We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Hotel Cartier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cartier
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
travelmonkey247
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 10 July 2009

I didn't know what to expect when I arrived in St Malo and Hotel Cartier. However, I soon became very impressed in the walled city. St Malo is a very small town enclosed by a wall. It is very much a walking city, there actually are very few cars because the streets are so narrow. The location of the hotel is perfect, being very close to the entrance of the town. There are many interesting shops and restaurants just outside of the hotel although most of the shops close at 7PM. The hotel is nice and clean, although small 3-star hotel. The lobby looks very modern and clean. My room was a double and it was very small. However, the bathroom was very nice and clean with a walk-in shower. I definitely recommend staying here and I wished I could have stayed longer! This is also an excellent place to stay if you plan on taking a day trip to Mont Saint Michel.

Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if available as it is definitely worth it because there is no extra charge.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmonkey247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    183
    44
    7
    4
See reviews for
64
243
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2009

When arriving in St. Malo we walked from the port to Hotel Cartier which took around 15-20 minutes and although being advised we would be unable to check in until 2pm we aimed to leave our luggage at reception. Upon arrival at 9am we were informed that our room was ready and we could check in and use it straight away, which was very much appreciated after a 10 hour over night ferry trip! We were also offered that mornings breakfast if we wished. We declined but the next day found the breakfast was fine.

The hotel was in a great location for us, in the center of the intra muros and found the room quiet. Ours came with a balcony and a reasonably big bathroom. The hotel really made our trip seem a lot simpler especially as we were only staying for one night and will defintely stay there the next time in St. Malo.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsonbmWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, Channel Islands
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2009

This hotel is lovely. Fantastic location right in the middle of St Malo, everything within walking distance. The staff are friendly and helpful, check in was lightning speed. Breakfast was a continental buffet with plenty of choice. Our room was small but clean and had everything we needed, including a tv with BBC 1 & C4. Only thing I would say is that leaving your bags there once you've checked out isn't particularly safe as they are just left in reception, but apart from that absolutely magnifique!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinamaccarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed in the Hotel Cartier for the Easter Weekend 2009. Before even walking through the doors, you notice how it looks like no other hotel in St. Malo: it's V-shaped building makes the corner looking out over one of the main plaza's within the main high-street intersection, step straight out of the hotel into the main centre.

Beautifully arranged and decorated entrance hall, all in dark-woods and beige (a theme continued throughout the hotel). Instant check in, the pleasant staff always had a hello. Our room was on the top floor (5th) via the lift. Remote lighting fades up in the hallways etc… (all the nice attention to detail that marks it out as something special). The room was small, but very cozy, like a loft room. I would advise trying to book a corner room though. They are larger and offer stunning 180 views of the city. Particularly room 503, the topmost corner room, with balcony – it’s like something out of Evita, pointing straight at the picturesque Cathedral.

Back to our room: the bedside lights were on as we entered, lovely first impression. Dark wood and beige bedstead and spacious wardrobe. Tea making facilities were spartan but welcome. No mini bar or fridge (mainly due to size of the room) but desk with optional wireless internet connection. 20” LCD mounted on the wall with BBC 1 and Channel 4. We were able to angle it towards the bathroom and shower/go to the loo/sink whilst still watching TV! Probably not a feature of every room, but handy in this one!

Good heating, good windows, good maidservice. Good hotel.
So the plus points would be:
Perfect location.
Very attractive décor throughout.
Very safe and comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perifex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2008

Location of the hotel is excellent. if I come back to saint malo next time, i will definately choose here again. The room is clean and cosy. Although it is not spacious but comfortable enough for a single traveler. Price is reasonable. Good value.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LIHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

What a wonderful hotel in a fantastic central location. The hotel is very modern and we had the best view of the high street and cathedral in our large corner room. Everything spotless and furnished to a high standard. Only draw back would be the noise from the high street at night, probably not for young children who could be easily awoken. However for me and my partner it felt very romantic to be in the walled city near to all the amenities and delicous restaurants. I don't think you can have a bad meal in St Malo!
Just another quick note to say that we flew into Dinard whereas we had previously taken the ferry. Flying was so much easier, just 45 minutes from Bristol and the airport is about 15 minutes taxi ride from St Malo.

  • Liked — Modern
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kayleighj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Fastest check in ever at this hotel, had our room key within 30 seconds. Ended up with the disabled room which was great for the amount of space it gave, the bathroom was particularly large, there was no bar fridge which was a little disappointing. The best thing about the hotel is the location within the walls of St Malo, we loved the old city and it was a breeze to walk around quickly. Parking turned out to be not so much of a problem within the old town but was expensive and limited, finding the hotel is another thing all together, the maze of one way streets beware! Recommend eating across the road at Le Bistro de Jean, very friendly hosts and fantastic local food (try the plat de jours).

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BaJSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
#32 of 81 in Saint-Malo
871 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol Union
Hotel Bristol Union
#33 of 81 in Saint-Malo
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
#27 of 81 in Saint-Malo
814 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Des Abers
Hotel Des Abers
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Croiseur
Hotel le Croiseur
#31 of 81 in Saint-Malo
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cartier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartier

Property: Hotel Cartier
Address: 13 Rue Saint Vincent Du Cerf, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartier 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cartier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartier Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing