We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Instead of five rooms - four”
Review of Hotel du Cygne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Cygne
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Auxerre
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We've ordered this hotel at the beginning of June for the group of 9 persons, 5 apartments. The hotel approved our reservation. When we arrived it turned out that only 4 rooms are reserved for our group. One of us reminded out of any arrangements. There were no available apartments in this hotel and for the half of the night he had to run out looking for apartment in other hotels, and there weren't any available apartments in any of them.
Only the following night the room was available for this person.
The owners of the hotel didn't apologized and as well didn't try to propose any compensation for their mistake.
In addition, in few of our apartments the showers were broken.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dona-Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

We spent just one night here. The staff is polite and helpfuland. The nice city of Auxerre is nearby. There is no air conditioning but the windows can be darkened and that is worth something! For a 2 star hotel: value for money.
We did not succed to get the free WiFi working in our room, it did work at the lobby. We stayed at a comfort room .
when you go out the frontdoor of the hotel and walk to the right you will find a doner-kebab place with nice people and great (cheap) food!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel offered a group of cyclists all that was required; a friendly greeting; the bedrooms, if a little tired, were clean and comfortable, with reasonable en suite facilities; the breakfast was reasonable and it was possible to sit outside to enjoy a drink. There are no restaurant facilities, but this served as a bonus, as it necessitated a five-minute walk into this wonderful medieval city where there was a wide choice of places to eat.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor seemed to be more desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Caddingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I only stayed one night but will definitely return next time I stay in Auxerre (every 18 months or so).

It's basic, fairly quiet and inexpensive. There's no restaurant but It's a short stroll into the centre of town where you'll be spoilt for choice. We arrived bang on 3pm so our room wasn't quite ready. Receptionist apologised, offered us a coffee and the room was ready in 5 minutes.

The decor is a little "tired" and grubby, but at these prices it would be churlish to complain. The rooms are NOT ones you'd choose for a romantic break. But if you just want a decent night's sleep, they're fine.

Breakfast at 7.50 euros is a bit pricey for what you get, but it's not compulsory.

I'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back, overlooking the car-park will be quieter, but there was little noise from the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I enjoyed my stay here with my family; 2 adults, 2 children both under 7. We stayed in a family room at the back of the hotel and it was just right for us. The room we stayed in was nice an quiet. The hotel is close to the old town and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The room at the back was nice and quiet - a long way away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The hotel is a little tired and could use some renovation. Beds are very soft, to the point of being not comfortable for a good night sleep. Little-to-no English spoken. However, owner/service clerk try to help as much as they can. Our pigeon French was good enough for finding out everything we needed. Didn't take breakfast, so can't tell. No restaurant on site, but plenty of good places to eat within 10 min walking distance. Location is good, right on the edge of pedestrian zone. Walk to everything: 10 min to the clock tower, 15 min to the cathedral, 20 min to the abbey. Parking in the backyard is on a smaller side. I broke sweat fitting my rental 5-series Citroen into what little space was left when we arrived at 9pm. I believe they charge E7 for parking.
Overall, adequate for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingWithFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

This was a decent hotel but should only rate one star. The room (#17) was decent sized w/ a separate toilet in one room and shower/sink in another (it was all in the room, but different sections). The toilet room smelled of mold but appeared clean enough. The toilet didn't flush w/ much strength. The shower was dirty with mold. Ick. The bed was fine and had extra pillows and blanket. Strangely, there was only one spare electrical outlet in the entire room. I had to remember (because it was below/behind a nightstand) to unplug my battery charger since I couldn't actually see it. Secure parking was Euro 5 a night (no problem there) right below the room. We did not try the breakfast. We would not return to this hotel but would definitely return to Auxerre, a wonderful town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auxerre hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Auxerre Centre
Ibis Auxerre Centre
#3 of 21 in Auxerre
535 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kyriad Auxerre - Appoigny
0.6 mi away
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
#1 of 21 in Auxerre
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Seignelay
Le Seignelay
#18 of 21 in Auxerre
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#15 of 21 in Auxerre
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Parc des Marechaux
Le Parc des Marechaux
#4 of 21 in Auxerre
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Cygne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Cygne

Address: 14 rue du 24 Aout, 89000, Auxerre, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Auxerre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Auxerre
Price Range: £42 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Cygne 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Cygne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing