We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable hotel in St Malo”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Quic en Groigne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quic en Groigne
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Munich
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“enjoyable hotel in St Malo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

I was totally pleased with the accommodations, the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners, the breakfast, the location and of course, St. Malo. Arriving by car, the hotel was easy to find and being there off-season, we could just leave the car on the street/sidewalk :). Our room was a bit cramped but had everything in great shape and condition and was nicely decorated too. We thoroughly enjoyed wandering through St. Malo - both inside the walls or on the ramparts.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    129
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
100
277
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

This hotel is conveniently situated in the old town and is clean and comfortable but what really sets it apart from most small hotels is the exceptional helpfulness and friendliness of the owners. We arrived several hours early hoping to be able to leave our bags but were allowed into our room immediately as it was ready-very welcome after a long ferry crossing! Little touches such as umbrellas to borrow were also much appreciated. Both the owners were very generous with their time offering suggestions for restaurants and sightseeing etc. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornwalljanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This is a small hotel but in a great location for exploring the old part of Saint-Malo. It's clean and comfortable and the owner was really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D4surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quicengroigne, Propriétaire at Quic en Groigne, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
We thank those clients, as well as the others, for their very nice comments. We just would like to add that the rooms on the photo will be entirely refurbished in January 2012, for a better confort.

Marie-Dominique and Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Upon arriving at St. Malo from Portsmouth, we did not expect a charming walled city (we were on our way to Mt St Michel and needed 2 nights accomodation. What we found was a charming walled city and a wonderful hotel! The owner commented on the fact that we both had Germanic sounding surnames (my late husband was of German descent and the owner was from Metz in the Alsace Lorraine) What a coincidence! My academy in the states was run by sisters whose mother house was in Metz. We laughed and became friends! The room w as immaculately clean and very nice indeed. The owner and his wife gave great recommendations fro restaurants. The breakfasts were wonderful. I wish we had longer to stay than 2 nights.

Room Tip: Our room was the first shown to us and we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladydi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

The hotel is central located in the fortified city of Saint-Malo.

From the beginning to the end is has been a good experience.
The owner was very prompt in replying to our request. Although we couldn't get a room with the renovated bathroom, we were not disappointed with the quality of the room during our 2 nights stay.

When we arrived, we were welcomed and were provided with a map where the owner pointed area of interests, places to eat and other tips about what to do and see.

The room is not spacious but big enough for 2, with a comfortable bed.
It is a very quiet location in a small street, so we didn't hear noises at night.

The bathroom we had was not a renovated one and is the only "bad point".
It is older looking that the rest of the room and the lack of a shower head holder made it inconvenient and the tub lacked a full shield which resulted in wetting the floor.

The breakfast was really good. You are provided with a hot beverage (coffee / tea / chocolate), bread and a croissant each.
On top of that, there is a small buffet table with sliced bread, biscuits, orange/apple juice, nutella, and homemade jam produced by a local (if you like them, you can buy some at the counter of the hotel).
We definitely recommend the hot chocolate, which was delicious.

There is free WiFi access but even in the lobby, I wasn't able to connect with my iPod (probably due to my iPod rather than the connection)

Overall it was really pleasant to stay at the Quic en Groigne and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a renovated bathroom !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Quic en Groigne provided a perfect base for exploring the charming walled city of St Malo. Everything was easily walkable. The rooms were lovely (double for my husband and me and twin beds for our teenagers). The husband and wife owners could not have been nicer or more helpful with parking our car, finding attractions and restaurants, etc. We did not have breakfast at the hotel (though the breakfast room was beautiful) because we could not resist a leisurely breakfast in one of the many cafes in the town's main square. We highly recommend the hotel for any travelers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westchester13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

As a family we've been coming to this small and very efficiently run hotel for more than 8 years. Great location with the Plage de Mole at the end of the road. Tasteful decor, good value breakfast and friendly , knowledgable staff. Would definitely recommend the hotel for a family with young children or for couples.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie75018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Nautilus
Hotel Le Nautilus
#2 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#3 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.0 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#9 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#7 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quic en Groigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quic en Groigne

Property: Quic en Groigne
Address: 8 rue d Estrees, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Quic en Groigne 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small family hotel, recently renovated, nests in one of the quiet streets of the Intra-Muros, the historic city, just a step from the sea and ramparts. Its 15 quite various rooms welcome you according to your needs on courtyard or on street side. The hotel has a garage (reservation needed) and the breakfasts are served in the conservatory. To have lunch or dinner, we will recommend you saint Malo's best tables, Bistrots or traditional, gastronomic or for a simple bowl ofmussel, some pancakes/galettes all accessible on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Quic en Groigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing