We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cartier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cartier
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed just a few days in April, excellent location in the city, very reasonable price.
We parked for free the just a short walk outside the walls, just driving in up to the door on checking in and out.
Our room was the top front one in the pictures, really lovely superbly decorated and great facilities, the centre is quieter than I expected and we like to have the windows open.
Breakfast was really nice, eating breakfast out was dear and poor in quality.
The staff were really helpful and helpful, lots of shops restaurants and places to walk around to suit everyone in our family.
I hope we'll go to St Malo again, if we do I'll be keen to stay here (same room)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    177
    44
    7
    3
See reviews for
63
229
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Youlgreave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great location, stayed 1 night, we were travelling on the ferry the next day, first time to St Malo so wasnt sure of parking arrangements. Underground parking 5 mins walk away, can drop off people n bags outside hotel. Didn't have breakfast. Great for wandering around the city with lots of shops/restaurants right next to hotel. Wifi good in room. Got the family room on the 1st floor which is a good set up, two separate rooms behind 1 communal door. Very comfy bed, good shower.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyCez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

situated in intra muros in st malo this hotel is ideal to spend a week end,modern ,clean,confortable,and very nice breakfast
lots of nice restaurants and shops nearby,you can park your car outside the walls

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRETON666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our usual hotel in St Malo was full so managed to find this little gem of a hotel and very pleased we did. The staff were all very helpful, polite and spoke good english. Our room 306 was spotlessly clean, modern and had a nice view of the streets. The bed was very comfortable and although we over looked a busy street the noise did not disturb us. Tea and coffee facilities in the room and TV with a good range of english channels. Breakfast was included in the price and was more than adequate. This will now become our hotel of choice when staying in St Malo.

Room Tip: Room 306 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We were re-booked to the Cartier hotel by the owners of our original choice of hotel due to technical problems, so when we arrived we didn't know anything about it....and what a nice surprise. A fab hotel, lovely, spacious rooms,well decorated and a yummy breakfast with lots of different choices. The location couldn't be better as the hotel is situated in the old part of the town the 'Intra Muros'. The staff were very polite and simply charming. Mornings can be little bit noisy due to the fact that all the streets are being cleaned and washed ready for the day's tourists. We visited some great restaurants in St. Malo, but the 'La p'tite rotisserie' opposite the hotel is a must! An excellent menu with Michelin star type food which will not break the bank - well with a visit.

Room Tip: An 'odd' shape hotel as it occupies a corner and is triangle in shape, but the plus side is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita-anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed in this Hotel on Saturday with my partner and another couple. Both our rooms were clean and fresh with lovely views over the street. One of our rooms had a balcony which was lovely to sit on and watch the world go bye. The rooms are quite small but have everything you need, tv, tea and coffee facilities, clean fresh bathrooms. My only small issue was the cups with the tea and coffee were flimsy plastic ones and difficult to drink out of but that is a minor issue as everything else was great.

The beds were really comfy and the linen was white and fresh! Some hotels have very questionable linen.

We arrived early and our rooms were ready which was great, the reception staff were so helpful and polite.

The breakfast in the morning was great, really wide selction of breads, cheeses, pastries, pancakes, homemade cakes etc. The list is endless and it was all delicious and fresh.

The 12pm check-out was also great so you dont need to rush around and they stored our luggage for us for the afternoon.

For a 3* hotel I could not fault it.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room - 103 is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swjersey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I was forced into staying overnight in St Malo due bad weather in the English Channel and was delighted when my colleagues in the office had booked this little gem

I arrived well before standard check in time as I had arrived early morning on the ferry from the UK transiting to home in Jersey but made to feel most welcome by the very polite receptionist, who spoke perfect English. I had expected to drop off my suitcase but given the room key instantly and fell asleep almost immediately on the comfortable bed

On waking I watched a little TV with many English channels to choose from and afterwards went out to enjoy a drink / dinner. As I know St Malo well I appreciated the very central location of this hotel

I didn't ask, but I suspect the hotel has recently undergone a refurbishment programme as everything was clean, spotless and the colour scheme made it very welcoming

I got a very late, out of season rate and suspect in the height of season the rates rise
substantially but for the price I paid I will return

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
#31 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Des Abers
Hotel Des Abers
#14 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Croiseur
Hotel le Croiseur
#26 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol Union
Hotel Bristol Union
#33 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
#22 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cartier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartier

Property: Hotel Cartier
Address: 13 Rue Saint Vincent Du Cerf, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartier 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cartier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartier Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing