We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Getaway!”
Review of Moulin des Ruats

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moulin des Ruats
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Avallon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We had a wonderful time here. The view was incredible. It was so peaceful! The food was more than manifique!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

We had high hopes for this place and were delighted when we saw it sitting alone beside a creek on a quiet road. It is a nice place but the reception was basically hostile and we have no idea why. It turned out that this was a rare example during two and a half weeks in France of the negative attitude that French service is famous for. The room was okay but expensive. Dinner was good. Breakfast was a terrible waste of money. One of the most expensive on our trip and about the worst.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BNBBolero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Having stayed at Ruats twice before we were not disappointed. The receptionist was warm and friendly. We stayed in a room we had had before whcih was small but I had the best night's sleep ever. Our dinner was to the usual high standard and we noticed locals using the restaurant- always a good sign. Madame Rossi told us she had "une petite surprise" at the end of the meal. She brought us an after dinner drink of Corsican Muscat- a nice gesture. If there is a criticism it is that the aperos are pricey but then you don't have to have them. Monsieur Rossi came to chat wiith us as we were leaving and by this time the sun was shining.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yorkshirelass39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stopped off for one night on our way down from Calais to the Var region. I was amused to read the comment about the room filled mostly by the bed and a closet for a bathroom. We stayed overnight at the same venue a couple of years ago and were probably in the same room on the same uncomfortable double bed.

We decided to stay there again as the location is an excellent halfway point to break up the drive to the South and the mill's location by the river is very pleasant. This time we paid a bit more for a 'suite', which cost €154 plus 2 x €14 for beds for our two young children. The room (no 11) was great, a far cry from the previous one, with a bedroom, a sitting room (which doubled as the childrens' bedroom) and a decent sized bathroom. The bed was still 'average' in terms of comfort. I've stayed in much more luxurious hotels for €180, but considering this was the high season and we only booked the night before was very happy with everything.

I loved hearing the water mill churning away but my wife said it sounded as though the dishwasher had been left on!

There was one grumble however which is that we forgot that it's common for breakfast to be charged separately. After a glass of orange juice each, two pots of tea and a couple of croissants each I was a bit disappointed to see a €40 addition to the bill.

If you want a very pleasant location and a hotel where the age of the decor adds something to the charm and aren't looking for a bargain then you'll really enjoy your time here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1FussyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

This is a restaurant rather than an accommodation review.

We live quite near the Moulin, in a village called Voutenay sur Cure, and we go there for dinner on special occasions.

And every dinner is special.

I can say no more, other than to recommend the restaurant without reservation.

And to recommend that you make a reservation . . .

Brian Cloughley www.beecluff.com

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beecluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

I do not agree with previous reviews thinking this overpriced and run down. This was in a beautiful, lush setting with working, and greasy, water wheel. The check in was very smooth and the minimal English spoken was enough that our needs were understood. The room was spacious and a portable crib was provided for our two year old. It seems designed for relaxation and spa, but, we had a lovely time exploring the grounds and eating locally made and delicious kafta pockets from the town square. The bathroom was clean and roomy and the staff gave us a very large bucket of ice to keep our drinks cold. Avallon is a bit off the beaten path, but, this resort was beautiful and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IRockOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

If you are looking for a room with a bed that virtually fills the available space, and a bathroom fashioned out of a closet, then this is the place to go. The bed, furthermore, in this era of Queen- and King-sized mattresses, is an old-fashioned double.

The room's very small TV is squeezed onto a desk tucked into a corner. There are five channels available, all local, and three of them are for children.

An attractive display of bath products is perched by the sink and includes: two packets of Kleenex containing two tisses each, and two tiny vials of body wash, both permanently sealed (even the front desk attendant was unable to open them).

The dining room had a pleasant ambiance overlooking a lovely river but the waiter desperately needed a bath. The food was conveyor-belt quasi-gourmet and plates were identical in presentation. It would be flattering to say the food was unexceptional.

Staff members are dour -- the women dressed in black polyester uniforms that appear to be home made -- and seem to work long hours (the woman who ran the dining room until 9:30 p.m. was available again at 8 a.m. the next morning).

While the setting of this hotel is splendid, everything else about the place is tired.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stanbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avallon
4.2 mi away
Le Relais Fleuri
Le Relais Fleuri
#2 of 6 in Avallon
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Moulin des Templiers
Le Moulin des Templiers
#1 of 3 in Pontaubert
272 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostellerie de la Poste
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel de la Poste et du Lion d'Or
1.4 mi away
Citotel Hotel d'Avallon Vauban
1.4 mi away
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
#1 of 1 in Vault-de-Lugny
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin des Ruats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin des Ruats

Address: Vallee du Cousin | Rue des Iles Labaumes, 89200 Avallon, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Avallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Avallon
Price Range: £90 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moulin des Ruats 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Moulin des Ruats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Des Ruats Avallon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing