovely place to stay, rooms are small, but clean and tidy, tea, coffee, etc in room, breakfast was more than enough which was included in my price, comfortable bed and A/C, no bar but you really are in the thick of it staying here and finding food and drinks will not be an issue. Staff very friendly and go out their way to assist, will visit again at some point.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EurotravellerDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Room small but clean, modern and well designed. In the centre of the old town with lots of car parking nearby at reasonable rates (E7 per day). But most of all the customer service was as good as we have ever experienced. Staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome and enjoy your stay. Tea and coffee in your room, excellent breakfast and lots of eating places nearby. St Malo itself well worth a visit; interesting town and beaches to enjoy when weather permits. As long as you are not looking for upmarket facilities this hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms have small balconies that you can ask for if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikebesmirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
#31 of 82 in Saint-Malo
984 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,790 reviews
0.9 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#12 of 82 in Saint-Malo
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Alexandra
Best Western Hotel Alexandra
#53 of 82 in Saint-Malo
279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambassadeurs Hotel
Ambassadeurs Hotel
#14 of 82 in Saint-Malo
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Saint-Malo Centre Historique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cartier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartier

Address: 13 Rue Saint Vincent Du Cerf, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range: £63 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartier 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cartier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartier Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing