We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very serene!”
Review of Moulin Renaudiots

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moulin Renaudiots
Ranked #1 of 12 Autun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

my family and I had a super stay - beautiful spot, gorgeous house (1/F rooms look fantastic) and lovely, friendly service from Evelyne and Trevor - thanks! Autun a lovely old quarter to wonder around - Joanne

Room Tip: Ground floor room felt a little colder than the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Trevor and Evelyn took over this wonderful 5 bedroom house 18 months ago. They are charming hosts in a quite lovely location, 2 miles from Autun in Burgundy.
We were lucky enough to be there on a Saturday for table d'hote. What a feast. A mix of English, German and Dutch couples were treated to Kir Royale, tasty cheese pastry nibbles, muse bouche, poached salmon with mango, pigeon with cassis and vegetables, cheeses and a quite stunning chocolate dessert. Washed down with plenty of white and red burgundy.
The company of our host and hostess and the other guests was most enjoyable,, oh and we only had to go upstairs to our room!
Our room was spacious, tastefully decorated with an enormous bed and a good en suite.
Autun is close, with a wide selection of ruins. Picking the right week to enjoy being a spectator at the Roman amphitheatre would be good.
We followed Trevor's top tips for wine merchants and wine tours in Meursault and Pommard, 20 mile away. He did not disappoint.
This is a super place to stay, we plan to return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Evelyn and Trevor are unassuming but charming hosts of this stunning house. When you arrive and walk through the gardens you are immediately entranced and even more so when you enter the mansion which has been so thoughtfully converted. The contemporary conversion has retained a great deal of the character. If you have the opportunity you must try one of the table d'hote dinners. You cannot believe Trevor is self taught but the food is absolutely great - in fact it rates as the best meals we had for our entire trip across Italy and France! This is a destination hotel not just a stop over. The Burgundy wine route is very close and Autun is a surprise. We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: We had St Andoche which has a bath and a shower and is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Close to a town and many attractions, yet such a deep-countryside feel. Old-world architecture and style, yet cutting-edge comfort and mod-cons. A babbling brook beside it, a cubist-style pool, great wine, top food - what more could one want? Well, that would be Trevor, the congenial Englishman racouteur host, and Evelyn, his charming, efficient French wife who quietly keeps all the moving parts in motion.

Oh, and the cost? A bargain at twice the price.

As they say: book now to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: All are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohnsonAtlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I just finished a three-night stay at Moulins Renaudiots and found it to be everything and more other reviewers have described. Owners Evelyne and Trevor Morgan have only owned the property for two seasons, but you'd thinks they'd been hosting guests for decades. They are consummate hosts,warm and welcoming,seeing to their guests needs above and beyond what you experience in most establishments of this type. Their breakfast consists of the possibility of boiled eggs, cold meats and cheeses, yogurt, fresh-squeezed oj, granola, seasonal fruit from their garden, and a selection of breads and pastries---including very high-quality croissants. These days most B&Bs take advantage of the widespread availability of commercially-produced pastries, not all of which are all that good. But the Morgans' have chosen an excellent bakery, so the quality is exceptional with the croissants flaky and buttery and the other pastries,such as pain au chocolat dotted with rich, dark chocolate, everything you expect in French pastries. Breakfast is served from 9-10, but you'll never feel rushed from their long, communal table set in a beautifully-furnished guest lounge. Comfortable sofas and chairs await guests who want to read or do email at any time of the day or perhaps take advantage of the no-host wine fridge and enjoy a glass of good Burgundian Chardonnay or Pinot Noir. There is also a lovely patio or terrace right outside the guest lounge, which is on the second floor of the property, where you can relax, use the free wi-fi and take in the beautiful traditional French gardens that the Morgans maintain to a T.

The room we had was on the basement level and quite comfortable. Actually, it was two rooms, a bedroom with a small salon attached. The salon had a couch and two chairs, plus a quaint stove for that time of year when Burgundy is cold. In the bedroom there is a fireplace, plus a quite-comfortable bed. It was a tad cool in the room during our stay--formerly that floor was the basement so all the floors are polished concrete, but the linens are good and, once in bed, we were never cold. The bathroom has space enough for two people to occupy at the same time and to keep their toiletries close at hand. A lovely period window looks out on the garden in the back where the pool is located. In fact, that window reminds me that one remarkable thing about Moulin Renaudiots are the views you'll find through every window and door. Simply enchanting! One thing to know when choosing a room, those in the basement lack a good strong wi fi connection. The floors and walls are thick concrete, as I noted above, not an easy material for the signal to penetrate. So, if that's important to you, be sure to ask for a room on an upper level, above the guest lounge.

A special feature of Moulins Renaudiots are the offerings at their occasional table d'hôtels. Trevor is the primary chef, self-taught, he says, but you'd never guess that. Our meal included a starter of a mousse with shaved smoked trout,served in a narrow, four-inch glass; creamy asparagus soup with a crispy bacon chip; a main course of pigeon with a sauce of cassis and lardons served with seasonal vegetables; a cheese course accompanied by a small salad; a dessert of fresh strawberries atop a strawberry gelee, and ended with chocolates and a variety of macaroons. Every dish was as stunning to look at as it was to eat. It's hard to find a restaurant nearby--even the fine dining Le Chapitre in Autun doesn't hit the mark-- as good as the table you'll enjoy at the Morgans' bed and breakfast.

One thing to be aware of if you've never been to Burgundy: Autun is about an hour's drive from Beaune, really set in to the farm country of Burgundy more than the wine areas. The drive is not that bad, but it is a bit of a drive. That said, there is plenty to do around Autun. We rented bikes and found many quiet, very lightly traveled roads through the countryside. The Morgans are more than willing to acquaint you with possibilities for your day there.

In sum, we loved the place and hope to come back to strengthen our ties with the Morgans and enjoy the beauty, serenity, comfort, and delicious offerings of Moulin Renaudiots.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bikeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

the building, gardens, rooms and style of this lovely small hotel were amazing. Our suite was very large and a great comfortable bed. The breakfast was a perfect size and set up on a long table waiting for us each morning. We enjoyed meeting the owners who it seems love what they are doing! The internet connection at this "out of the way" location was better than we have at home, possibly the fastest I've ever used.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AHunton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We finally managed to get to stay at this guest house for three days in September. It was full the last time we tried to book and now we know why it is so hard to get a room. It is such a peaceful and relaxing place. The gardens are amazing and the river running by the house adds to the peaceful zen atmosphere. The interior design is very understated and tasteful. We also had table d’hote one night, which was excellent.
I hesitated to post this review as I guess it will make it even harder to get a room next time, but Evelyne and Trevor were so welcoming and they deserve recognition for their efforts. Thanks again for welcoming us into your beautiful home!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidI-S2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Autun
2.1 mi away
Les Ursulines
Les Ursulines
#5 of 6 in Autun
229 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Autun
Ibis Autun
#4 of 6 in Autun
195 reviews
19.6 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Chateau Sainte Sabine
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Sabine
559 reviews
1.8 mi away
Logis de La Tete Noire
20.6 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Renaudiots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Renaudiots

Address: Chemin du Vieux Moulin, 71400, Autun, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Autun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Autun
Price Range: £139 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moulin Renaudiots is a maison d'hotes (guest house) situated in a river valley near Autun, bordering the forest of Planoise and close to the Autun golf club. This authentic 17th century water mill has recently been totally renovated and offers a high level of comfort and modern facilities, including high-speed wifi,a swimming pool, a fitness centre and a wine cellar, where it is possible to taste and purchase a range of local wines.The interior design combines wood and stone with contemporary rural furniture. Five large guest rooms, all with fully equipped modern bathrooms, overlook peaceful gardens and the surrounding hills. Join us for table d'hotes - dinner served on the terrace or in the main lounge.Our guesthouse is the perfect base for visiting major Burgundy sites such as the cathedral of Autun and the Bibracte museum, and we are but a short distance from the vineyards of the Cote de Beaune and the regional park of the Morvan. The mill is surrounded by several walking and bike tracks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Moulin Renaudiots reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Renaudiots Hotel Autun
Moulin Renaudiots Autun, France - Burgundy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing