We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed the ferry but sort of glad”
Review of Quic en Groigne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quic en Groigne
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

After a recent visit to see family in the Mayenne region my partner and i traveled back for the Condor ferry and arrived late so retired to St Malo main town to regroup and consider, after spending a couple of hours in a local bar 'La Belle Epoque' where the waiter spoke superb English and played some beautiful jazzy music creating a relaxing environment, he suggested the road opposite for a hotel, we booked it straight away regardless to save save time looking and searching, bit of a risk but what a pleasant surprise.
The hotel was close to the ferry and the bar, the walled coastal towns views, good quality rooms rated at 2 star NN it was a delight and we were made to feel very welcome considering our tiredness and misfortune, the monsieur and madame's patronage was superb and i would stay there any time and thoroughly recommend to any one else for their hospitality.
Mark and Victoria. 09/09/13

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Quic en Groigne until the moment we left, the hosts Marie-Dominique and Michel couldn't have been more helpful. They greeted us by name when we arrived, assisted with our luggage, parked our car in the tight parking area, recommended when and where to view the pending sunset (which was spectacular) and advised us as to our best tourist and eating options in the town.  The day we left they willingly held our car and luggage until we were ready to leave St Malo.  The location of this hotel within the old town walls was excellent.  Our room was small but very comfortable. The breakfast in the conservatory was delightful. We highly recommend this hotel. 

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Parents G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Quic en Groigne last May. The hotel located inside the walls at Saint Malo. Since it wasn't high season, we were able to park on the street for free. The rooms were comfortable and featured a large tub! Breakfast was served in a lovely solarium. The hosts were friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English. We'll go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank web2las
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights en route to jersey, and were very pleased we chose this hotel.
The owners and hosts were very helpful with maps, places to eat, and anything we requested was not too much trouble.
The rooms were quite small, but the beds very comfy and immaculate bathrooms
We also had breakfast here at a extra cost of €9 which we found very good value, fresh breads, fruit, cereal, yogurts and compote with good strong coffee.
If we were to stay in saint malo again we would definitely make this well run hotel our first port of call, as it is also only a stones throw from a lovely little beach through the walls

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazzaSazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hosts were very nice and helpful. They helped us park our car in their garage, provided a great laundry service, and called an early morning cab for us. I hate to say anything negative. But this was our least favorite of the 7 hotels we stayed at on our trip.

This hotel is a good value. Rooms are clean and the small bathroom is updated and nice. Bed was comfortable. However this really felt like a budget motel. Very simple almost dreary decor. Weird smell in the room. That we couldn't get rid of. We had two rooms. Our kids room looked over the back of the hotel and breakfast area. It was pretty quiet. Our room overlooked the street and was noisy until1am both nights in August we were there. The hotel is in a great location on a side street but I thought still noisy. We don't stay in fancy hotels, but this one was not up to par with where we usually stay. If you are looking for budget accomodations it is fine. But otherwise I would look elsewhere.

The layout is very motel like with thin walls and doors close to each other.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank goblingoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A small 2 star hotel in the old town of Saint Malo.
Excellent location though no views from the hotel.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
The bedrooms were small but with a good size bed. Comfortable.
Breakfast was good for this class hotel.
Sound insulation within the hotel wasn't great but this didn't cause us a problem.
Would stay at this hotel again.
Anyone with impaired mobility should be aware that there is no lift and the staircase is narrow.
There is a car park under the hotel, but it will only suit small to medium cars. We had to park on the public open air car park about 250m away with the hotel providing a day park voucher at a reduce rate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 997M2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Our family enjoyed the warm hospitality of the husband and wife team who run this small hotel. It may not be beautifully appointed or perfectly up-to-date but it suited our needs and was clean, charming, and well-located. The breakfast at the hotel in their courtyard was very enjoyable. We would highly recommend Quic en Groigne to other families travelling with older children (ours were 15, 19, 21).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArmonkFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,790 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,838 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#5 of 82 in Saint-Malo
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#12 of 82 in Saint-Malo
889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Abers
Hotel Des Abers
#3 of 82 in Saint-Malo
184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quic en Groigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quic en Groigne

Address: 8 rue d Estrees, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range: £62 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quic en Groigne 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small family hotel, recently renovated, nests in one of the quiet streets of the Intra-Muros, the historic city, just a step from the sea and ramparts. Its 15 quite various rooms welcome you according to your needs on courtyard or on street side. The hotel has a garage (reservation needed) and the breakfasts are served in the conservatory. To have lunch or dinner, we will recommend you saint Malo's best tables, Bistrots or traditional, gastronomic or for a simple bowl ofmussel, some pancakes/galettes all accessible on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Quic en Groigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing