We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly wonderful with exceptional food”
Review of La Cimentelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Cimentelle
Ranked #1 of 10 Avallon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful with exceptional food”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had 3 days here after a fantastic week on the Canal du Nivernais, and we felt it maintained the standard. Nathalie and Stephane Oudot run a Chambres D'Hote in a lovely old house that was built by the owner of a cement factory, now closed but with a swimming pool on top. The rooms are exceptional, the welcome is genuinely friendly and hospitable, and the piece de resistance is the incredible food. After the first wonderful meal there was no question of us eating anywhere else. The food is original, very well cooked by the couple, helped by Nathalie's mother, served in their beautiful house. We could not fault it and will be back if we are every anywhere near. Very reasonably priced; evening meal tout compris was 42 euros and worth every cent.

Room Tip: All good; depends if you want a shower or bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJohnChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    26
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
129
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Nathalie and Stephane are the host and hostess all travellers wish for but seldom get
Their hospitality and beautiful Chambres d'hôtes home made our 3 day stay there after barging holiday the cream on the top - their discreet hosting of marvelous meals they produced makes this the best Chambres d'hôtes experience we have ever had - well done both

Room Tip: We were allocated a room with modern bathroom with bath and shower an desperate toilet so didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This must rank as the best B&B we have ever stayed at in France. We booked late so had one of the two big suites on the top floor. Exquisitely designed and furnished rooms paired with a strikingly modern bath-and-shower room looked out onto peaceful, rolling countryside. You descend down sweeping, elliptical staircases for breakfast in the modern conservatory, where Nathalie's home-made jams take pride of place alongside the freshly-baked baguette. And make sure you dine in one evening too for some superb Burgundian food and wine, 5 courses with coffee at €42 a head. There is a heated, open air swimming pool too, cleverly built into the ruins of a former cement factory. We stayed 3 very enjoyable nights in this tranquil and unspoilt part of France. The hosts were kind, attentive and helpful - I would give them 6 stars if Tripadvisor allowed me!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank whingypom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Like many before us, we booked La Cimentelle on the basis of previous Trip Advisor reviewers' comments - rarely had we seen an establishment with such glowing reviews. "Surely it can't be this good" we asked ourselves but it is.

We booked two nights on the way to a holiday in Provence and another night on the return journey. We stayed in different bedrooms on the two visits - both were extremely comfortable and beautifully appointed with exceptional modern bathrooms that would not be out of place in a five star hotel (and we stayed in a couple of those in Provence).

Natalie and Stephane work so hard to provide a fabulous evening meal which was as good as any meal we had in our eighteen days in France. It's a communal affair and there's no choice, but each of the three dinners we experienced was quite perfect. The food was outstanding (the cheeseboards are the best we have ever had) and the multi national company made for three lovely evenings which saw us attempting to converse in French with our fellow guests who themselves had a good try at English. Fortunately Natalie and her husband Stephane (and Natalie's sister one night) are good linguists and were able to help out when we struggled or the conversation flagged. Breakfasts were perfect too.

The pool is fabulous (and very comfortably heated) and the region has some excellent attractions including the Chablis vineyards (stock up if you can) and the marvellous Fontenay Abbey which, as well as being the oldest metal manufacturing establishment in Europe, is quite beautiful.

We take a lot of breaks but we tend to save our Trip Advisor reviews for establishments that warrant particular praise. La Cimentelle is one of those. We very rarely visit anywhere twice but would make an exception here and will certainly return when next journeying through France.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the first floor. Both were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBrassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here for two night as part of a ten day trip in France. Fantastic property with lovely grounds. We stayed in Hippolyte which was great. the only drawback is it had now fixed shower head as it had a freestanding bath in stead. bath was great so more than made up for it. had fireplace in room as well which would have been amazing but wasn't cold enough so we didn't bother. The hosts were great and i would insist you eat with them one night. i think we paid about 40E or something like that a head for a great meal a few glasses of really nice wine. They are superb cooks and the food was home cooked but better. They kindly made my wife a different starter as she is pregnant and she said its the best soup she's ever had. also they have us great recommendations for wineries, eateries and places to visit. really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
.....
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 lovely days for Easter break. The house is excellent, charming, cleand and very conveniently located and the hosts are lovely, perfect balance of discretion and warm kindness.
We Will be back for more relax and food (still dreaming of it) !! Strongly recommend also the cooking classes.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank buzzo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Quiet location convenient for many local attractions and easy access to motorway and rail.

Room was very well appointed and very well maintained. Cooking by the host very fine and served with excellent local wine.

Very friendly service throughout our three day stay.

The home produced raspberry jam at breakfast was the best ever tasted! Crepes and fruit salad at breakfast also very good, as was the bread.

Look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avallon
4.1 mi away
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
#1 of 1 in Vault-de-Lugny
211 reviews
4.1 mi away
Le Moulin des Templiers
Le Moulin des Templiers
#1 of 3 in Pontaubert
261 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Relais Fleuri
Le Relais Fleuri
#2 of 6 in Avallon
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Moulin des Ruats
Moulin des Ruats
#1 of 6 in Avallon
248 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dak'Hotel
Dak'Hotel
#4 of 6 in Avallon
153 reviews
3.1 mi away
Citotel Hotel d'Avallon Vauban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cimentelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cimentelle

Property: La Cimentelle
Address: 4 rue de La Cimentelle | Vassy-les-Avallon, 89200 Avallon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Avallon
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Avallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room from 90€ to 115 €; family suites from 165 € to 200 € 5 km from Avallon, closed to the A6 Highway between Paris and Lyon. La Cimentelle is a charming and elegant residence, surrounded by sea of verdure and brightness; you will appreciate flowers and atmosphere. Open spaces, cocooning, a thoughtful reception: A stop to like "Art de vivre". English spoken- heated swimming pool from April to October - Dinner -Private parking. Take our time, and enjoy the Gastronomy of the cooking class: souffle, foie gras, macaroons, Epoisse cheese and sweets, Chablis or Pinot Noir. Surroundings: Vezelay, Fontenay Abbey, Chablis,Beaune... English spoken- heated swimming pool from April to October - Dinner -Private parking. Take our time, and enjoy the Gastronomy of the cooking class: souffle, foie gras, macaroons, Epoisse cheese and sweets, Chablis or Pinot Noir. Surroundings: Vezelay, Fontenay Abbey, Chablis,Beaune... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing