We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Historical Property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostellerie de la Poste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostellerie de la Poste
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Avallon
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Charming Historical Property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is in a small village and and had so much character...there is a center courtyard where the carriages brought guests in the 1700's...rooms are lovely although one must be careful of the beams throughout. As mentioned by other guests a kettle and a fridge would have been nice. Very nice bathrooms with modern amenities, towel warmer and hair dryer. Dinner was very good but wine was only available by the bottle, expensive and not that good. Breakfast offered a nice selection of fruit, pastries, cheese and cold meats.
The local market was open the morning we departed and was fun to visit.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main residence have access to elevator but the annex areas have many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petedianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    87
    39
    22
    14
See reviews for
40
131
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
158 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel. The rooms are beautiful, although they would benefit from a fridge, and dare I say it, a kettle. Bedding is comfortable and of good quality. The hotel itself is absolutely charming and dates from 1707 when it was a carriage house. The side of this that could do with improvement is the rstaurant and the service. Although charming, the waiters seemed to lack experience and service was slow and stilted somewhat. The food was average, slightly expensive for the quality, and the bistro restaurant for lunch could benefit from a different menu. We were here on a seminar, and the facilities for that were excellent, coffee and tea throughout the day, viennoiseries and biscuits were plentiful, the room was charming and quiet.

Room Tip: From what we could see, all the rooms seem to be pretty and with olde worlde character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsobellaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We found the hotel to be warm and inviting ,the rooms very comfortable meals excellent and the staff charming and effecient.

The ambience of the courtyard and the historical feel to the hotel meant that eating there was a delight, particularly as the food matched the sorroundings.

Car parking was in a secure area and the only grip was that the liff wasvery small but heh over all a little gem.

It was very good value and would recommend it wholeheartedly .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We recently lunched at this hotel. The lunch did not totally match the nice French courtyard in which we sat, and our waiter was not totally "with it". When asked if a salad was all vegetable he said that it was and then brought a salad containing a lot of fruit. My wife ordered a plate of cheese which came with 3 small portions of different cheeses, including Epoisses. Now, we have eaten in Hong Kong where my wife was served live skewered langoustines, but there we had a bowl of boiling water in which to cook them. Here there was no such luxury to cook the maggots which were nesting and feeding in the Epoisses. To say that she was shocked is an under-statement and she still shudders when she thinks of it. The largest manufacturer of Epoisses , Fromagerie Berthaud, told me that it is not normal to embellish the cheese with maggots. Epoisses is a fine cheese and we shall continue to eat it where we can, but without the meat content.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoyagerWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avallon hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We liked this hotel, and found the French period decor very charming. We had a large suite, and were pleased with it except for the bed, which seemed more like a cot-style matterass than a solid one. The bathroom was clean and very well-appointed.

Upon arrival, we were very unhappy to be told that the air conditioning was broken, when the next morning we learned that the rooms on our side of the hotel have no air conditioning at all.

The restaurant was outstanding, but we had to wait over an hour for our appetizer.

Room Tip: Make sure to call and check that your room has air conditioning-- ours was not as advertised
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SylviaV850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I booked this hotel at very short notice having arrived on a Saturday evening at 9.30!! Having been on the way back from a week touring the alps.Not only did they supply two rooms,one of which was a suite, for 4 tired motorcyclists. But they also managed to book us a table in their superb restaurant. We also got a very fair rate for the rooms. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The receptionist Annabelle was extremely helpful, and really put herself out to make sure we were happy and sorted. The food in the restaurant was a real last night treat for 4 hungry bikers, and they allowed us to dine in our jeans and shirts (bikers travel light). I also want to mention Damien the waiter, he was also very friendly and helpful, he suggested a good local wine and explained anything on the menu that we needed help with. This is not always the case when you dine out in France, and we do not all speak perfect French, so a friendly helpful waiter is a real treat. Overall this was an unplanned stop in a delightful town, and a memorable last night in France.

Room Tip: If you arrive late, then be polite and friendly, it works and you get looked after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Spent one night with my wife and son on June 15 (one double room, one single). Really lovely, old (historical) hotel, with nice rooms and overall nice atmosphere (Napoleon stayed there back in 1815, it seems!). Friendly staff at the reception and also at the breakfast restaurant. Great location right in the middle of the city, but also quiet.
As per other reviews, it is true, though, that some refurnishing might be needed here and there (carpet, etc), but no big issue.
Also, especially if one is American, one should not stay while expecting a real 4 star hotel.
Overall, highly recommended, with no hesitations.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex blg (ie not in the main blg where the reception is) might be more quiet. (But the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avallon
0.6 mi away
Dak'Hotel
Dak'Hotel
#1 of 6 in Avallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Relais Fleuri
Le Relais Fleuri
#2 of 6 in Avallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citotel Hotel d'Avallon Vauban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Capucins
Les Capucins
#6 of 6 in Avallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Moulin des Ruats
Moulin des Ruats
#3 of 6 in Avallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
#1 of 1 in Vault-de-Lugny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de la Poste

Property: Hostellerie de la Poste
Address: 13 Place Vauban | Bourgogne, 89200 Avallon, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Avallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Avallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie de la Poste 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A carriage entrance hides the genteel world of this former post house built in 1707 in the fortified market town of Avallon. Testimony to the French way of life, this hotel, with its timeless charm, has a series of rooms spread out along a paved courtyard giving onto an island of greenery. The spacious, traditionally furnished rooms are feature coordinated fabrics and superb bathrooms. Cooking brasserie purified in noon, served in the bar reorganized by the hotel: a warm place where thrones a luxurious fireplace, surrounded with artists' short-lived works in any kinds.Gourmet cuisine refined in the evening, served in the delightful atmosphere of a "Grand Siècle" style restaurant. Lunch either to have dinner, the new head cooker of the restaurant " La Calèche " proposes you allying dishes.The new team of “Hostellerie de la Poste” will be delighted to welcome for this Outstanding stop-over in Burgundy, half-way between Lyon and Paris, and just a step from Vézelay, eternal hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and TravelUp so you can book your Hostellerie de la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De La Poste Hotel Avallon
Hostellerie De La Poste Avallon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing