We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to break the journey”
Review of Le Relais Fleuri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Relais Fleuri
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Avallon
Certificate of Excellence
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to break the journey”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stopped here on our way back to Caen from the Alps - we had seen it on the way south so booked a one night stop over on the way back. It is ideally suited for the purpose being only a few minutes off the A6, but far enough away to be quiet. The swimming pool was very welcome. The tennis courts do come with a health warning as the surface is very uneven, but for our poor level of play it made for an enjoyable diversion before dinner.
The dining room is really nicely furnished (in contrast to our rooms, which were in need of a makeover) and the servie was attentive but not too much. We found the food excellent - the €25 and €34 fixed menus had some great dishes on them - good starters, including the inevitable Burgundy snails (which were delicious) then the main courses: stuffed saddle of rabbit was sensational; tuna loin, excellent; lamb fillet, also excellent. Extensive chesse board and good puddings.
The only thing that let the place down was the quality of our rooms, where the decor was distintly tired. But the beds were comfortable and there was a good breakfast the following morning so overall, we would recommend it for a one night stay, but I am not sure I would want to stay much longer.

Room Tip: Try for rooms in the main building, or the second row of bungalows, further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghb369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    90
    43
    18
    10
See reviews for
60
103
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chartres, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Contrary to other trip advisor reviewers, my family and I preferred the hotel to the restaurant. Nothing luxurious but fine bed, enough towels and pillows provided and nice little swimming pool (water a bit cold). Definitely very reasonable value for money. Very friendly staff as well. We were less convinced by the restaurant for three reasons. First, the service was really quite slow. Second, while servings are definitely on the generous side, the food could be a bit more refined. Finally, I was not excited by the selection of Burgundy wines despite being in the region. Now, let's not exagerate either: this remains quite acceptable for a stop-over.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Zurzach, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

When we're on our way to Normany, we usually spend one night in the IBIS Avallon. This time we decided to give this hotel a go. We had a family room for 118Euros, which I think is very reasonable. You can park the car right in front of your door. The setting is really nice with lots of greenery and very quiet. The swimming pool was very welcome after spending most of our day in the car. The reception very friendy, helpful and efficient. Rooms, restaurant...really I have nothing to complain about. a very nice touch from our service person at the restaurant was that she arranged the cheese on our plate from mild cheese to strong cheese, we had chosen from a cheese platter. only thing is that the children's menu wasn't exactly children friendly (as a starter , they had a salad served with a strong mustard sauce) the other alternative was snails. or maybe our kids just aren't adventurous enough when it comes to food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfairy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

A classic case of 'overstatement' by a website. The rooms are nothing like the buildings pictured. They were very basic modern style motel rooms. Walls and roofs in need of a paint, smallest bathroom ever, leaking basin, non working airconditioner/heater, small single beds and the garden/park outlook were lawns in need of a mow! The meals were not as specified on the website which also omits to mention a street addtress and that they are 4 km from the town.
The set menu was nutritionally unbalance, vegetable free and certainly not up to the blurb the so called hotel promises. The wifi was good but the smug manner of the staff was a continuation of the bad experience. I doubt this establishment gets any repeat business.

Room Tip: Select another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
601 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We selected this hotel as a stopping point en route from Nice to Paris. It's located a couple of kilometers off the autoroute on the way to the town of Avallon. The hotel is composed of two parts. The main building holds offices and the restaurant while the rooms are arranged towards the rear in a motel-style configuration facing the swimming pool and tennis courts. The rooms are basic (bed, bathroom, small TV). About the only good point I can come up with is that free wi-fi is available.

The hotel's saving grace is its restaurant. Avallon is in the Burgundy region and the restaurant does its level best to illustrate all that's good about Burgundy wines and food. I ate an excellent kidney dish with a mustard sauce and the other diners were equally happy with their food. Desserts were excellent. As you'd expect, the wine on offer was top-class and not overly expensive - ask the waiter for some help to navigate through some possibly unfamiliar local vintages. And best of all, the staff were very accommodating of my daughter's gluten-free requirement and cheerfully found food that she could safely eat.

So the rooms are slightly crummy but the restaurant will score high marks if that is important to you. Curiously, the buffet breakfast was expensive and not up to the high standard of the previous night's dinner, so you might elect to miss this and grab some coffee and crossaints in the nearby town before resuming your journey.

Room Tip: The rooms are arranged in a motel-like configuration away from the main hotel building. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 12Knocksinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I was surprised on arrival to see the rooms from the outside, motel style. They looked in need of painting, and the doors rather feeble and not very secure. However, they were much better once inside, with decent bathrooms and tastefully furnished bedrooms, all with patio doors onto the garden. The best feature however is the restaurant, it's very welcoming and the food is absolutely delicious, really superb. Buffet breakfasts were excellent also. Tiny lounge/reception area, and a beer at the so-called bar costs a fortune, so don't bother, go straight through to the restaurant. It is close to the motorway, but the noise doesn't carry. Car needed to visit the pleasant town centre, much too far too walk.

Room Tip: They are all the same, but some closer to the main road than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MijasMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Really good welcoming staff. The hotel is based on an outdated motel complex but this has been updated over the years. The room cleanliness is a bit sloppy with tiny bathrooms. Air Con, small flat screen, access to gardens from room, nice (ish) pool, tennis courts. Bit of a trek to Town id you thought it would be walkable. Sampled restaurant one night which was on par with what is to be expected. Overly fancy without enough attention to the basics. Massive turnover of guests as it is on a huge axis of routes.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PUTNEYBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avallon
4.2 mi away
Moulin des Ruats
Moulin des Ruats
#1 of 6 in Avallon
232 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dak'Hotel
Dak'Hotel
#2 of 6 in Avallon
146 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Moulin des Templiers
Le Moulin des Templiers
#1 of 3 in Pontaubert
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Citotel Hotel d'Avallon Vauban
2.8 mi away
Hostellerie de la Poste
2.7 mi away
Les Capucins
Les Capucins
#5 of 6 in Avallon
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Fleuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Fleuri

Property: Le Relais Fleuri
Address: 1, La Cerce | Sortie Autoroute A6, 89200 Avallon, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Avallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Avallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais Fleuri 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Relais Fleuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing