We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Superb Service, Great Location”
Review of Quic en Groigne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quic en Groigne
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel, Superb Service, Great Location”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My family and I had to change our travel plans and happened upon this lovely hotel in a quite street just off the main shopping area in the picturesque walled town.
The owner Michael speaks excellent English and was extremely helpful with our travel difficulties.
The rooms are extremely clean, quite and some overlook a beautiful courtyard where breakfast is served.
The continental Breakfast was fresh and had a good selection even lovely jam made by one of Michael's relations.
St. Malo is beautiful, great selection if restaurants and plan to go back and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    132
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
102
289
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gresford, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We're just back from our summer holiday in Brittany and again we stayed in the Quic en Groigne for the last night before the ferry home. I have reviewed the hotel before, but I just wanted to say that the improvements that have been made to Room 1 are amazing! The new Bunk Bed was an instant hit with our twins who argued for some time as to who was going on the top. The new decor is very nice and gives the room a nautical / seaside feel.
Thank you again Marie-Dominique and Michel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had visited St. Malo several times before, and really wanted to stay intra-muros to introduce our family to this delightful town. The Quic en Groigne was exactly as described on the internet--quaint, delightful and perfect for us! M. and Madame and their staff are lovely, helpful people, and we enjoyed everything about our stay. Breakfast was a perfect continental buffet, and the pretty terrace provided us a place for a carry-in picnic when the children were too tired from the beach (which is mere steps from the hotel). Since the hotel garage could not accommodate our large rental van, the hotel was able to offer us a low-cost parking option just outside the walls. We will definitely stay here if we get to return to St. Malo!

Room Tip: We had 4 rooms--all were nice and comfortable. Family room on the rez-de-chausée meant having windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A first-rate location and superior service: such are the qualities that characterize the highly recommended hotel Quic en Groigne.

The walled city of St. Malo has much to offer, and the same can certainly be said of Quic en Groigne. Perfectly situated just inside one of St. Malo's many stout stone gates, the hotel is also within very close proximity to numerous fine eateries, cultural attractions, one of which is the mile or so stroll along the city's magnificent ramparts which feature unforgettable island and sea views. (Indeed, this is truly one of touristic highlights of any visit to Brittany.). Quic en Groigne provides ample sized double rooms, a charming courtyard and small lounge (more about these in a bit). Our double room, located on the second floor, was sparsely decorated, featured a single window with views down to the courtyard, and came with limited closet space and a small TV (sadly, there were no English speaking channels available). However, we were pleased with the bathroom as it came with a large, modern tub and good lighting. The towels on offer, however, were a bit thin, a regrettable trend, it would seem with many mid-range accommodations in Europe.

Breakfasts at Quic en Groigne were satisfying and most enjoyable. First and foremost, it is taken in a charming and natural light filled room that is complemented by friendly and efficient service. While there are no cooked breakfasts on offer, we found the fruit, yogurts, breads, and more to be fresh and delicious.

A few words should be said about a couple of the hotel's shortcomings. One concerns the wi-fi connection which, while fine at ground level, was all but non-existent on the second floor. This prompted us to make use of the connection at ground level, yet it should be noted that the courtyard is not available for guest use after 10:00 pm and the hotel's lounge closes when the management departs for the day which is at 8:00pm.

Despite these shortcomings, Quic en Groigne remains a very fine and highly recommended accommodation. We were especially moved by the superb service which was consistently helpful and cheerful. Whether our requests concerned parking, local tourist attractions, or simply the art of casual conversation, the English-speaking couple that oversee the day to day goings on at this busy hotel always provided us with a warm welcome and made us feel right at home. Three big cheers for the staff at Quic en Groigne. It is these qualities, and more, that would compel us to have no reservations about returning to this fine accommodation. Come to think of it, those reading this should by all means make haste and secure reservations at Qui en Groigne when visiting the remarkable city of St. Malo in Brittany.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claremay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lovely staff. Excellent location. Very clean. Smallish room, but so much to do in St Malo that this wasn't a problem.
We booked a space for the car in their garage. Glad we did because street parking difficult, but it was a bit of a squeeze and down a steep slope.
Staff more than happy to provide recommendations for local restaurants and places to visit.
We were very happy with our stay and will definitely stay here next time we are in St Malo.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Costello-Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairborn, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Quic En Groigne was a wonderful hotel! Our family of 10 made reservations for 4 rooms for two nights in July and we were not disappointed! The hotel owners were welcoming and very accommodating. The rooms were well set up, clean and nicely decorated. The on-site parking worked well for one of our rental cars and they had a solution for parking for our rented mini-van just outside the city walls. Breakfast was a wonderful spread of European breakfast: bread, pastries, cheese, yogurt, fresh fruit and a variety of fresh fruits. The hotel was well located to the beach, you could walk anywhere in St. Malo within a few minutes. We slept with our windows open each night and the street was quiet enough to no disturb our sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I booked with the hotel on line from Canada a month before arriving, had several helpful emails in return to ensure we had the right rooms for our family. We arrived on the ferry from England in the evening--a short walk to the hotel into the walled town--and were met by Marie-Dominique at the door, looking out for us, greeting us by name. We felt like we were arriving at family, and were treated the same throughout our stay.

The rooms are beautiful, breakfast lovely. The street is quite quiet, but we were steps to the beach, and everything St. Malo has to offer! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#7 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,668 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#3 of 81 in Saint-Malo
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Nautilus
Hotel Le Nautilus
#2 of 81 in Saint-Malo
654 reviews
1.0 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#11 of 81 in Saint-Malo
848 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quic en Groigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quic en Groigne

Property: Quic en Groigne
Address: 8 rue d Estrees, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Quic en Groigne 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small family hotel, recently renovated, nests in one of the quiet streets of the Intra-Muros, the historic city, just a step from the sea and ramparts. Its 15 quite various rooms welcome you according to your needs on courtyard or on street side. The hotel has a garage (reservation needed) and the breakfasts are served in the conservatory. To have lunch or dinner, we will recommend you saint Malo's best tables, Bistrots or traditional, gastronomic or for a simple bowl ofmussel, some pancakes/galettes all accessible on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quic en Groigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing