We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Hotel in the heart of a beautiful city”
Review of Hotel De La Poste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel De La Poste
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Auxerre
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Having read the previous reviews, I think it all comes down to what you want in a hotel. If you want chic, smooth, modern and English speaking don't come here. However,If you want something with a bit of character, local flavour and an excellent central location in a beautiful medieval city, you will probably enjoy this hotel.
The hotel decor was somewhat unconventional and a bit old fashioned, with dark red corridors where you might easily bump into a white rabbit and rather 'surprising' black mirror ceilings (at least in our bedroom). However, this rather added to the experience! That said, our room was pleasant, clean and comfortable.
The continental breakfasts were generous with delicious croissants, pain au chocolat, homemade jams, fruit salad, yoghurts etc, all served in a lovely old dining room, which also served as a restaurant during the day.
We found the staff friendly but then we did attempt some French, which was appreciated...I think...
The family dog was awesome!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and cooler. Our bedroom had its own bathroom, whilst some of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriammm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were travelling to the South of France and stopped in Auxerre in order to combine an overnight stop-over with a visit to the cathederal. I dropped my wife off and asked her to check the hotel out, while I did a circuit of the town to park the car. I said to her to book an overnight if she thought it was ok. We seldom fall out with each other but this hotel almost led to a divorce!
There was an absolutely overpowering smell of smoke all around the ground floor area. The walls leading to our room were covered in wine coloured jute carpet! One pressed a button to turn on the light and ran like hell before they went off again.
The room was adequate if quaint! having a shiny black ceiling which reflected our image somewhat, kinky!
I have to say that I could have tolerated this lot but when we came down for our (modest) breakfast the overpowering, stomach turning smell of stale smoke overcame my appetite. I have, in the past, written positive reviews of every hotel I have stayed in but this hotel was a bridge too far! sorry!
My advice, give it a miss!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siogcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

After having read all the previous posts, I was quite worrief, but I should not have, as this hotel is convenient and nice, as large rooms (we had two 'single' beds, each of them was about 1,40 m), bathroom very clean. Breakfast had a modest selections of pastries BUT very good croissants and pain au chocolat. All in all a very pleasant stay and a good two-star hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geneva007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The hotel is a strange mixture. Our room was large and comfortable, the furniture old (but by no means shabby); our bathroom, (relatively) modern and (somewhat) palatial; and the bed, less than comfortable. The hotel is perfectly situated, in the centre of one of France’s most entrancing cities.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOldiesBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We didn't stay here, but we ate in the restaurant twice.
Excellent value and delicious traditional food - especially the Foie Gras

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaumont37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Found the hotel which has a great central location via a listing in 'The Rough Guide to France', which gave it a good review - while noting the bizarre wall covering (dark coconut matting) in the corridors. We were glad there was a room available as it was rather late. Reception area was fine, but when we had to walk through the family living area with blaring TV, food covered table, smelly dog and slouching teenagers to access the stairs to our 2nd floor room alarm bells should have sounded. The room seemed OK - decor fine and seemed clean(ish) - if rather a trek along the dark corridor and overlooked the rear courtyard. The toilet was separate to the bath & sink and definitely was the smallest room as you couldn't sit on the loo without the door open (it was literally only the size of the toilet!). Didn't venture into the restaurant but each time we went out had to negotiate the family room! Only one of us went down to breakfast the next day (not late) which was another experience as the only one there in this dark inner badly lit room (the same room as the restaurant - which had had quite a number of diners the night before!). Three or four tables had obviously been used for breakfast by other guests but the rest still had the debris from the night before - glasses, wine bottles etc. Hardly anything left on the communal table for breakfast - one croissant, one slice of bread, no milk for cereal and no offer of replenishments, though I did get offered coffee by the waitress. The proprietress was shuffling around slovenly dressed, hair unkept and non-communicative. Her hostile attitude continued even as we were checking out and paying for this!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank okepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

We arrived into Auxerre in the early evening, and unfortunately most options were already fully booked. We booked Hotel La Poste through the tourist office.

The decor was atrocious - very poor in the common hallways. The walls were covered in painted thick rope, masquerading as wallpaper and very dark.

Reception wasn't too friendly on check-in, and when my partner ducked out to buy some water and a filled roll, the receptionist inspected his bag and then told him he had to stand on the pavement and eat his baguette as there was to be no food in the rooms.

Bed spread and top blanket felt very greasy and unclean. However, I think the sheets were clean.

Bathroom ok, although, having requested a room with a shower, would have expected more than having to hold the attachment from the bath and get water all over the bathroom.

Also, heard suspicious scuffling in the eaves in the morning... maybe this explains the strict no food rule.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank weekendhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auxerre hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
#1 of 21 in Auxerre
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Auxerre Centre
Ibis Auxerre Centre
#3 of 21 in Auxerre
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Maxime
Hotel Le Maxime
#5 of 21 in Auxerre
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Parc des Marechaux
Le Parc des Marechaux
#4 of 21 in Auxerre
264 reviews
4 mi away
Mercure Auxerre
Mercure Auxerre
#1 of 3 in Appoigny
411 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kyriad Auxerre - Appoigny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Poste

Address: 9 rue d Orbandelle, 89000, Auxerre, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Auxerre
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Auxerre
Price Range: £63 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De La Poste 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel De La Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing