We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base for St Malo”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome!!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Welcome!!
Large & light opening window for hot summer days and sounds of Seagulls.
Street View towards restaurants, twice weekly market & launderette
Marina
Sea view walks around La Cité d'Alet to Solidor with its tower
Solidor
Tour Solidor
Tall Ships
Tall Ships
Sillon beach, St Malo
Plage de Bon Secours with its Sea Water Swimming Pool and diving board
Chateau St Malo
Fresh Seafood
Street Buskers
Place Châteaubriand with its many Restaurants and Street Artists
Views from the Ramparts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
David Pat...
Saint-Malo, France
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great base for St Malo”
Reviewed 15 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Stayed here for a week and we were very comfortable, certainly a great location. The street is very quiet after all the place around have shut and generally quiet.The office for the boat trips is very near just throught the Porte de Dinan and the Carrefour City supermarket is within easy walking distance. The beaches are very near and all in all an excellent place to stay and contrary to one reviewer not smelly at all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juergen B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a great time”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The appartment ist beautiful, every year we find something new (bathroom, next year the kittchen....) We slept well in a quiet sleeping room, and we will come back next year, sure!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M
1 review
“Fabulous accommodation and location for us and our westies.”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The Captain's Cabin is in an ideal location within the Walls of St Malo.
The property was very comfortable containing everything required for the visit.
Darren was most helpful and welcoming, assisting whenever we asked.
It is very dog friendly. We will certainly return in the future.
It is easily accessible by road and ferry.
It is a good location to visit surrounding towns and villages such as Dinan and Mont St Michel and much further afield for the more adventurous.
As usual the food is of a high standard throughout France with probably better value for money outside of the Walls.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne N
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ms & Mr”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Had a wonderful time visiting Saint Malo! What a great place! Fabulous restaurants, sea food to die for! Darren & Stephen welcomed us and settled us in, they have very recently renovated the bedroom and bathroom and made a fabulous job of the styling and decor. The Captains Cabin couldn't be more central to Saint Malo with everything needed as you open the front door. There are beaches around the edge of the town that are no more than 5 minutes walk in most directions.
We drove from Cherbourg and parking around the harbour in Saint Malo was easy and reasonably cheap.
Getting around was also easy and stress free lots easier than UK roads!
Recommend you go to Cancal and have oysters they are caught on the beach and sold there, excellent!
We took our dog Poppy to stay at the Captains Cabin and she loved it also!
All I can say is we loved it and will be going back as soon as possible, I have no hesitation in recommending the Captains Cabin and Saint Malo if you're looking for a cultured and stressless break away!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stinky old place”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

All I can say is if your budget allows, book a hotel. It's not worth to save the money and spend your vacation in a small, old, rustic and stinky condo. The wall of the bathroom is not even built to the ceiling so the smell of the bathroom fill the whole place. But no doubt it's cheap. If you are on your honey moon or trying to make a baby, this is not your place. If you are on the last trip with your partner before announcing the breakup, this place will do the job for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2016
Well that's nice of you, after we collected you from the station and after answering all of your 24 emails before and during your trip. Giving you information on everything possible which is beyond the call of duty for any host. As i always do I check that guests are happy with the apartment 24hrs after arrival, and you said every thing was great. So I'm at a loss as to why the height of the bathroom walls were an issue. The apartment is decorated in a classic old french maritime style, and is the cheapest one bedroom apartment in town, it is what it is, a charming, small, clean, base in the centre of St Malo old town at a great value price. I'm wondering if this bad review is because I couldn't accommodate your requests for a free guided tour of the town, book you bus tickets, lend you a coat, tell you which bakery to go to, hire you a car, what heat setting to cook on, take you to the station for your return or the many other odd requests that you submitted every 5 minutes via email during your stay. I would urge other guest to see the other very positive reviews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen b
1 review
“Very relaxing and enjoyable”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at the captain's cabin. The location was perfect to explore the local shops, restaurants and surrounding area. The owner was very helpful giving us tips on places to eat and visit. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here,very relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Glad that you enjoyed the "Captains Cabin" and beautiful St Malo. Hope to see you both soon in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenllou...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay would thoroughly recommend-Delightful!”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Centrally located intramuros duplex one up one down property.
5 minutes walk to sea and sand.
Cafes restaurants and small squares amazing variety of places to eat.
Great access to town and many local tourist sites.
Excellent place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Some inevitable noise due to busy area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thank you! Glad you had a great time, hope to see you both again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing